We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven, Top Notch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goodstone Inn & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Goodstone Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
36205 Snake Hill Road, Middleburg, VA 20117   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Ossining
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Heaven, Top Notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Died and gone to heaven! Thank you Snique Away for introducing us to one of Conde Nast's raves.
Gorgeous property, lovely accommodations, all private,beautiful decor and exemplary service. Well worth the time and the money. We stayed in one of a number of private cottages, small homes on the estate..very French, very beautiful. It could accommodate 3 couples , though outside of one night we had the place all to our selves. The fire was stoked and warm cookies were provided..for even more comfort.The complementary bottle of wine in our room was delightfully enjoyed sitting in front of our parlor fire. Breakfast was lovely, dinner was wonderful and dishes utilized many local ingredients. The chef toured many tables ,including ours, during dinner...nice! We walked the grounds, chatted with their people and relaxed on a whole new level. Absolutely lovely for couples of any age.

Room Tip: House styles vary considerably. Ask for descriptions...we looked at a few others..and one may be rus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. The French Farm Cottage is a beautiful house nestled in the rolling hills of Goodstone and is consistently a staff favorite. There is just something about the wood fireplaces, the exposed wood beams, and waking up with a cup of coffee in hand as you view the sheep graze that tells you "I can fully relax here". Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    16
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
136
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My boyfriend took me for a night for a belated Valentine's Day getaway. He has been to Goodstone a few times and always raved about his experience and I totally get it. We will be going back. We were very excited when we were upgraded at the last minute from a room in the Spring House, to the Stallion Suite in the Carriage House (the mack daddy suite). The room was absolutely wonderful. I immediately changed into my robe to begin formally relaxing. The views were fantastic, and I loved the bay windows everywhere. We took them up on their tea offer and Austin brought us both a selection of teas and scones, which were a really nice little touch. We immediately felt at home and did not need to turn the TV on to relax (we are big TV watchers).
My only complaint was that there was no turn down service. Normally I would feel that I was being bratty and knit-picky for complaining about this, however, it was advertised as part of the included services and for a $500 a night suite, I think it is important to deliver on your promises. I would not have noticed its absence had it not been previously mentioned to me or had I looked online beforehand. My boyfriend's favorite part during his previous trips was the turn-down service, he described his return to the room as it being like there were "the most trusted little elves tidying everything up for you." I think that part of what you are paying into at Goodstone is the high quality of service and the full pampering/getaway experience. It really is a shame that turn-down service is something that is going by the wayside. In the very least, do not put it on the website as an included service, and update the book in the room so that it is not further advertised. It made me feel as if we were deemed less important or less valued. The other thing about the lack of turn-down service that I question, is what were we supposed to do with the leftover goods, leave them outside of our room? It's not like we had a kitchen. It just left a sour taste in my mouth. That being said, this is probably a good problem to have (a good problem is still a problem).
The breakfast that they served conveniently only a few steps from our room was INCREDIBLE. We had keish with mushrooms and asparagus and a sausage patty. Every single thing on my plate was incredible. I cannot wait to go back to Goodstone when the dining room is open and experience the food again. I don't even like keish and I ate all of mine and half of my boyfriend's. The bed and sheets are also absolutely lovely and easy to dive into for a nice long rest. They were crisp and clean but were very inviting. It was also nice to have the option of having big bay windows, or being able to shut the curtains and be cozy. (It was a little awkward coming home and expecting the turn down service though, because we left all of the curtains open and would have shut them had we known that we would come back to it that way.) That being said, we loved our trip. It was a wonderful getaway and we are saving up for our next trip back. The staff was accommodating and that was very appreciated. I am excited to walk the grounds upon our return, to eat their food, and to reclaim my place in their four post bed.

