We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A birthday celebration to remember!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant

Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant
36205 Snake Hill Road, Middleburg, VA 20117
5406874645
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Middleburg
Price range: $50 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Foxcroft Road
Description: Extremely Fresh, Approachable and Refined Drawing both inspiration and purpose from its location on farmland in Middleburg, VA, the restaurant at Goodstone Inn & Estate seeks to provide its guests with an unparalleled dining experience. The quality of produce, both cultivated and foraged, found outside the back door of the kitchen provides Chef Tarver King and his team with pristine ingredients that make up a meal representative of this place in every moment of each season.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A birthday celebration to remember!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

What a fabulous birthday celebration at The Goodstone. We stayed overnight at the French Farm Cottage [so comfortable and love). We began with tea and white chocolate/raspberry scones after check-in. Yum. Then we returned for cocktails in the friendly lounge with our favorite server, and then headed into dinner at 7:00. We ordered the same dishes: the duo of marinated salmon as an appetizer and then shared chateaubriand. Oh my gosh! So delicious. Perfectly cooked. What we adored were the four different small servings of roasted vegetables on the side. My husband is not a big vegetable fan, but he ate them first! Dessert was a decadent chocolate cake. What we liked about it was that it was not too sweet. We cannot stand dessert that have too much sugar. We prefer European style. Coffee followed and then back to our cottage where we were greated with warm chocolate chip cookes, a nice coffee machine, water in the refrig, and wine for our indulgence. We awoke to a fabulous breakfast. You simply cannot describe the magnificent pancakes with homemade berry preserves and/or syrup. Husband had eggs over easy, perfectly crisped bacon, and fruit. We loved our visit. The grounds were well manicured, the cottage well maintained and charming, and magnificent food at a good value. I couldn't imagine spending my birthday any other way!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    19
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middleburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“wonderful dining in the country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The food and service are excellent. We take out of town guests there as a special treat. When we are celebrating a special occasion we
think of Goodstone.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfection in the Dining Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Everything from soup to Port at end of meal.
The rack of veal was absolutely perfect.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Three G's: Great Food, Great Service, Great Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

First, the setting is gorgeous: over 200 acres of rolling Virginia countryside and lovely gardens. We didn't stay here but I wish we had. Second, we were here for dinner on Father's Day, were greated at the door by a lovely hostess who treated us as if we were her guests. We had a lovely drink in the great room outside the dining room. Felt like we were in a country estate- well, I guess we were! I opted for the 4 course prix fixe, my husband, the a la carte. We both started with a lobster bisque which was among the best we've had anywhere: intense lobster and cognac flavor and chunks of fresh lobster. We asked the chef his secret. He said he "respects" the lobster in handling it and uses the best ingredients. Indeed! Next came my salad of the freshest greens- they grow much of what is used in their dishes. We ordered a bottle of red to go with our filet mignon. My husband commented that it was not as full bodied as he prefers. The wine steward/D.R. Host then brought him gratis what certainly tasted like a very expensive glass of red wine. Our filet? Incredible, fork tender, intense mushroom sauce. Ambrosial! I opted for a chocolate dessert instead of one of their souffles. It came warm, very rich filling surrounded by a dark chocolate sauce. At $73 for my prix fixe, this place would be a bargain even if the food weren't outstanding. An ovation for this Chef who (I think) worked at one time at L'Auberge Chez Francois.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls, VA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Jewel Hidden in the Hills of Middleburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The first thing that impressed me, the moment we stepped into Goodstone Inn, was the delicate scent of bouquets of flowers sprinkled throughout the room. They seemed to lure you inside as you took in the sight of those cosy, overstuffed sofas calling to us to sit by the fireplace. My Book Club met here to conduct its discussion of this month's selection while enjoying the breathtaking panorama from the Carriage House Restaurant where a dilectable meal was prepared for us by Chef William. We were later escorted throughout the grounds of this incredible estate and have definitely been impressed enough to promise to return. We look forward to enjoying another lovely experience.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodstone Inn & Estate Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.