We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A summer place--not a winter place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chrysalis Vineyards

Chrysalis Vineyards
23876 Champe Ford Road, Middleburg, VA 20117
540 687 8222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Activities in Middleburg
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A summer place--not a winter place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We got off work early on a Friday afternoon and decided to take a drive in the country and hit a winery or two. We had been to Chrysalis in the summer--live music, community barbeque grill, lots of patio space, several wine tasting areas outdoors, picnic tables, nice views.

We did a tasting ($10 each) of the regular wines including their "big reds." Our server was a young girl who gave the deadpan description of each wine, clearly bored, and never asked us a single question to engage us in conversation. Where you from? Do you like this wine? Nada.

Although we're not wine snobs (we have an open mind about trying wines from around the world) we know that Virginia wines are just not that darn good. The winery scene is growing, the quality is improving as they continue to find grapes that stand up to less than ideal growing conditions compared to California, Australia, Europe, Chile, and Argentina. I say wine scene, since visiting wineries is now a big tourist thing in the summer, including renting limos and vans for touring around to several wineries, often batchelorette themed.

I'm sorry but a $29 Viogner and a "big red" for $35, better compare to some CA offerings available locally, or we're just not buying.

Also, Chrysalis doesn't have any indoor tables, or even an outdoor space with gas heaters. So, after our tasting, we just walked outside, looked at the view and left.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    18
    7
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The scenery is absolutely beautiful and they seem to do a nice job of timing the tastings so there's always one about to start. The person running the tasting was knowledgable and responsive to questions. The wine didn't really do it for me (the Sarah porch wines in particular were much to sweet) but it was a nice day with good friends in a lovely setting so I can't complain too much :D

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntersville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wine tasting fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Best wines and best prices we found. The only winery that gave us a souvenir glass and a bag for our wine.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Worth the trip -- local winery with nice facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We visited Chrysalis on an overcast Friday at mid-day. We were hoping for a sunny day and fall foliage, but the winery was a nice stop anyway. It is a couple of miles down a gravel round not far from Aldie Virginia. There were two young woman staff members in the tasting room, with only us and two other couples, so we had a nice leisurely tasting experience. They offer two choices - a $5 tasting of about 7 wines and a $10 reserve tasting of at least a dozen wines (we chose this latter option, which we recommend).

The first wine on the tasting list was an Albarino (usually from Spain -- I had not seen it in the US, but it was quite good, at $24 per bottle). The second was a Viognier, which they are known for. The also had a couple of 2.5% sweet wines (we do not care for sweet wine) and an interesting series of red wines. One of the staff told an engaging story about the history of the Norton grape.

Outside, although it was a grey day, we wandered around a bit. There is a nice outside seating area and a picnic area. The picnic area is marked as the "family area." I have seen a couple of prior reviews remarking about the lack of facilities for children. Frankly, we go to wineries to enjoy an adult experience and we would not be interested in a tasting at a winery where there were little kids running around -- this is just a personal preference. There is a pond down below and you can look down on the actual winery building, where they were busily wheeling barrels in and out.

I have visited several of the Loudoun County area wineries, and this one compared favorably with Tarara, which is another of our favorites. We have enjoyed our visits to Napa and Sonoma, but there are more local wineries now that are worth a look, and Chrysalis is one of them.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Va
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Horrible customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Went to the Norton and Bluegrass Festival. A band didn't show up (it happens) and Chrysalis never even made an announcement. Left everyone just sitting there in silence until a customer finally hooked up some recorded music. They kept selling tickets and more people came it to no music. Never an explanation or apology, much less a refund. Terrible service. I talked to a group of wine club members who were very angry and embarrassed. By the way, the scenery is outstanding, but the wine is meh. Much better wine in the area.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chrysalis Vineyards also viewed

 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Chrysalis Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chrysalis Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.