We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fabulous stay at the Goodstone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goodstone Inn & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Goodstone Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
36205 Snake Hill Road, Middleburg, VA 20117   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Falls Church, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another fabulous stay at the Goodstone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We booked a night in the Leith room at the French cottage for a Sunday night in April and every detail of our visit was welcoming and luxurious. Even though the inn was booked to capacity, we had excellent service from the pleasant young gentleman who checked us in and brought tea and chocolate chip scones to staff who brought ice to our room within 5 minutes of our call. The french cottage has a rustic charm, the only negative being a few stinkbugs. I was nervous about sharing common areas with other guests but all were quiet and polite. We enjoyed the hammock and outdoor patio. The scenic grounds are perfect for a relaxed, secluded getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear senicole,

Thank you for your kind post and your continued patronage. We are extremely fortunate to have the staff we do, and take great pride in providing top notch professional yet warm service to our guests.

All of our lodgings are luxurious and comfortable. Whether you stay in the “rustic charm” of the French Farm, the intimate setting of the Dutch Cottage, or the classic Manor House, you will enjoy great privacy, serenity, and relaxation.

Thank you again and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    18
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
139
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed for a quiet getaway after a more hectic week. We booked a regular room and were pleasantly upgraded to a suite. Although it was next to the restaurant, the room was very quiet and comfortable. Nice sized bathroom with great water pressure. The Inn has a nice walking trail circling the property. You'll pass along a creek, through meadows where a groundhog may say hello, and right past cows from the dairy. The cows take little interest in the guests out for a walk. We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant although did have drinks at the very friendly bar. One note - the breakfast menu was the same each day and is heavy on eggs. If you don't or can't eat eggs daily, ask for a substitute and the staff is obliging.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
HikinChick,

Thank you for your post. We strive to remove the stresses of our guests. The pastoral and peaceful farm environment and professional yet personable staff have a lot to do with that. We are extremely fortunate to have both of these assets.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed i nThe Warburg Junior suite and were quite pleased. It was very pleasant because we had the whole balcony to ourselves( I am not sure if it would have been as nice if guests were in the room next door).
The gounds are well maintained and the staff is more than pleasant.
The dinner we had was excellent, but expect to pay as much if not more than you would pay at some of the finest restaurants in DC. If you do have dinner there let me recommend the lamb. Possibly the best I have ever had.
The breakfast was quite tasty as well.
I would reccomend comming later in the spring or fall because I would suspect there would be more to do, and the surroundings would be prettier(leaves on the trees, and vines at the vinyards).
My only complaint would be that at breakfast there didn't seem to be enough help. When we got there, no one was around to seat us. A minute or so later a waitress sat us, and things were good(even though it took a while to get our food). Overall it was a pleasant stay and I would come back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Oliverlevitt,

Thank you for your kind words. We are an exquisite respite from the action of the city. We pride ourselves on our ability to offer top notch accommodations, professional and attentive service, and fine dining.

With this recent hot snap brings about the buds and flowers of summer, and everyone is anticipating the opening of our pool very soon.

I do apologize about the wait for breakfast. This is one of the most important aspects of a guest's stay. Please, when you visit us in the future, know that we have addressed the situation and everything will be up to our high standards.

Thank you again, and looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I decided to stay here for one night in February 2013 after our wedding. It was the perfect place for a short winter getaway! On the way to the Inn, we stopped first in the down town area of Middleburg (which is only about 10 minutes from the Inn). It's a cute little town, with a bunch of shops & restaurants (although we were there on President's Day, so many were closed--also, I believe some of the restaurants weren't open regularly on a Monday). When we got to the Inn at check-in time (around 3pm), where we were greeted with freshly baked scones and tea. The staff was very courteous and attentive. We were shown our room (we stayed in the Carlyle Junior Suite, which was connected to the Carriage House (where the restaurant and check-in area was). The room is absolutely adorable (and looks exactly like the photos on the website)--very cozy and stocked with a Kerig so we could make tea or coffee whenever we wanted, waters and soda.

We took a walk around the grounds (make sure to walk down near the Bull Barn to see the huge pig!), which was really nice (although I think in the summer there would be even more to do--kayaks, pool, etc).

We had dinner at the restaurant, which was delicious! Our waiter was great and brought us some complimentary champagne, since we were celebrating our wedding. We ended up doing the 3 course prix fixe dinner and everything was absolutely delicious. The cheese plate for dessert was especially good, as was the raspberry souffle. We asked if we could bring our wine over to the fireplace in the reception area to finish, which the waiter said we absolutely could, but unfortunately, the fireplace was turned off by the time we got over there. Still, a very delicious, atmospheric, and romantic dinner!

The next day, it was raining, so after our delicious full country breakfast in the main house (which was only about 20 feet from our room--so convenient!) we sat by the fire in the main house. There is chess to play and also some books, magazines and newspapers.

A great trip--we would definitely go back there! The only thing that was missing was a fireplace in our room. Also, it's a little expensive, but when we had a Living Social deal, so we got it for half price.

Room Tip: The Carlyle Junior Suite was great! Very private and cozy. A horse stable that was converted to a su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Monica D,

Thank you for your kind words. The Goodstone Inn is a great getaway winter, spring, summer, and fall and I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our Flash Sale. We do these occasionally and hope you visit us again!

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Me and my wife just concluded a really nice weekend in Middleburg where we stayed at the Goodstone. We booked a 2 night stay on their "Suite Escape" package about a month ago. We stayed in the Hayloft suite, which is the room directly above the main cottage area, bar and dining room.

