We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, but very pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant

Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant
36205 Snake Hill Road, Middleburg, VA 20117
5406874645
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 20 restaurants in Middleburg
Price range: $50 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Foxcroft Road
Description: Extremely Fresh, Approachable and Refined Drawing both inspiration and purpose from its location on farmland in Middleburg, VA, the restaurant at Goodstone Inn & Estate seeks to provide its guests with an unparalleled dining experience. The quality of produce, both cultivated and foraged, found outside the back door of the kitchen provides Chef Tarver King and his team with pristine ingredients that make up a meal representative of this place in every moment of each season.
Fauquier County, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but very pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We liked the quality of the food, the service and the atmosphere; however, be prepared to pay for it. Also, if you are a group of six or more, the gratuity (20%) is added - make sure you notice that and don't double tip - it would make a very expensive meal even more so.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    80
    15
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, VA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Flies provided tailgating ambience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Gorgeous venue, excellent salmon, so-so veggies and lots of flies. Servers indicated there was nothing they could do about them. Finally after a few more requests one of the waiters swatted a couple and I briefly joined the fray. Service was not exceptional.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Delicious treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We ate two breakfasts (on two separate days, lest you think we're anything other than svelte love machines) and a dinner here during our long weekend stay at the hotel. They catered to a nut-free vegetarian extremely well, and served the carnivorous appetite of yours truly perfectly. Get the pancakes at breakfast; your stomach will thank you. The lamb was superb at dinner, and the Thai vegetable curry was delicious.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A birthday celebration to remember!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

What a fabulous birthday celebration at The Goodstone. We stayed overnight at the French Farm Cottage [so comfortable and love). We began with tea and white chocolate/raspberry scones after check-in. Yum. Then we returned for cocktails in the friendly lounge with our favorite server, and then headed into dinner at 7:00. We ordered the same dishes: the duo of marinated salmon as an appetizer and then shared chateaubriand. Oh my gosh! So delicious. Perfectly cooked. What we adored were the four different small servings of roasted vegetables on the side. My husband is not a big vegetable fan, but he ate them first! Dessert was a decadent chocolate cake. What we liked about it was that it was not too sweet. We cannot stand dessert that have too much sugar. We prefer European style. Coffee followed and then back to our cottage where we were greated with warm chocolate chip cookes, a nice coffee machine, water in the refrig, and wine for our indulgence. We awoke to a fabulous breakfast. You simply cannot describe the magnificent pancakes with homemade berry preserves and/or syrup. Husband had eggs over easy, perfectly crisped bacon, and fruit. We loved our visit. The grounds were well manicured, the cottage well maintained and charming, and magnificent food at a good value. I couldn't imagine spending my birthday any other way!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“wonderful dining in the country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The food and service are excellent. We take out of town guests there as a special treat. When we are celebrating a special occasion we
think of Goodstone.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.