We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welbourne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Welbourne
Save
You added Welbourne to your Saves list
22314 Welbourne Farm Ln, Middleburg, VA 20117   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Fairview PA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

We have been enjoying the Welbourne Bed and Breakfast for ten years so far. It is in the middle of 'Horse Country', and there's no reason you shouldn't be able to relax there. The town of Middleburg is charming, and the area restaurants are all good. If you like wine tasting there are plenty of wineries to choose from. Another winning vacation!

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
22
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

We have been coming to Welbourne almost every year on our anniversary for the past 25 years -- in fact we spent the first 2 nights of our honeymoon there 25 years ago. We just got back from our 25th anniversary trip. Still just as wonderful and romantic as ever. We are aware that its "faded elegance" is not everyone's cup of tea, but for us, it is just so wonderfully comfortable and nice to be out in the countryside, away from cellphones, the internet and all the other trappings of a modern urban lifestyle. The best thing about Welbourne is the most wonderful breakfast anywhere in the world. Scrambled eggs, bacon, grits, fried tomatoes, and homemade biscuits!!!! The Morisons, the proprietors, are among the finest people anywhere on earth. We hope to keep going back there for at least the next 25 years!

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2006

I have just read the other reviews and agree with them wholeheartedly. I, too, have come to this property since I was young, every few years over the past 25 years (introduced to the home by my father). The hotel holds a special place in my heart - the beauty of that region of Virginia, the southern hospitality that overflows from the owner, his family and his staff. You could swear the house is still haunted by the families who have lived there and the History the house has seen (it is pre-Revolutionary, I believe). I cannot recommend this B&B Enough - best apple butter I've Ever had, friendly horses & dogs, nearby antiquing, and, most of all, peace, natural beauty, and ambiance to satisfy the most discerning tastes. Please note, this is Not a five star hotel, but it holds the charm of a B&B that is exactly Not a 5 star; a wonderful, old, established B&B.

  • Liked — The beauty of the region, the history of/at the property.
  • Disliked — Far from things to do if you start to get bored.
  • Tips/Secrets — Find out what events - Jazz, equestrian - and restaurants you can go to.
  • Stayed May 2002, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2004

The first time I stayed at Welbourne, I arrived late... nearly midnight. The overhanging branches on the graveled "sunken road" that is Welbourne Farm Road offered a sinister welcome; the first thing I heard upon alighting from my car was a soft whicker of horsey welcome -- coming from somewhere I couldn't see. I walked up onto the dark porch, narrowly missing one of several black-and-tan hounds who were sleeping soundly there, and opened the old wooden screen door -- and stepped back into history. I've been there probably half a dozen times since, and every time I go anywhere else in or around Middleburg I'm disappointed that it's not Welbourne. I've stood on the bridge at the bottom of the property, gazed into Goose Creek and fought with valiant young soldiers in a bitter war ... I've walked the acres behind the ruined barn and fed carrots to the retired horses who roam the acreage... I've lain in big beds in drafty rooms and waited for the ghosts of Gallant Pelham and John Mosby to come visiting ... I've enjoyed the Morisons' friendly hospitality and the wonderful breakfasts dished up by the staff. Every time, it refreshes my soul. Just thinking about it now, I want to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2004

Spent the majority of my life in the hotel/restaurant business both domestically and internationally - been staying at Welbourne for 35 maybe 40 years - still in the same family - no televisions in the rooms - I tell no one where I am, just want to escape from the public - great fireplaces, good restaurants nearby (have reviewed some for United and American Airline magazines) - love the annually Goose Creek Jass and Ragtime party (the first Monday after Labor Day every year) and the Middleburg Stickball League (Sundays) - this is peaceful escapism......good for the soul!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2004

My husband and I have been going to Welbourne for many years. I think of it as my "other" home. We have stayed in just about all of the rooms in the main house and one of the outbuldings, too. We have been there in all of the seasons, even the hottest of hot summers, and always enjoy our stay. The Morison's, 8th generation owners and innkeepers, make one feel at home the moment one arrives. They are so helpful when you want to travel around the countryside, and tell you the best places to see and how to get there. The delicious full breakfasts each morning are exquisitely served on silver platters and the fried tomatoes are out of this world! The scenery around Welbourne and Welbourne itself will take you away to a gentile time when there was more time to enjoy the surroundings. Each time we leave, we feel we are leaving our family. We have never stayed anywhere else in that part of Virginia.

  • Stayed January 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2003

While staying at Welbourne, you may forget the 21st century and begin to think you've been transported back in
time. This is a truly authentic experience! Welbourne may be a bit run down at the edges, but your hosts, the Morisons (8th generation in an unbroken line of decendants of the original owners to own Welbourne) couldn't be more down to earth and welcoming. We slept in the room where F. Scott Fitzgerald stayed.
Many illuminaries have visited this mansion, the oldest part of which dates to the mid-18th century. The house is surrounded by hundreds of acres of farmland, which is home to more than 80 horses boarded at Welbourne stables. Enjoy a renewing walk around the farm and explore the remnants past generations have left behind. You'll be joined by one of the many canine residents of Welbourne on your outdoor adventure!

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welbourne

Address: 22314 Welbourne Farm Ln, Middleburg, VA 20117
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Welbourne Hotel Middleburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.