We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goodstone Inn & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Goodstone Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
36205 Snake Hill Road, Middleburg, VA 20117   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Incredible experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I rarely, like never, write about properties, and like everyone they are usually in the extreme cases. Well this is the extreme and its extremely amazing. Goodstone blew me away. We went for our anniversary and I don't know where to begin. The grounds are out of central casting in terms of the quintessential American farm. A river runs through it. Cows, horses. Red barns. Trees, fields. They even built a 3-mile trail to traverse the 200 acres. Then the facility itself was gorgeous. There are many guest houses but we stayed in the main complex and the room was beautiful. It used to be a stable and now its this wondrous guest house. The food was to die for. Exquisite. Local. Amazing. To think this place is 45 mins from DC. I will definitely be back. Thank you Goodstone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    18
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
137
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westmont, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

went on a 3 day short vacation to this inn. was very surprised at how inviting it was. we used a social living coupon and were greatly pleased at how it was accepted. dinner one nite at the inn was great, but I must accept the fact it was rather expensive. we had rack of lamb very good but not an entire rack. the souffle was terrific and so terrific that I had another the next nite. I would love to go back again but would do it on another coupon. breakfast was included and a very good value.

Room Tip: read the room explanations carefully as the rooms are placed around the 200+ acres in guest houses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I just returned from Middleburg on Saturday afternoon.
Over dinner we planned our next trip there. That was our fourth or fifth.
We stayed in The Bull Barn which is a world unto it's own.
We are returning in December for twice the time we just spent there.
Among other things, the food is out of this world! If you have never experienced a meal by Chef Walden, I cannot tell you what you have missed.
The sommelier, Dave Saavedra, is one of the finest.
Service in all areas, outstanding. The staff goes out of their way to ensure your total satisfaction.
Do yourself a favor and go! Beauty and fine food await you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We heard about Goodstone from Living Social. The pictures looked lovely online, but I was still wondering if the pictures just captured the "best of," while editing the less attractive. Turns out there IS no less attractive here. It was simply the most beautiful place I've ever seen. I couldn't stop taking pictures of the French Farm Cottage, both inside and out. The landscaping, the views of the grounds, the interior - all so beautiful. The service was excellent, dinner and breakfast the best I ever had. The pool was gorgeous. We would go back in a minute if funds and time would allow. We had a perfectly romantic stay.

Room Tip: I really wanted to stay in the Bull Barn, but the Leith Room was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldwide Traveler
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We really wanted to find a retreat away from DC that we could enjoy for weekends to come. This is NOT the place.

We had found this place using LivingSocial; and made a reservation two months ago to celebrate my husband's birthday and stay in the French Cottage. We were "upgraded" to a suite in the Inn (main house), it felt more like a prison. On the main drag, we had to keep the curtains drawn as the staff and maintenance folks did their chores, so it was dark most of the time.

Upon arrival (Day 1), apparently we interrupted a meeting, and we were gruffly greeted by a man and told that the kitchen was closed. Shown our room, we ventured into town to have a late luncheon; and picked up sandwiches for a picnic dinner that evening. The first night, there was a bug crawling over the bed large enough to wake us up.

On Day 2, breakfast was horrible (burnt pancakes and mushy muffins under the eggs benedict). Refer to full review under restaurants. Based on the comments/actions of the server, it appeared as though we were interrupting the chef. Later in the day, when we went to the lobby/great room/main area to enjoy tea, we were again treated as though we were an unwelcomed interruption (the 3rd time in less than 24 hours). It appeared that there was a meeting in progress, and the participants stared at us and abruptly left the area in a huff. Our room was tidied, but water or makeup removal pads were not replenished in the room. We cancelled our dinner reservation because we were treated so coldly; and did not wish to "interrupt" the chef again that day.

Upon departure (Day 3), we were grunted (NOT greeted) at upon arrival in the main room, so we didn't even attempt breakfast. Upon checkout we were never asked "how was your stay?", but were handed our bill and a note to leave comments on this site. On a positive note, the cookies and scones at mid day are wonderful; and the grounds are delightful to hike.

Wish that we had experienced the stays that others have written about. But based on our experience, it is clear to me that this Inn in resting on it's laurels of days past, and would suggest finding another place to rest your head while in this area.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie C, Public Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
We deeply regret that you had an unsatisfactory experience at Goodstone. We apparently got off to a bad start with you and it never got better. We apologize.

Mark Betts,
Owner & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I brought my parents here for the weekend and we absolutely loved it. Even though it is only about an hour's drive from DC, it feels so far away and is very peaceful. We stayed in one of the cottages so it was very private. It was so nice for the four of us to share a kitchen and living room so we could all hang out (the freshly baked chocolate chip cookies in the cottage were an added treat). We enjoyed walking around the property and just relaxing. We toured some wineries around the area and this was a great place to come back to after a long day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn Sunday, July 12 to celebrate our 34th anniversary. Because we could only stay one night, we wanted to make the most of it. The wonderful staff suggested we come earlier and enjoy the wonderful brunch and then take a stroll and enjoy the grounds while our room was being cleaned. The weather was beautiful, the grounds were vast and beautiful, the brunch was excellent, our carriage house suite was quaint, cozy and clean. We spent the rest of the afternoon sipping wine by the pool and listening to the birds. On Monday, we had to leave right after our delicious breakfast but we look so forward to coming back. Thank you Goodstone staff!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Goodstone Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodstone Inn & Restaurant

Address: 36205 Snake Hill Road, Middleburg, VA 20117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The blazing floor-to-ceiling fieldstone fireplace in the Great Room of the circa 1900 Carriage House amplifies the warm welcome that arriving guests at the Goodstone Inn & Restaurant have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Goodstone Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodstone Inn And Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant Hotel Middleburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.