Room Tip: If you can, plan for the middle of the week. Rates are much more negotiable at this point and someti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We take pride in not only our culinary offerings but our intimate, friendly, and warm service as well. I would also like to apologize for the Turn Down Service as well. We hold ourselves to a very high standard and is disappointing to learn that we were not able to meet both your and our standards. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. The trees are beginning to bud and some flowers are making their way out of the ground. Spring is truly a magical time here at the Goodstone, and it would be our pleasure to experience this marvelous season with you.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The property was amazing! The grounds were beautiful, the crackling fire - so welcoming and the staff soo ingratiating! The food was tantalizing and soaking in the outside jacuzi was just what I wanted to unwind after the holidays.

Room Tip: The Stallion Suite was quaint, spacious and so convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I went here when we were just dating a couple years ago. But we've had people tell us who went recently just how much they loved it too. We stayed in the cottage in the main building right above the sitting area. It was just the best getaway. We traveled in July and stayed on a weekday around July 4th. It was not very crowded. We loved the tea when we arrived and our room was beautiful. The bathroom had an amazing garden soaking tub. The decor was blue traditional decor which I loved. We had a large walk out balcony and deck too! And the dinner! I still talk about how this was my favorite dining experience. We enjoyed the 7-9 course meal - every inventive and creative bite of it! The grounds are beautiful and we enjoyed the pool and the hike.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTMINSTER
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We took friends there for dinner following a nearby equestrian event, we had dinner but did not stay on the property. We went with the wine pairing option based upon the foundation of a prior wonderful experience of our own and upon reinforcement of same from other friends that had dined there. I shall not try to describe this experience except to say that the exquisite things that hit our collective palates were some of the very best ever....for all of us. Let the chef be your guide and go with the suggested wines and you'll spend a bit of time in culinary heaven! let your health insurance worry about covering the ER costs of tongue repair, less deductable, of course.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We returned to the Goodstone this weekend and once again we had a wonderful time. The staff was very helpful and attentive, both Amy and David made special efforts to make sure our visit was as delightful as ever. The kitchen was undergoing renovation, which required it to be closed for dinner on the second night of our stay, but instead of being an inconvenience this turned out to be a stroke of luck. The kitchen staff prepared a special dinner for us and delivered it to our room, so we enjoyed a romantic dinner in front of a cozy fire in the Bull Barn Cottage.

The Bull Barn Cottage is the newest of the Goodstone's rooms and is best described as a luxurious rustic cottage. The cottage is a converted barn located near the working heart of the Inn's farming operation. The Goodstone's owner and general manger, Mark Betts, is in the process of creating a sustainable farming operation at the Goodstone. The goal is to raise as much of the produce and protein for the Goodstone's restaurant as possible on site, creating a true "farm to table" dining experience.

This was our first opportunity to meet Mark in person and it is clear that the emphasis placed on attention to detail and personal service found at the Goodstone starts at the top.

We again found the Goodstone to be a delightfully restful and romantic country getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We loved our holiday one night getaway to the Goodstone Inn. The staff (especially Debbie, Amy and Ashley) were wonderful, we loved our suite (the Stallion Suite) and everything about the Inn was perfect. The grounds are beautiful, the history of the inn is interesting, we liked the roaring fire place in the Carriage House, our suite was spotless and had good amenities, the restaurant was delicious, etc. We can't wait to go back, next time possibly in the warm weather to swim in the pool. I especially liked the thoughtful details in our accomodations, such as complimentary soft drinks and bottled water in the room fridge, a Keurig coffee maker, slippers, a half bottle of wine and nice glasses on the dresser, and chocolates. And the bed is very comfortable. The cleanliness and very good condition of our suite was also notable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Goodstone Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodstone Inn & Restaurant

Address: 36205 Snake Hill Road, Middleburg, VA 20117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The blazing floor-to-ceiling fieldstone fireplace in the Great Room of the circa 1900 Carriage House amplifies the warm welcome that arriving guests at the Goodstone Inn & Restaurant have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Goodstone Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodstone Inn And Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant Hotel Middleburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.