We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Fox Inn & Tavern

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Fox Inn & Tavern
Save
You added The Red Fox Inn & Tavern to your Saves list
2 East Washington Street, PO Box 385, Middleburg, VA 20118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Anniversary Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a fantastic time staying at the Inn and eating dinner in the tavern. When we checked in, they upgraded us to a suite without us asking (which was nice because apparently the room we actually booked doesn't have its own bathroom!). Anyway, the staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. The suite was clean with very modern conveniences given the age of the Inn. Dinner at the Tavern was perfect and delicious (sear scallops and veal piccata). Breakfast was great too. I would recommend both the Inn and the Tavern highly.

One gripe - the online reservation system should better describe the amenities within each room. We're not experienced bed-and-breakfasters so I guess I'll have to call to verify next time.

Room Tip: Call to verify the amenities within a given room - shared bathroom? Full size bed, queen size, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    19
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
38
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed in the Martha Washington room in the Red Fox building and I could not have asked for better! The room was very quaint with old photos of George and Martha Washington hung on the walls, a very spacious four poster canopy king bed with a comfy duvet. The bathroom was stocked with everything I could have possibly needed, from shampoo to makeup remover pads, and numerous towels. The front desk and night watchman were very welcoming and seemed happy to help in any way they could. I also joined them for brunch in their tavern, and I ended up ordering all three courses from their menu, because the food was just absolutely spectacular! If I could give the Red Fox Inn & Tavern 10 stars I would! I will be recommending to all my friends for sure!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had a fabulous time. We stayed at the Martha Washington room: overlooks the street but it is very quiet. Breakfast is good and healthy, especially after our early morning walk through town. Service is excellent. We had dinner at the tavern the first night: delicious food using local produce, and very romantic atmosphere. The place transports you back in time with its typical "country inn" atmosphere. It is full of history: from a Civil War hospital and headquarters, to hosting Jackie Kennedy every time she attended the fox chases.

Room Tip: We had a corner room overlooking the street. Was worked at the beginning but loved it. Very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The bedroom was lovely with a canopy bed and white duvet cover and bedding in a quiet, private entrance room in the Stray Fox. The bathroom was fitted with plenty of nice towels and toiletries, and robes were provided. A full breakfast was included. We have stayed here a number of times and always pleased. The bedroom and bath both were spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: Stray Fox rooms are very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

What a wonderful slice of classic VIrginia hospitality. Charming and helpful staff, sweet surroundings--loved the boxwoods, the flowering shrubs, the four poster canopied bed. While the weekend in Middleburg was busy--it was Sidewalk Sale weekend, the Red Fox was quiet and civilized.

Room Tip: I stayed in #28, a corner room in the Stray Fox building and it was private, quiet and perfectly sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I spent two nights at this historic little inn and thoroughly enjoyed it. I had a suite that felt more like a tiny apartment with a hallway connecting a separate sitting room, a bedroom with fireplace and a nice sized, updated bathroom. The staff is very attentive and the dining room serves wonderful food. I had dinner there once and breakfast twice. Everything I ordered was superb. The surrounding streets ooze with historic charm, so it's a nice location for an evening stroll or morning walk.

Room Tip: The website has photos of each room. Very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I stayed with my children at the inn recently - and we had a great time. They really appreciated the history and we found the evening and morning innkeepers very hospitable. We also loved the big hearty breakfasts that were included with the room price (and they honored this even though we'd "bought" our room through a school auction).

We stayed on the top floor of the main hotel and the room exceeded our expectation (the Skinner room). It was 2 separate rooms with a very comfortable Q bed in one room and a fold out one person sofa bed in the other room which was pretty comfortable too. Rooms and bath were VERY clean and the oatmeal cookies were a nice touch. a TV in each room and room is more historic looking than it appears on the website.

It is a historic hotel so we had to walk up to the 4th floor but the view was great. And room was quiet, even tho it was facing the street. Our only minor complaint is that the room was warm but with windows open it was ok.
Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Red Fox Inn & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Fox Inn & Tavern

Address: 2 East Washington Street, PO Box 385, Middleburg, VA 20118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quaint village of Middleburg and inspired by four centuries of Virginia Hunt Country tradition, the Red Fox embodies the Piedmont’s cultural heritage. Established in 1728, our four story fieldstone Inn and Tavern boasts hand-hewn ceiling beams, heart pine floors and paneling, working fireplaces, and walls adorned with sporting art. Join us in the heart of Virginia’s famed Hunt and Wine Country to enjoy a hearty meal in our tavern followed by a relaxing evening in one of our cozy guest rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Fox Hotel Middleburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Fox Inn & Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.