The room was truly wonderful. Probably the best part about the Hayloft suite is that you have your own private deck that looks out across the rolling hills of the property. On Saturday morning, it was warm enough for us to enjoy some coffee outside while we read the paper. Inside the room, the bed was nice and the bathroom was enormous. My wife even took a bubble bath on Saturday afternoon. I was a bit worried when booking that being above the restaurant would be noisy in the evenings. It was not. Each night we were in bed by 10pm and we were never interrupted by noise from downstairs.

The staff is especially kind at Goodstone. Austin was the gentleman who checked us in, and he was kind and very obliging. Freddie worked the bar both nights and he was tremendously warm and kind to both of us. We truly enjoyed meeting him and speaking with him.

We had breakfast there each morning. Each time the food was fantastic. I had the omelette du jour both mornings and it was perfectly made each time. The croissants are downright indulgent and amazing, but this morning they ran out and we got the last one! So I recommend getting to the breakfast on the early side to ensure you are able to have your fill of these amazing croissants.

In the evenings, we had dinner in town on Friday night at a relatively pedestrian and not overwhelming French restaurant. On Saturday night, we did stay and eat at the Goodstone. It was good. We were not blown away by the food and based on our experience at breakfast that morning, we expected a bit more. But I don't want to discourage anyone from trying the dining room here for dinner. I misfired on my entree order (went with the duck) and my wife is limited in the foods she can eat b/c she is pregnant (she had the mushroom risotto, no cheese).

We each had soups and those were absolutely phenomenal and well done (an asparagus soup and I had the french onion soup). Dessert was terrific too. More than anything, I enjoyed the atmosphere in the dining room, the courteous and kind service, and I do recommend having a drink at the bar before you head into dinner. It's such a nice room with the fireplace and everything else. It put us in a really relaxing mood.

We'll definitely head back there in a few years and its nice to know there is a truly perfect getaway that is only 50 miles from DC (where we live).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Joe M,

Thank you for your post. The Hayloft is a personal favorite of mine because of the deck and I'm glad the weather was cooperative this weekend for you to be able to fully enjoy it!

Freddy and Austin are great hoteliers and are fabulous hospitality ambassadors. We are very fortunate to have such great staff here. Everyone is eager to help in whatever way possible and to show the beauty of Goodstone.

I do hope to welcome you on your return visit. Maybe in the summer months when the pool is in full swing or in the fall when the foliage is peaking; but no matter when you return, please know you will always have friends at the Goodstone Inn.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I bought a Living Social stay at the Goodstone Inn and selected the Warburg room for our one night stay. The evening before our stay we were called by the Inn and told that the boiler was out for that area of the property and they switched us to one of the two rooms (the Magnolia) in the Dutch Cottage as there was no one staying in the other room. That worked out fine, but it would not have been good if strangers were in the other room as the two rooms share the living room and kitchen downstairs. It would, however, work well for two couples who are close friends.

The one complaint we had was the claw-footed bath tub because it was very difficult to enjoy a shower and to get in and out of.

The included breakfast was ample with some nice choices.

The Living Social deal included a small meal credit for dinner, which when used made the unusually high costs of the entrees and wine a bit more reasonable, but still expensive for what was not extraordinary dishes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I would also like to thank you for staying in the Dutch Cottage. Given the historic nature of our property and the originality of the heating system, some issues are likely to occur but we have corrected the issues and updated the system; but thank you once again.

I would also like to second your sentiments about the Dutch Cottage being a great option for two couples or a family. The cozy atmosphere of the Dutch and the proximity to the Inn's facilities make this a very attractive house.

I am also glad the dining voucher was used but disappointed to here your experience was less than you had hoped. We do strive for excellence in every regard; atmosphere, decor, and cuisine included. We are revamping the menu to reflect the produce that we will be harvesting from the farm soon and I hope that you come back and try our spring offerings.

Thank you again!

Matthew Daubenspeck
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Goodstone is a beautiful property in the Middleburg, VA horse country. The Inn is located on 265 acres with a walking trail around the farm and inn buildings, so there is plenty of opportunity to walk off the calories from the delicious meals. We stayed in the Stallion Suite in the Carriage House - a large, very comfortable space - informal luxury. Tea and excellent scones are offered as a prelude to an outstanding meal. The staff here are all wonderful, friendly and helpful. Prior to checkin we srolled around Middleburg - always fun to do when in the area. Just driving around this part of Virginia is a pleasure, passing the miles of stone fencing along the roadways. We live close enough that we will certainly plan to return to this lovely Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I'm glad you were able to utilize our amenities to the fullest. These amenities will be more abundant with the gorgeous pool, mountain biking, canoeing, and bird watching as we approach spring. Plenty to look forward to and enjoy on your next visit. We hope to welcome you back to the Goodstone Inn soon.

Best regards,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Goodstone Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodstone Inn & Restaurant

Address: 36205 Snake Hill Road, Middleburg, VA 20117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant in Middleburg, Virginia, is a luxurious country inn and French restaurant in the heart of Virginia's wine and horse country. Drawing inspiration and purpose from its location on 265 acres of rolling hills and farmland, the Restaurant at Goodstone provides its guests with an unparalleled farm-to-table dining experience. The luxury country inn offers 18 elegantly decorated guest rooms and suites in six distinctive dwellings, including the Carriage House (main building), Dutch Cottage, French Farm Cottage, Spring House, Manor House and Bull Barn Cottage. Other amenities include Goodstone's country spa, wine cellar dining room, horse-themed Carriage House bar, exquisite heated pool set beneath the Wisteria-covered facade of the Old Mansion, and working farm. Goodstone Inn & Restaurant offers the charming ambiance of an 18th century country estate with the convenience, luxury and service expected by 21st century guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Goodstone Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant Hotel Middleburg
Goodstone Inn And Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.