We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lodging; Disappointing Dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goodstone Inn & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Goodstone Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
36205 Snake Hill Road, Middleburg, VA 20117   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great Lodging; Disappointing Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Goodstone is a wonderfully interesting, relaxing, upscale and comfortable place with lodging options located in several old, classic buildings, large and small, scattered around the large and beautifully maintained estate. The rooms, bathrooms, sitting rooms and furnishings are first class and worth the rather high daily rate. There are several amenities and activities available, one of the most interesting of which for us was a visit to the on-site working farm, where lambs were born on the day of our arrival recently.
Unfortunately, except for breakfast, the dining room and bar service do not live up to the standard that is set by the lodging. Management urges an upscale dress code and prohibits jeans and t-shirts. We like dress codes, the stricter the better, and we dress accordingly, but be prepared do dine with sloppily dressed, jeans and t-shirt wearing slobs in the beautiful dining room. We don't understand why some men dress up for a free wedding reception or church but dress way down when they are paying hundreds of dollars for the night plus a lot for dinners and fine wine. Oh well.
Good news: The website is reasonably accurate. Goodstone deserves five stars even with the dining deficiency because everything else is so great.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
LocalCitizen3939,

Thank you for your kind words. Goodstone Inn is truly one-of-a-kind.

We do ask that dining guests dress appropriately for the restaurant. We hold both service and dining in very high regard, and I apologize the atmosphere was less than our standards. I can assure you this is definitely not a common occurrence. Our guests dine with us because of the fine French cuisine, the fabulous service, and the outstanding ambiance. I sincerely hope to welcome you back to Goodstone in the near future.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    18
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
137
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Owings Mills, Maryland
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

After completing our taxes and finding a refund, we decided to spend it on a night at Goodstone. And spend it we did. We booked the Angus suite in the French Farmhouse on recommendation of the sweet girl I spoke to when I made the reservation. Mistakenly, she said it had a steam shower and oversized spa tub – it only had the spa tub. My husband was disappointed – but I told him to get over it. The room was lovely and the public areas in the Farmhouse were great. After dinner at the Inn and our walk back to the room, we started a fire and sat sipping sparkling wine by the fireplace before bed. When we first arrived we took a walk around the barn area as I wanted to see the famous “Oliver the Pig”. OMG!! The head on that pig is as big as – well it is just BIG. He was asleep and we were never able to get him to open his eyes. I really wanted to see the whole pig standing. We got to see several lambs that we just born – very cute. The Inn’s service is exceptional and the property pastoral. We would love to stay there often – but as of 4/15 the lowest weekend rate is $400 and going as high as $800 for ONE night. My husband and I both are working folk and we do splurge now and again – sadly Goodstone will be Never Again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Judy J,

Thank you for your kind words. To be honest, I have been at the Goodstone now for six months and have yet to see Oliver stand! The best time to see him in all of his hoggish glory is feeding time (the only time he is motivated to move). I am also pleased to announce the arrival of Grayson the Llama. He parades stoically around the sheep pen, all the while keeping a mindful eye on his new family.

We are a destination and specially occasion luxury inn set in the heart of horse & hunt country. We love to see guest at Goodstone celebrating birthdays, anniversaries, or even those that want a special getaway from the City (or on the occasion, family). Everyone is welcome and treated as family at the Goodstone Inn.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Once we found the resort we were amazed by the beauty of the property. Very friendly people greeted us as we arrived. We were shown to our room in a separate building. We were surprised that we were sharing the building with another couple. Fortunately the rooms had their own bath facilities. The shared space was very awkward as the other couple, actually two couples over the period of our stay, monopolized the television and kitchen. We did have a few hours during the day to enjoy the porch but otherwise we felt confined to our room. Another issue with the room was all the bugs which we had to deal with. I believe the bugs are referred to as "stink bugs" but whatever they were they were everywhere in our room. They were in the shower light and my wife said one fell off the ceiling while she was getting ready to go out for dinner. I had to clean up several from the carpet in the room. What is the problem with these bugs? Yet another problem occurred with dinner at the restaurant the first night. What a disappointment. The meal was subpar but we found out two days later that their chef and food services manager had left and the replacements were there only a few weeks. This may explain why our expectations for a five star resort and restaurant were not met in any way. One evening after returning from dinner at another restaurant my wife called down at 9:30pm to see if we could come to the bar for a glass of wine. The abrupt answer was no, the bar was closed. Really? there were still people in the restaurant. On the positive side the property is beautiful but shows signs of neglect. It was too cold for the pool to be in service but we were told by management that the pool amenities really were not what they should be. We did walk up to the operational barn/farm and visited with Oliver the overweight pig. We saw new born lambs frolicking in the pasture with their mother and numerous chickens which were the source of our fresh eggs for breakfast. My wife asked if she could get a massage at their new spa facilities which we found out were in the barn at the farm area. Apparently the masseuse is only available on a limited basis and it ended up that she could not be "fit in" for 3 days. That did not work for us but when we returned home, she was able to get an appointment in 2 hours. Back to breakfast, the menu is very limited. You could have eggs or pancakes, no yogurt or other breakfast was available. Even though breakfast was included we went into town to get something different than was available on the menu. So the real question is would we go back to Goodstone, the short answer is no. This is a resort in dire need of updating and until the kitchen issues and other issues with the rooms are dealt with I am afraid that this once gem is only costume jewelry.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We booked a night in the Leith room at the French cottage for a Sunday night in April and every detail of our visit was welcoming and luxurious. Even though the inn was booked to capacity, we had excellent service from the pleasant young gentleman who checked us in and brought tea and chocolate chip scones to staff who brought ice to our room within 5 minutes of our call. The french cottage has a rustic charm, the only negative being a few stinkbugs. I was nervous about sharing common areas with other guests but all were quiet and polite. We enjoyed the hammock and outdoor patio. The scenic grounds are perfect for a relaxed, secluded getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear senicole,

Thank you for your kind post and your continued patronage. We are extremely fortunate to have the staff we do, and take great pride in providing top notch professional yet warm service to our guests.

