We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine tasting fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chrysalis Vineyards

Chrysalis Vineyards
23876 Champe Ford Road, Middleburg, VA 20117
540 687 8222
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #3 of 13 activities in Middleburg
Type: Wineries
Attraction Details
huntersville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wine tasting fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Best wines and best prices we found. The only winery that gave us a souvenir glass and a bag for our wine.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    5
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Worth the trip -- local winery with nice facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We visited Chrysalis on an overcast Friday at mid-day. We were hoping for a sunny day and fall foliage, but the winery was a nice stop anyway. It is a couple of miles down a gravel round not far from Aldie Virginia. There were two young woman staff members in the tasting room, with only us and two other couples, so we had a nice leisurely tasting experience. They offer two choices - a $5 tasting of about 7 wines and a $10 reserve tasting of at least a dozen wines (we chose this latter option, which we recommend).

The first wine on the tasting list was an Albarino (usually from Spain -- I had not seen it in the US, but it was quite good, at $24 per bottle). The second was a Viognier, which they are known for. The also had a couple of 2.5% sweet wines (we do not care for sweet wine) and an interesting series of red wines. One of the staff told an engaging story about the history of the Norton grape.

Outside, although it was a grey day, we wandered around a bit. There is a nice outside seating area and a picnic area. The picnic area is marked as the "family area." I have seen a couple of prior reviews remarking about the lack of facilities for children. Frankly, we go to wineries to enjoy an adult experience and we would not be interested in a tasting at a winery where there were little kids running around -- this is just a personal preference. There is a pond down below and you can look down on the actual winery building, where they were busily wheeling barrels in and out.

I have visited several of the Loudoun County area wineries, and this one compared favorably with Tarara, which is another of our favorites. We have enjoyed our visits to Napa and Sonoma, but there are more local wineries now that are worth a look, and Chrysalis is one of them.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Went to the Norton and Bluegrass Festival. A band didn't show up (it happens) and Chrysalis never even made an announcement. Left everyone just sitting there in silence until a customer finally hooked up some recorded music. They kept selling tickets and more people came it to no music. Never an explanation or apology, much less a refund. Terrible service. I talked to a group of wine club members who were very angry and embarrassed. By the way, the scenery is outstanding, but the wine is meh. Much better wine in the area.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Award winning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

One of many of the great vineyards Virginia has to offer. Their Norton and Viognier is worth the trip alone. These grapes do very well here in the Eastern U.S. Staff is friendly and helpful and they have events through the year.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven Corners, Virginia
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Nice Scenery, Many Restrictions for Children”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was there with few of my friends who have very young kids to celebrate their wedding anniversary. The road there from the main road is through a long dirt road that will leave your car white with dust. The surrounding view is expansive and is probably the only nice thing about it. The place was somewhat empty, but we still had to argue to setup our picknicking under a tent because benches don't have any rain cover and tents are reserved for "tastings" only. Eventually they made us move to a different area with no tents as soon as the weather improved. Not a very relaxing experience, especially when you have children present.
Now a little about their wine. Personally, I think almost all of it is overpriced. All bottles, except one, are $30. I tried three whites and found them to be too "sour" to my taste. I stuck with reds, but me friends seem to enjoy their entire line up. Personally, I think you can get a better deal and experience elsewhere in NoVA. Considering the drive from DC and the above experience I probably will not be making the trip there anymore.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chrysalis Vineyards also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Chrysalis Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chrysalis Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.