We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best overall winery experience I have ever had.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chrysalis Vineyards

Chrysalis Vineyards
23876 Champe Ford Road, Middleburg, VA 20117
540 687 8222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 activities in Middleburg
Type: Wineries
Attraction Details
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best overall winery experience I have ever had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The totle says it all. I am the first to say everyone has different wine taste and preferences but I thought all but one of their wines were great. This is one of the few wineries have been to that really tells you about their winery, thier process ideas and historical info about the grapes. You will see from other postings they have a family area for folks with kids. This is a GREAT idea and it is just as large if not larger than the general area with tons of picnic tables reserved for families. If you bring kids thats fine but remember this is an adult activity not an amusment park. I found the staff extra friendly, efficient considering the huge memorial day crowd, and very helpful. Wine prices are great, and while the food they offer is a little high thats what you expect when you buy your snacks from any winery. The good news is they are happy to have you bring your ouw food and even provide two large built in gas grills you can use to cook your own food. Pete, the wine tasting guide did a fantastc job. For my next wine tasting day i will definitely plan my day to end here and bring late lunch.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    6
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good Wines But Everything Else Needed Updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

What to say about a winery that feels like it was built 13 years ago with a limited budget. We have been in a lot of tasting rooms and this experience was memorable but not for any of the right reasons. One person did the tastings, answered the phones, sold wine, and numerous other tasks that needed to be done. The tasting took forever to be completed, in fact one group asked to just have the wines poured and forget the conversation about the wines as they were on a schedule. The feel of the tasting room was just that of a second rate winery. Good thing that the wines were actually good, otherwise the time spent at the tasting would have been a complete waste. Try the wines if you get a chance but unless you have time to burn avoid the tasting room.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
402 reviews 402 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Relaxing Afternoon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I visited Chrysalis on a Sunday afternoon. Their tasting room is very small, so on the weekends, they have several areas set up in their barrel room for tastings that run every 15 minutes. When we went for our tasting, we saw several large groups, but our group was only two couples. Tom took care of us and he was very knowledgeable of the history of the winery and the wines. We tasted eight wines in about 45 minutes. Afterward, we went back to the tasting room and purchased cheese, salami, French baguette and bottle of wine for a picnic. Since it was cold outside, we waited for a table to free up inside. It was a very relaxing afternoon.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and some nice wines”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We've been to Chrysalis several times over the last few years. The grounds are very nice and we usually have a good time at the tasting. Our experience with the tastings is that they are quite long. Probably owing to the long list of wines for tasting and, if they didn't take a long time most folks would have had too much wine just from the tasting. (unless you are a confirmed spitter and dumper, but I haven't seen too much of that at Virginia wineries).

The wines are good. To our experience, they aren't remarkable or great as some Virginia wines are. We do usually find a wine that is good enough to enjoy while taking in the grounds and some food and just enjoying the atmosphere. I know some people are commenting on the kiddie area. We view this area as a positive rather than a negative. We have kids, we didn't bring them and we wish you didn't either. But since you did, it nice that there is a way for us to not have to experience a day at the winery with your children. We like the grill too and actually came well enough prepared once to cook on it. It worked very well and we enjoyed a special treat on our day out.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A summer place--not a winter place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We got off work early on a Friday afternoon and decided to take a drive in the country and hit a winery or two. We had been to Chrysalis in the summer--live music, community barbeque grill, lots of patio space, several wine tasting areas outdoors, picnic tables, nice views.

We did a tasting ($10 each) of the regular wines including their "big reds." Our server was a young girl who gave the deadpan description of each wine, clearly bored, and never asked us a single question to engage us in conversation. Where you from? Do you like this wine? Nada.

Although we're not wine snobs (we have an open mind about trying wines from around the world) we know that Virginia wines are just not that darn good. The winery scene is growing, the quality is improving as they continue to find grapes that stand up to less than ideal growing conditions compared to California, Australia, Europe, Chile, and Argentina. I say wine scene, since visiting wineries is now a big tourist thing in the summer, including renting limos and vans for touring around to several wineries, often batchelorette themed.

I'm sorry but a $29 Viogner and a "big red" for $35, better compare to some CA offerings available locally, or we're just not buying.

Also, Chrysalis doesn't have any indoor tables, or even an outdoor space with gas heaters. So, after our tasting, we just walked outside, looked at the view and left.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chrysalis Vineyards also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Chrysalis Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chrysalis Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chrysalis Vineyards to your Saves list