We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stinkbugs in the dining room and spiders in the bedroom” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Goodstone Inn & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Goodstone Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
36205 Snake Hill Road, Middleburg, VA 20117   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hunt Country Escape
Ranked #2 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Laguna Niguel, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
“Stinkbugs in the dining room and spiders in the bedroom”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

Deep in the heart of the countryside, softly rolling hills make a vista of tranquil birds chirping in the misty afternoon as we arrive.

The bull barn cottage (built 2 years ago) , which you approach by a charming curving stone pathway, is nicely landscaped with flowers.

On entering, everything looks old, on purpose. With wide plank wood floors It’s glorious to not see anyone except the view – really makes you feel as if you are in your own house – which for the night, you are.

There is a small living room with a wood burning fireplace, flat screen tv hidden behind a cabinet, and adjoining wet bar with complimentary water and soft drinks, with leather upholstered chaise lounge and easy chair.

The wood throughout the cabin is the lowest grade of knotty plank, rough and mostly unfinished “reclaimed” wood which really just means old boards lying around, used instead of grade A plank I suspect to save money.

A cozy bedroom with the only king sized bed out of all the accommodations on property. Tiny closet. The bed sits up high with a firm 14” thick mattress and thin duvet.

2 sleeping pillows, one of which is king sized and one of which is standards size, neither with a pillowcase protector, and instead of the 100% goose down I have come to expect with luxury boutique hotels , both extra-firm foam which is rock hard.

The bathroom has heated floors, a wonderful Jacuzzi tub with a generous surround by a 3 sided window niche that looks out upon an inviting hammock in the yard, double copper sinks, and a two headed steam shower with a seat. Heaven.

Amenities are tiny at 1.18 ounces.
Towels are very soft and delightfully very thick.
Bathrobes are semi-soft, coming to 3” above my wrists and 3” below my kneecaps.

The bull barn is compact, and you have to edge your way around the furniture carefully so as to not bang your shins or ankles.

I cannot find any stationary or postcards in the book describing the Inn.

At night, I smash a spider by my bed, and another big crunchy bug by the nightstand.

Dinner - the food was very good.

Except that during the course of the meal, there were six stink bugs that I brought to my waiter's attention on the inside of the french door windows. Ick. Gross.
And to be told "well, we're in the countryside" as though that makes it okay or understandable?

No, it's not okay. I've been in luxury boutique properties in ranches in Santa Barbara, CA., the mountains of Colorado and Idaho, and in the lowcountry of South Carolina without any bugs in the dining room or bedrooms.

For $600 per night before tax, was it worth staying here? If there hadn't been all of those various creepy-crawlies, I'd have said yes. But there WERE there, and that makes me say no.

Oh, and the basement room in one of the buildings is one that they never rent out - because it is supposed to be haunted. Another ick.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesRBluntJr, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
“We’d like to express our gratitude to the writer for her numerous compliments about the inn and our restaurant. Stinkbugs (an inadvertent import to the US from Asia 10 years ago with no natural predators) are primarily a Mid-Atlantic regional phenomenon. The reviewer was here at a time when suddenly warmer temperatures were causing the insects (harmless to humans) to become more active and, also, when we were just in the early stage of implementing a comprehensive, 6-point program to combat the stinkbug problem on the estate. At this point in time we have completed the program and are happy to report that the situation is now under control. James Blunt, Guest Services Manager”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    16
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
129
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Tranquil setting , with beautiful accomodations! Exceptional staff , at all levels . Special kudos to chef , Willaim Waldon ( food was extraordinary ! ) , and server , Ken ( attentive , helpful ) ; most especial kudos to James Blunt ( Guest Services Manager ) who was always present , offering suggestions on enjoying the property , and its ammenities !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

I lived in Middleburg for 10 years. Staying at the Goodstone was like going home with "whipped cream and a cherry on top!" While we had dinner plans, the breakfast was incredible. I had an elegant, thin omelet brimming with flavorful mushrooms and gruyere. My beau said his "eggs bennie" were the best ever. The setting is beautiful and private and the management is both warm and respectful of one's privacy. We can't wait to go back!

