We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, cute farm, & equally good Sunday brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goodstone Inn & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Goodstone Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
36205 Snake Hill Road, Middleburg, VA 20117   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Leesburg, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, cute farm, & equally good Sunday brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We went here for Sunday brunch to experience Loudoun County's "Farm to Table" dinning and were stunned to see the beautiful grounds with huge trees probably 100's of years old, colorful gardens, pool, trails, cottages, and farm.

The Sunday brunch was a real bargain for $39 as it starts off with a Complimentary Glass of Champagne, or Bloody Mary or Mimosa and then they have a three course meal. We all enjoyed the items we ordered which were all perfectly cooked and presented. Truffle Chocolate Cake is sinfully delicious.

We took a walk around the property and felt like it will be one of the best weekend getaway options around Washington DC area. They have lovely pool, great food, lots of trails to walk and bike and lovely farm. Also, the place has colorful barns, landscapes, and views to take lovely pictures. Especially in Fall.

Looking forward to spending a weekend here on some special occasion.

Room Tip: Take a walk to their Farm. You can get great pictures with their colorful barns in the background.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    18
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
138
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington,DC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Such a beautiful setting and we lucked out w/ some incredible weather. Our suite was comfortable, roomy & quiet. Service was very attentive. We were looking forward to dinner and were so disappointed! There were about 12 diners. I ordered a glass of champagne - received rose -when i pointed it out to our waiter - he told me i could keep it and he went off to get the champagne. It was served room temperature. We ordered escargot to start - came w/ 6 ea. not a great sauce - but worse we couldn't locate the escargots to pull out even w/ the appropriate forks. Our waiter collected our dishes - took them back to the kitchen where they reportedly cracked the shells to get them out. They were returned in a ramekin semi barely warm. My date ordered a Caesar salad - he said it was 'the worst Caesar salad' he'd ever had. How hard is it to make a Caesar salad? My salad w/ figs was wonderful. Dinner - a veal chop & pork loin - were both delicious as we're the desserts. Not an inexpensive meal that was really far from something special. Breakfast on the other was delightful from the fresh squeezed OJ to the fruit and eggs Benedict . We'd return for the setting, ambience and breakfast. Great for a getaway or special occasion. Has to be a magical setting for a wedding too.

Room Tip: Carriage house suites are terrific - location to restaurant, pool and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, General Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Hello Mr. Jones,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I can see that you enjoyed your time at the Goodstone Inn, but we fell short of your expectations with dinner. We always strive for perfection and I apologize that you were not pleased with some of the items you had for dinner. The chef and I value your feedback as it helps us to make adjustments so we can constantly improve.

Please contact me directly the next you visit and I will ensure that you have a perfect stay.

Regards,

Craig Boyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Went there to celebrate a birthday. Unfortunately, we didn't get to spend the night, just came out for dinner. The Inn is very well kept, great grounds. You definitely need a car to get there. We left at night and the country roads are narrow and dark. The food was superb, the service excellent. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We just had a night away at the inn and left feeling relaxed, pampered and rejuvenated.
The estate is simply stunning and we enjoyed the gorgeous pool, bik rides and hikes around the estate.
Breakfast was incredible with goats cheese, tomato and pesto omlette and fresh fruit from the estate orchards.
It was a wonderful estate, one we will never forget. We look forward to a future visit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This amazing resort immediately makes you relax and takes you into the Virginia Countryside. Not much to do and that is a good thing. At the lodge the food is good especially in the spectacular wine cellar. Great service and accommodations. I recommend the Bull Barn. 1st class with country charm. We had a wonderful time.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, General Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear ColonelTJ,

It is nice to hear you had a wonderful time at the Goodstone Inn and Restaurant. Our dining can not be beat in the Virginia Country side! We are a very special property with beautiful grounds, rooms and French cuisine dining and only about an hour from DC. Thank you for taking your time to write this review it will be shared with the Goodstone Team. Please come back for a visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here this past August and booked the Ambassador room which was cozy with a nice bed and a large bathroom. The room is located in the top floor of the Spring House. If I did it again, I might splurge for the for a larger room, but I kind of felt I was splurging anyway at $385 a night. Also, you are pretty far from the main house (Carriage House) which houses reception, lounge and restaurant. The pool is nearby the main house too. You can definitely walk but it's a tad far. We booked a dinner reservation for 8pm. They were out of couple of things on the menu already and attributed to a busier than expected first seating. We had a pre-fixe 4 course meal that was excellent, slow service seems intended so relax and enjoy. I was bit dismayed upon my discovery that a package deal which included a 4 course meal would have been the way to go but my bad for not investigating thoroughly. So definitely check their website for deals. The grounds are lovely and made a great trek that will take you over an hour walking a decent pace. There are streams, cows, ponds, even a friendly poodle who hung with us until some joggers came by, just really lovely and pastoral. It's definitely a special place that almost feels out of a novel or something. The staff is excellent and gave us a full list of recommendation for touring wineries in the area. Linda was really sweet and even prepared a little gift bag for our drive home. All in all I can't help but expect a little more on the accommodations front for the money paid but the staff and surroundings almost made up for it. I don't tend to spend more than $350 for hotel rooms anywhere, so it's mental thing with me, I expected to be blown away. PS- Breakfast is included and it's pretty awesome.

Room Tip: Rooms are in building dispersed throughout the grounds. It's a big place, check they resort map.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, General Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear jno2011,

Thank you for splurging on the Goodstone we appreciate your business. We run specials throughout the year so please check our website or simply call us directly. I am happy you enjoyed your stay in the Ambassador it is a nice room in the Spring House.. When dining at the Goodstone or any other fine dining establishment keep in mind every dish is made fresh so allow a little extra time to enjoy the whole experience.
We hope you visit the Goodstone soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised by this Inn. I will share two areas for this review: the room and premises; and the food.
The suite we stayed at, the Mare Suite, was just perfect for my husband and I. It provided intimacy, a sense of country with all the amenities of a 5 star hotel. The premises are breathless. We enjoyed a 3 mile hike with amazing views...and afterwards the hot tub!! The views are peaceful and full of charm.
The food, which was originally what was recommended to me, was decadent. The fresh herbs and vegetables (picked up right there from the garden) merge in your mouth with so many flavors. I had one of the best tomato salad with goat cheese and pesto that i have ever had in my life. The sea bass crumbled in your mouth... breakfast was a journey of decadence: thick fresh bacon, a heavenly croissant...needless to say, we enjoyed the food. The only thing that didn't match up with all was the chocolate soufflé, but I have to believe it had to have been a fluke. The apple pie was heaven.
Overall, we felt the price was worth it. We are coming back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, General Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear kachinamicha,

The Mare suite is a wonderful choice and a great location in the Carriage House. It sounds like you experienced all the outside has to offer on our breath taking property. The views from the Goodstone are picturesque and charming.

You said it perfectly our cuisine is decadent we use only the freshest ingredients in our kitchen. Chef Bens tomato salad is mouth watering delicious and by far a crowd pleaser! Thank you for taking your time to write this review I will share this with my team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Goodstone Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodstone Inn & Restaurant

Address: 36205 Snake Hill Road, Middleburg, VA 20117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The blazing floor-to-ceiling fieldstone fireplace in the Great Room of the circa 1900 Carriage House amplifies the warm welcome that arriving guests at the Goodstone Inn & Restaurant have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Goodstone Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodstone Inn And Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant Hotel Middleburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.