All of our lodgings are luxurious and comfortable. Whether you stay in the “rustic charm” of the French Farm, the intimate setting of the Dutch Cottage, or the classic Manor House, you will enjoy great privacy, serenity, and relaxation.

Thank you again and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed for a quiet getaway after a more hectic week. We booked a regular room and were pleasantly upgraded to a suite. Although it was next to the restaurant, the room was very quiet and comfortable. Nice sized bathroom with great water pressure. The Inn has a nice walking trail circling the property. You'll pass along a creek, through meadows where a groundhog may say hello, and right past cows from the dairy. The cows take little interest in the guests out for a walk. We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant although did have drinks at the very friendly bar. One note - the breakfast menu was the same each day and is heavy on eggs. If you don't or can't eat eggs daily, ask for a substitute and the staff is obliging.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
HikinChick,

Thank you for your post. We strive to remove the stresses of our guests. The pastoral and peaceful farm environment and professional yet personable staff have a lot to do with that. We are extremely fortunate to have both of these assets.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed i nThe Warburg Junior suite and were quite pleased. It was very pleasant because we had the whole balcony to ourselves( I am not sure if it would have been as nice if guests were in the room next door).
The gounds are well maintained and the staff is more than pleasant.
The dinner we had was excellent, but expect to pay as much if not more than you would pay at some of the finest restaurants in DC. If you do have dinner there let me recommend the lamb. Possibly the best I have ever had.
The breakfast was quite tasty as well.
I would reccomend comming later in the spring or fall because I would suspect there would be more to do, and the surroundings would be prettier(leaves on the trees, and vines at the vinyards).
My only complaint would be that at breakfast there didn't seem to be enough help. When we got there, no one was around to seat us. A minute or so later a waitress sat us, and things were good(even though it took a while to get our food). Overall it was a pleasant stay and I would come back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Oliverlevitt,

Thank you for your kind words. We are an exquisite respite from the action of the city. We pride ourselves on our ability to offer top notch accommodations, professional and attentive service, and fine dining.

With this recent hot snap brings about the buds and flowers of summer, and everyone is anticipating the opening of our pool very soon.

I do apologize about the wait for breakfast. This is one of the most important aspects of a guest's stay. Please, when you visit us in the future, know that we have addressed the situation and everything will be up to our high standards.

Thank you again, and looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I decided to stay here for one night in February 2013 after our wedding. It was the perfect place for a short winter getaway! On the way to the Inn, we stopped first in the down town area of Middleburg (which is only about 10 minutes from the Inn). It's a cute little town, with a bunch of shops & restaurants (although we were there on President's Day, so many were closed--also, I believe some of the restaurants weren't open regularly on a Monday). When we got to the Inn at check-in time (around 3pm), where we were greeted with freshly baked scones and tea. The staff was very courteous and attentive. We were shown our room (we stayed in the Carlyle Junior Suite, which was connected to the Carriage House (where the restaurant and check-in area was). The room is absolutely adorable (and looks exactly like the photos on the website)--very cozy and stocked with a Kerig so we could make tea or coffee whenever we wanted, waters and soda.

We took a walk around the grounds (make sure to walk down near the Bull Barn to see the huge pig!), which was really nice (although I think in the summer there would be even more to do--kayaks, pool, etc).

We had dinner at the restaurant, which was delicious! Our waiter was great and brought us some complimentary champagne, since we were celebrating our wedding. We ended up doing the 3 course prix fixe dinner and everything was absolutely delicious. The cheese plate for dessert was especially good, as was the raspberry souffle. We asked if we could bring our wine over to the fireplace in the reception area to finish, which the waiter said we absolutely could, but unfortunately, the fireplace was turned off by the time we got over there. Still, a very delicious, atmospheric, and romantic dinner!

The next day, it was raining, so after our delicious full country breakfast in the main house (which was only about 20 feet from our room--so convenient!) we sat by the fire in the main house. There is chess to play and also some books, magazines and newspapers.

A great trip--we would definitely go back there! The only thing that was missing was a fireplace in our room. Also, it's a little expensive, but when we had a Living Social deal, so we got it for half price.

Room Tip: The Carlyle Junior Suite was great! Very private and cozy. A horse stable that was converted to a su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Monica D,

Thank you for your kind words. The Goodstone Inn is a great getaway winter, spring, summer, and fall and I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our Flash Sale. We do these occasionally and hope you visit us again!

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Goodstone Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodstone Inn & Restaurant

Address: 36205 Snake Hill Road, Middleburg, VA 20117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The blazing floor-to-ceiling fieldstone fireplace in the Great Room of the circa 1900 Carriage House amplifies the warm welcome that arriving guests at the Goodstone Inn & Restaurant have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Goodstone Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodstone Inn And Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant Hotel Middleburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.