Thanks. Leslie and Robert

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesRBluntJr, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Thanks very much for your flattering review. We do get lots of compliments on the chef''s Eggs Benedict. The Goodstone Inn & Estate's resident hens produce several dozen freshly laid eggs each day which we collect and then use in the kitchen to create transcendent, farm-to-fork culinary experiences. We look forward to your return visit in the near future. Very truly yours, James Blunt, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011 via mobile

We just got back from a Wonderful weekend at Goodstone! It is truly a hidden gem! We loved the privacy and seclusion of being in the country. It was so peaceful and relaxing. Everything is top notch, the cottages are beautiful, the cuisine is delicious, and the property is gorgeous! We loved relaxing in the hammock and highly recommend the picnic! We will definitely be back soon!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

I'm stunned after reading some of the 2010 reviews of the Goodstone. Everything was perfect for our stay - especially the service. The property is fabulous, tea/dinner/breakfast were all wonderful. We stayed in the Bull Barn Cottage and it could not have been more comfortable, cozy. It was a very special and romantic treat. The Bull Barn is spacious - bedroom, sitting area, bar area and a huge bathroom. The shower has multiple shower heads and steam...I didn't want to leave the shower. Did I mention the heated floors, jacuzzi tub, double sinks? Or the tea roses on the window sill next to the tub looking out on the hammock? Or the bottle of wine, chocolate chip cookies and fridge stocked with beverages? All complimentary, of course. Or the Bose CD player complete with several CDs to select? But wait, I forgot the fireplace and the wood all ready for a fire. Such wonderful touches. Oh, one last one - the reclaimed barn boards used inside the cottage - perfect. As far as dining - we just wished we had more time because there were too many meals! Tea, dinner and then breakfast (plus all the goodies in our cottage)...we needed another day. If you are looking for a very special way to celebrate or to just get away, look no further - the Goodstone is the place. We will return!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesRBluntJr, Guest Relations Manager at Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Thank you very much for your complimentary review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here so much. Yours and other recent reviews are a gratifying reflection of the commitment that our owner and the entire staff have made over the past year to improve and maintain consistently high service levels across the entire guest experience spectrum. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Goodstone Inn & Estate in the very near future.
Sincerely, James Blunt, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Though we live only an hour away in Northern VA, we'd only been to Middleburg once before. The Goodstone Inn is a gem where you feel yourself relax upon entrance. The food was amazing (the blueberry pancakes for breakfast were to die for) and the views breath-taking. The Inn is located 5 minutes outside of the center of town, and is a short drive away to shops and restaurants.

We were there with several other couples and very well accomodated throughout our stay. We will definetely come back again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Without question, one of the most beautiful properties in the mid-Atlantic region. 265 acres of deep rolling meadows and creeks. The staff is expert, unpretentious, and incredibly warm. Details take center stage here. The landscape (every acre of the 265) ...is absolutely stunning. The historic dwellings are well separated for the ultimate in privacy, yet proximate to everything you will need during your stay. The ammenities in the houses/ rooms are extremely well thought out. From the steam showers and personal spas, to the raw antiques and huge wood burning fireplaces. You will be greeted with surprises your entire stay- I promise you.

Having dined here, the food can be described as deep, natural, and flavorful. Fantastic wines, decadent desserts, and a service staff that is exemplary in demeanor. The people here are amazing. From the executive staff, the spa therapists, to the groundskeepers. Really, really good people who are vested in their establishment put forth their best here... and it shows.

You should realize this amazing piece of property is completely absent from traffic, noise, and light. It is almost deafening late at night. You can see stars to down to the horizon here. A stay at Goodstone is without question, most highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Goodstone Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodstone Inn & Restaurant

Address: 36205 Snake Hill Road, Middleburg, VA 20117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The blazing floor-to-ceiling fieldstone fireplace in the Great Room of the circa 1900 Carriage House amplifies the warm welcome that arriving guests at the Goodstone Inn & Restaurant have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Goodstone Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodstone Inn And Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant Hotel Middleburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodstone Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.