We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting and some nice wines” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chrysalis Vineyards

Chrysalis Vineyards
23876 Champe Ford Road, Middleburg, VA 20117
540 687 8222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Activities in Middleburg
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and some nice wines”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We've been to Chrysalis several times over the last few years. The grounds are very nice and we usually have a good time at the tasting. Our experience with the tastings is that they are quite long. Probably owing to the long list of wines for tasting and, if they didn't take a long time most folks would have had too much wine just from the tasting. (unless you are a confirmed spitter and dumper, but I haven't seen too much of that at Virginia wineries).

The wines are good. To our experience, they aren't remarkable or great as some Virginia wines are. We do usually find a wine that is good enough to enjoy while taking in the grounds and some food and just enjoying the atmosphere. I know some people are commenting on the kiddie area. We view this area as a positive rather than a negative. We have kids, we didn't bring them and we wish you didn't either. But since you did, it nice that there is a way for us to not have to experience a day at the winery with your children. We like the grill too and actually came well enough prepared once to cook on it. It worked very well and we enjoyed a special treat on our day out.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    19
    7
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A summer place--not a winter place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We got off work early on a Friday afternoon and decided to take a drive in the country and hit a winery or two. We had been to Chrysalis in the summer--live music, community barbeque grill, lots of patio space, several wine tasting areas outdoors, picnic tables, nice views.

We did a tasting ($10 each) of the regular wines including their "big reds." Our server was a young girl who gave the deadpan description of each wine, clearly bored, and never asked us a single question to engage us in conversation. Where you from? Do you like this wine? Nada.

Although we're not wine snobs (we have an open mind about trying wines from around the world) we know that Virginia wines are just not that darn good. The winery scene is growing, the quality is improving as they continue to find grapes that stand up to less than ideal growing conditions compared to California, Australia, Europe, Chile, and Argentina. I say wine scene, since visiting wineries is now a big tourist thing in the summer, including renting limos and vans for touring around to several wineries, often batchelorette themed.

I'm sorry but a $29 Viogner and a "big red" for $35, better compare to some CA offerings available locally, or we're just not buying.

Also, Chrysalis doesn't have any indoor tables, or even an outdoor space with gas heaters. So, after our tasting, we just walked outside, looked at the view and left.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The scenery is absolutely beautiful and they seem to do a nice job of timing the tastings so there's always one about to start. The person running the tasting was knowledgable and responsive to questions. The wine didn't really do it for me (the Sarah porch wines in particular were much to sweet) but it was a nice day with good friends in a lovely setting so I can't complain too much :D

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntersville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wine tasting fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Best wines and best prices we found. The only winery that gave us a souvenir glass and a bag for our wine.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Worth the trip -- local winery with nice facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We visited Chrysalis on an overcast Friday at mid-day. We were hoping for a sunny day and fall foliage, but the winery was a nice stop anyway. It is a couple of miles down a gravel round not far from Aldie Virginia. There were two young woman staff members in the tasting room, with only us and two other couples, so we had a nice leisurely tasting experience. They offer two choices - a $5 tasting of about 7 wines and a $10 reserve tasting of at least a dozen wines (we chose this latter option, which we recommend).

The first wine on the tasting list was an Albarino (usually from Spain -- I had not seen it in the US, but it was quite good, at $24 per bottle). The second was a Viognier, which they are known for. The also had a couple of 2.5% sweet wines (we do not care for sweet wine) and an interesting series of red wines. One of the staff told an engaging story about the history of the Norton grape.

Outside, although it was a grey day, we wandered around a bit. There is a nice outside seating area and a picnic area. The picnic area is marked as the "family area." I have seen a couple of prior reviews remarking about the lack of facilities for children. Frankly, we go to wineries to enjoy an adult experience and we would not be interested in a tasting at a winery where there were little kids running around -- this is just a personal preference. There is a pond down below and you can look down on the actual winery building, where they were busily wheeling barrels in and out.

I have visited several of the Loudoun County area wineries, and this one compared favorably with Tarara, which is another of our favorites. We have enjoyed our visits to Napa and Sonoma, but there are more local wineries now that are worth a look, and Chrysalis is one of them.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chrysalis Vineyards also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Chrysalis Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chrysalis Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.