We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Historic Inn in Middleburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Fox Inn & Tavern

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Fox Inn & Tavern
2 East Washington Street, PO Box 385, Middleburg, VA 20118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$25 Off Dinner!
Ranked #5 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
London, UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Charming Historic Inn in Middleburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed for four nights at this charming Inn in historic Middleburg. We were actually in the "Stray Fox Inn" which is just around the corner and is much quieter at meal times. Our room (number 28) was spacious with a very well proportioned bathroom and was comfortable for this stay.

Breakfast in the main inn (which reminded us of an English Country Pub) offered plenty of choice and a very simple meal was also possible and the serving hours were suitable. Dinner is served in the same room and offers a wide choice of hearty fare and a good choice of Virginian wines.

We did not get much chance to talk to the owners but the staff we met were all friendly and obliging.

Room Tip: The Stray Fox Inn is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedFoxManager, Manager at The Red Fox Inn & Tavern, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor! As a third generation family owned and operated business your satisfaction is extremely important to us and you feedback is much appreciated. I am glad you enjoyed the peace and privacy of the Stray Fox along with your breakfast and dinner. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Middleburg an we hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes,
The Red Fox Inn & Tavern Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
29
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Rustic decor takes you back in time yet the innkeepers have enough amenities to make your stay very current. Comfortable bedding, good beds and pillows nice toiletries. My room number 19 was big enough four. Two flat screens in a bedroom and sitting room with a couch that opened.
There are no king beds which was okay but is usually my preference. The town is so,charming and pristine with lovely shops and shopkeepers. A great getaway for us and Middleburg VA is just beautiful.

Room Tip: Stay in 19. Top floor so it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartonville, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I was fortunate to spend a night at the Red Fox Inn unexpectedly when my travel plans changed. The main inn was full, but there was a room available in the Stray Fox across the street from the Red Fox. My room was cozy and the location was quiet. The bathroom was spacious, especially for a historic building.

The Inn will deliver coffee to your room in the morning upon request, which is a nice touch. Breakfast was excellent and the Inn offered several breakfast selections for its overnight guests. Unfortunately I did not have dinner at the Inn due to the fact that it was Mother's Day and the Inn was completely booked for dinner and only offered a prix fixed menu that night.

The location is excellent right in the heart of Middleburg within an easy walk to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: The Stray Fox is a quiet location off the main drag.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedFoxManager, General Manager at The Red Fox Inn & Tavern, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor! As a third generation family owned and operated business your satisfaction is extremely important to us and your feedback is much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Middleburg an we hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes,
The Red Fox Inn & Tavern Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Inn: Historic, yet relaxing, accommodations, friendly staff, with an amazing breakfast included if you get to the restaurant early enough. Highly recommended for a romantic weekend getaway! The Inn has a great variety of different historic rooms from which to choose for your stay, which makes your visit even more unique. A bonus during our most recent stay: when making our reservation, a note was included that we were celebrating our anniversary, and upon check-in, we found a bottle of champagne waiting in our room, much appreciated!

The Restaurant: The quality of the food is excellent. During lunch, definitely suggest trying the crab artichoke dip as an appetizer, and a cup (not a bowl) of the peanut soup if you've never had it (but beware, it is thick and filling!). The staff can sometimes leave a little to be desired. Have dined here numerous times (breakfast, brunch, lunch, and dinner) and found either the host staff or our server on each visit to not be super friendly. However, the historic atmosphere (especially in winter if you are lucky to be sat near one of the fireplaces) is lovely

Room Tip: The Stray Fox (separate building from Red Fox) is quieter. Beware of rooms with low ceilings if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedFoxManager, General Manager at The Red Fox Inn & Tavern, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor! As a third generation family owned and operated business your satisfaction is extremely important to us and you feedback is much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Middleburg an we hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes,
The Red Fox Inn & Tavern Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights over Valentine's Day and really enjoyed the cozy charm.
Our room was located in the second building called the Stray Fox and is right across the street from the original building. We moved rooms when we realized our originally booked room had a private bathroom...outside the room and down the hall. Make sure to check on this if it matters to you.
The room was very cozy with low ceilings and antique type fixtures reminiscent of staying at your grandmothers house. The beautiful four poster bed was wonderfully comfortable with crisp white linens. The bathroom was spartan but clean. Nice Gilchrist & Soames soaps in good sized bottles. The shower was the size of a phone booth but the water pressure was awesome and felt like it was a spa treatment in itself!
We dined at the Red Fox Inn for Valentines Day and for breakfast the next two days and enjoyed every meal. The food is not fancy but is very well done and the service is perfect. I enjoyed the eggs benedict enough to have it both days and my husband felt the same way about the french toast.
All in all, it was a very nice little get away in a cute little town. We slept well, ate well and enjoyed the little shops and cafes in Middleburg.

Room Tip: Make sure to check if your room includes a private bathroom that is inside the room itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedFoxManager, Manager at The Red Fox Inn & Tavern, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on TripAdvisor! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Middleburg an we hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes,
The Red Fox Inn & Tavern Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was treated here for my birthday and was quite impressed with the grounds, the rooms, the staff and the food, both dinner and breakfast the next morning.
Looking forward to coming back to perhaps have a chance encounter with Mosby, the Gray Ghost..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We just stayed at The Red Fox Inn last week for the first time ever. The Inn is ideally located for strolling around Middleburg which is full of fun little shops. As horse people, we really enjoyed the horsey flavor to everything in town. The staff at the Inn was very welcoming. Since I had previewed the room online before booking, there were no surprises. We had a two room suite on the fourth floor of the main building. They offered to take our bags up all those stairs but we opted to do it ourselves for the exercise. I might rethink that on future visits. The room was nicely appointed. Unlike some of the reviews I read, our room was very fresh and clean. The carpets were new and the furnishings were appropriately antiquey... The bedding was nice but the pillows and mattress were lacking. We have a fabulous bed at home so I have never found a hotel bed to my liking, so others might be fine with it. We ate in the restaurant for dinner. While it was expensive (nearly $200 for two people) we did order a lot of food, and everything we had was absolutely divine. I mean I ate some things I generally would say I don't eat (like cauliflower) and it was fantastic. Our server was pleasant and helpful. She was very busy and some of the service was a bit uneven, especially the beverage delivery, but the atmosphere, wonderful food and interesting people made up for any minor flaws. We will be back.

Room Tip: Preview each room online, they are all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Red Fox Inn & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Fox Inn & Tavern

Address: 2 East Washington Street, PO Box 385, Middleburg, VA 20118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quaint village of Middleburg and inspired by four centuries of Virginia Hunt Country tradition, the Red Fox embodies the Piedmont’s cultural heritage. Established in 1728, our four story fieldstone Inn and Tavern boasts hand-hewn ceiling beams, heart pine floors and paneling, working fireplaces, and walls adorned with sporting art. Join us in the heart of Virginia’s famed Hunt and Wine Country to enjoy a hearty meal in our tavern followed by a relaxing evening in one of our cozy guest rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Fox Hotel Middleburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Fox Inn & Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Red Fox Inn & Tavern to your Saves list