We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely off the beaten path” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chrysalis Vineyards

Chrysalis Vineyards
23876 Champe Ford Road, Middleburg, VA 20117
540 687 8222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 activities in Middleburg
Type: Wineries
Attraction Details
Keyser, West Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Definitely off the beaten path”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Our first impression was the ride out to Chrysalis - maybe it was the recent heavy rains, but it was a really rough ride, with many washouts, gullied shoulders, and meeting oncoming traffic is a match of nerves. Our poor car really wished we had driven an SUV instead. Once there, the grounds are relaxing and spacious. Tasting includes more choices for the money than the other wineries we visited, nice logo tasting glasses to keep, and the staff were approachable and very personable. No snobbiness here, but we also didn't find a wine that we liked well enough to buy. The grounds would be a great place to bring a picnic and enjoy a nice day.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    6
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“Never again. Ever.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

This winery was extremely disappointing. Rude customer service from start to finish. Wines were boring and lackluster. I have never cared to dump out tasting sizes before, but here most of them saw the bucket. Our group had to split up because no children, even infants in strollers, are allowed in the tasting area. This would be less annoying and more understandable if dogs were also not allowed over there, especially ones that are fighting with each other. Definitely will not be returning.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great time had by all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Busy Sunday beautiful afternoon, but greeted by friendly staff and ordered the reserve tasting. Went to tasting area and full, but easily heard. Tasted wines and asked questions. Some wines were very good and to our liking, others not so much. Fair prices. Went in and bought our favorite (regular chardonnay, not reserve) and enjoyed sitting at a barrel table and enjoying the outdoors. Dog friendly and people playing (e.g. catch with football and frisbee). Nice time, friendly people, and will return. Odd they had flushable port-a-johns for bathrooms. They were very warm in the 80+ sunny day.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience and Great Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We came to Chrysalis on a whim and are so glad that we did. We paid for the $10 reserve tasting and enjoyed every wine we tasted. Not being big wine experts, we really learned a lot from our great tasting guide; not only about wine, but also about the history of the grounds as well. All of the staff were incredibly friendly and we left with our souvenir wine glasses and several bottles of wine, which were quickly consumed :-)

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Winery - Norton Grapes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Since our visit was taken just after the heavy snow and melting was taking place, the long road up to the vineyard in our senior center bus was pretty wet and muddy, so I recommend better weather for a visit if your car isn't in good shape. Once there, one can appreciate the wonderful, large grounds and all of the activity taking place. We enjoyed a great wine tasting and our facilitator was very friendly and knowledgeable. For $5, one can keep the glass and can taste 7 wines--white, rose, semi-sweet, and red. Small crackers are provided and water to rinse out the glass, if needed. A tasting sheet is provided so notes and favorites can be written down. Bottles are available from $14-35.00. After the tasting, visitors can either eat/drink more or walk over the grounds. We were informed that cheese and other products would be a new offering in the near future, since the facility has barns, etc. available for housing the cows and supporting the new additional products.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chrysalis Vineyards also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Chrysalis Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chrysalis Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.