We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming inn in a wonderful location, BUT...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Fox Inn & Tavern

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Fox Inn & Tavern
Save Saved
You added The Red Fox Inn & Tavern to your Saves list
2 East Washington Street, PO Box 385, Middleburg, VA 20118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Charming inn in a wonderful location, BUT...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Red Fox Inn is a charming inn in the lovely little town of Middleburg. The location of the inn can't be beat as it is right on the main street of Middleburg and smack dab in the heart of town near shops and restaurants. The overall feel of the inn, especially the restaurant, is very warm, cozy and historic. However, there are a few things that are lacking. We stayed in room 26 in the Stray Fox which is an outbuilding near the main inn. The room was very nice, but the mattress on the bed was atrocious. We both woke up with sore necks and backs. It is one of those mattresses that is so soft (but not in a good way) that you sink into the bed, and when the other person moves even a fraction of an inch you feel like there is a major earthquake in the bed. It was truly awful. Also, the pillows were not good. (I admit am a bit of a bed snob--from pillows to sheets to mattresses.) Also, I had an issue with the breakfast, which is included with the room. We looked online and saw the very nice menu. However, when we arrived at the restaurant for breakfast we were given a little card with three options. Apparently guests at the hotel have three choices, but if you are not a guest at the hotel and go to the restaurant for breakfast you can order off a very nice menu. Not a good way to treat their guests, I think! I saw lovely plates of French toast, eggs benedict with crab, etc. pass our way, but those options were not available to us unless we paid for them. Very disappointing. I did mention this to the woman who seated us and expressed our disappointment (after all, it was not made clear on their website when I booked the room that we would have a very limited breakfast menu) and she was kind enough to let us order off the regular menu. However, the next day she said we could not because the restaurant was serving brunch. Also, when we checked in the girl checking us in wrote on the little map (the one we were given to lead us to our room in the Stray Fox building) the time for breakfast. 8am-10:30am. When we arrived for breakfast at 9:40am on our second day, which was a Sunday, we were told that breakfast for guests ended at 9:30am. Our waitress was nice and said she would still serve us, but we were a bit put off being told we were late. I double checked the sheet and sure enough, it said 8am-10:30am. The girl who checked us in failed to tell us that breakfast hours were different on Sundays. When I mentioned this to the front desk upon check out, they offered a very bland apology.
All in all, it was a very nice stay at a charming inn, but there were a few negative aspects.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    18
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
33
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed in the Furness Suite in the Stray Fox Building. Laid out a bit odd, have to watch the low ceilings in a few places, but overall a great room. Very Quiet while we were there, even though they were sold out. Breakfast's were great. Would definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We overall had a wonderful time. Outstanding dinner at the Inn!!!! Great breakfast!!!

Things to note about room that did not meet what one would expect of a very expensive multi star hotel.
1. Lightbulb missing from table lamp. 2.Had an ice bucket but no glasses to go with it. 3. Water bottles in room but no glasses. 4. Quality of antique furniture good but accessorries like lamps (cheap lamps from Walmart??), plastic flowers and old rug made the place look cheap.

VERY EXPENSIVE for what you got. Would suggest something esle on Breakfast menu besides three choices of egg dishes. Maybe Waffles or French Toast?


I was a witness to two different but equally unhappy guest talking with the lady at the front desk. One family was requesting a change of room because their toilet was broken and could not be looked at by a plummer until 8PM or later (it was already early evening and they just finished dinner and were ready to retire to their room). They wanted a new room. She offered them a bigger suite but told them they had to pay the difference. The question that we were all thinking was "Why should they have to pay for the upgrade because of the hotels' broken toilet?" I was shocked that a REALLY NICE hotel would insist on that. The hotel should appologize and gladly offer and upgrade to compensate. That hurt the hotel more. They did finally get an equial size room but at another location down the street.
The other family had to be moved to another room as well. I do not know why just that they were not happy. I saw them an hour later and they were still not happy with new room. Theses are just impressions but, when you have a tiny lobby room full of people seeing and listening to these transactions, it makes one question what they have and leaves a bad taste. Good hotel lot of unhappy guests.
Overall we had a great time.

Room Tip: Look at room before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Cute and quaint. Small LCD TV in room
2 very small waters upon check in and no where in town after Safeway closes to get more so had to keep refilling in sink (bring water is my point)
Staid in the Jefferson Suite - the most economical of the rooms by having a shared bath in the hallway. Room was perfect size although the bed was full size- bit small for wife and I.
Very loud and creaky floors especially with neighboring guests on all sides. Colonial kind of loud mind you.
Glasses in restaurant smelled like old water.
Service not extremely friendly but it was early - although breakfast is included.
Go eat at Hunters Head 7 miles west on 50- soooo worth it. Ayrshire farms runs it and is all local non GMO livestock and food. Insanely excellent and moderate pricing. Best in area and always busy so make a reservation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Large rooms, appointed with antiques, comfy 4 poster bed. Food was delicious.could have used a small fridge. We were part of a wedding party. I would recommend the Inn for events. Staff were very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coaster
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband, daughter and I made reservations at the Red Fox Inn in Middleburg for a weekend wedding, which was held in another bed and breakfast close by. The Inn is lovely on the outside - as is all of Middleburg - but we were disappointed by the rooms. Positives: comfortable beds, great full breakfast in the main part of the inn, terrific walkable setting. Negatives: very expensive, cheap furnishings and carpeting, old bathroom fixtures. I travel 80% of the time on business and stay in lots of hotels, good and not so good, so I think my expectations are pretty reasonable. I am also a native Virginian and pre-disposed to cut anyplace in my home state some slack. Even with both of these considerations, the Red Fox Inn just didn't measure up to the price tag. It could be so much better!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Red Fox Inn is a diamond in the rough, it needs a lot of thoughtful work and polish.
The bed quality is OK for the cost of the room. But the rest of the furnishing and even the carpet is right out of going out of business sale for a Motel 6. I could not find a chair or couch that you could sit in and not bottom out or feel the springs or other structure (the Motel 6 must of gone out of business 5 years ago). Historic is one thing but the curled walnut colored contact paper in the drawers does not make up for the fact that it is press board and cheap. The carpet is not historic it is just cheap kind of reminds you of a miniature golf course. All in all a wonderful setting the staff is friendly, the beds are OK to good but for $375 a night you do not expect to have to roll up a wash cloth to place behind the mirror in the bathroom so you can change the angle of the mirror to see something besides your navel. To finish on a positive note the WiFi works great and is not an extra cost.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Red Fox Inn & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Fox Inn & Tavern

Address: 2 East Washington Street, PO Box 385, Middleburg, VA 20118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quaint village of Middleburg and inspired by four centuries of Virginia Hunt Country tradition, the Red Fox embodies the Piedmont’s cultural heritage. Established in 1728, our four story fieldstone Inn and Tavern boasts hand-hewn ceiling beams, heart pine floors and paneling, working fireplaces, and walls adorned with sporting art. Join us in the heart of Virginia’s famed Hunt and Wine Country to enjoy a hearty meal in our tavern followed by a relaxing evening in one of our cozy guest rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Fox Hotel Middleburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Fox Inn & Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.