We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Virginia is alive and well” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welbourne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Welbourne
Save
You added Welbourne to your Saves list
22314 Welbourne Farm Ln, Middleburg, VA 20117   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
williamsburg, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Old Virginia is alive and well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

If you want to enjoy the charm and grace that once defined The South, in general, and Virginia, in particular, come to Welbourne. "Faded elegance" is the description offered by your host, the genteel and engaging Nat Morison, who owns the plantation, and is the great-grandson of Col. Richard Dulany, commander of the 7th Virginia Cavalry, C.S.A. Col. Dulany founded the Piedmont Hunt in 1840, seving as its Master before and after The Late Unpleasantness. He oversaw the 1830s expansion of the Manor House, which greatly enhanced the original 1770s stone structure. Although Nat's description is certainly accurate, I prefer to tell folks that Welbourne has acquired a certain " patina of gentility". It is unique, much like its owner. Both are historic gems, complete with all the charming quirks you can imagine. Nat runs the plantation as a sort of retirement home for horses, where they are free to roam hundreds of magnificent acres in the heart of Virginia Hunt Country. Nat's love for his horses is both genuine and obvious. He also loves his dogs, ALL dogs, actually, and does not countenance their being told "NO!" for any reason, whatsoever. With names such as "Galatoire", " Atticus", and "Scout", they not only greet you upon arrival, they also join you on the expansive front porch, of an evening, where Nat holds court with wide-ranging discussions over bourbon, the Nectar of The South, or lesser drinks, if you are so inclined, or don't know any better. Anyone might appear to participate in these intriguing chats, just as Tom Wolfe and Scott Fitzgerald have in years past. My wife and I can't wait to meet Nat's wife, Sherry. She avoids the heat of summer, apparently fearing an attack of...The Vapors. We hope to get to know her during the winter, when Cocktail Hour(s) adjourns to the parlor, around the fireplace. After stimulating discussion and relaxing libation merge into resful sleep, you will awaken to the aroma of the best breakfast you will likely ever eat. It is worth the modest price of your room. Fine--a slight exaggeration, but only very slight. Anne, who creates these delicious dishes, is in her early 80s, the third generation to add to the legend of Welbourne. Her grits are the best I've had, and I've had more than a few. Her biscuits also rank among the finest available anywhere. After breakfast, you really should move a bit. Walk the hills and fields. Take a dip in Goose Creek. Share an apple or sugar lump with the horses. Marinade in the environment of something very special, and all too rare. You owe it to yourself.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
22
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington Park, MD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

#
User Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
by Raz
05/11/2009

My husband and I recently stayed for two nights at Welbourne. Unfortunately it rained the entire time but that did not dampen our reception by the Welbourne owner, Nat. We had a fabulous time at Welbourne and were fascinated by the history of this VA historic landmark. We enjoyed meeting new people at the cocktail hour in the parlor, hosted by Nat, with the fire crackling in the background and the hound dogs basking in it's light. We felt like guests on a Southern plantation some 150 years ago. Breakfast was homey but elegant using family china and silver. But, keep in mind, the experience is authentic so floors squeak , rooms are spacious , rugs are worn, antiques are awsome, and bathroom facilities are from bygone days. A wonderful B & B.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

Stayed at the Welbourne the day before we left for the
inauguration. To say it is like stepping back in time
is a true understatement. The mansion is truly a
gem like none other. It is chock full of art, antiques, and
all types of memorabilia. It has a genuineness and warmth like
no other place we have experienced.

Found down a gravel road (6 mi from Middleburg VA) lined with stone walls amid horse farms. The owner, Nat, boards horses and started the first horse "retirement" farm in the area.

Nat is a truly gracious gentleman. He left us a note to meet
him in the parlor for drinks at 6:30. He arrived, built us a
fire and we sat and talked and had the best time. He then left us
alone (the owners live in back).

In the morning you arrive in the dining room and are hand served a delicious, full breakfast off a silver tray. It was so elegant.

Do not worry about the previous post - "Beware" - the inn is so casual - I can see how a check may have been misplaced. Nat asked us to leave the money in a desk drawer. How many places are like this? I would much rather have an honor system experience where you are trusted - than to have an owner who runs credit cards and asks for ID and has a zillion warnings around - to do this or not do this.

Wonderful, relaxing, charming experience. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Warm, friendly, historical, environment
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2007

We stayed for a second time at Welbourne for two nights this past October.

The year before we had stayed for just one night, but when we made reservations this year we were encouraged to stay two nights as it was "leaf changing time" in October.

Welbourne is truly a trip back in time and we had a nice stay. An old-fashioned breakfast in the dining room on lovely china is a treat.

We even got directions from our hostess to go to see the original Welbourne, now a ruin about 5 miles from the present Welbourne including the family cemetery.

We planned to return again next October.

The innkeepers are welcoming people and incredibly gracious to allow strangers amongst their treasures.

Unfortunately there was an unpleasant contretemps involving their losing the check we left for payment, the loss being accompanied by the rather ungracious demand for another check.

The matter has been worked out, but we will never stay there again.

  • Liked — Old furnishings, sense of history.
  • Disliked — A problem was handled poorly.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview PA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

We have been enjoying the Welbourne Bed and Breakfast for ten years so far. It is in the middle of 'Horse Country', and there's no reason you shouldn't be able to relax there. The town of Middleburg is charming, and the area restaurants are all good. If you like wine tasting there are plenty of wineries to choose from. Another winning vacation!

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

We have been coming to Welbourne almost every year on our anniversary for the past 25 years -- in fact we spent the first 2 nights of our honeymoon there 25 years ago. We just got back from our 25th anniversary trip. Still just as wonderful and romantic as ever. We are aware that its "faded elegance" is not everyone's cup of tea, but for us, it is just so wonderfully comfortable and nice to be out in the countryside, away from cellphones, the internet and all the other trappings of a modern urban lifestyle. The best thing about Welbourne is the most wonderful breakfast anywhere in the world. Scrambled eggs, bacon, grits, fried tomatoes, and homemade biscuits!!!! The Morisons, the proprietors, are among the finest people anywhere on earth. We hope to keep going back there for at least the next 25 years!

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2006

I have just read the other reviews and agree with them wholeheartedly. I, too, have come to this property since I was young, every few years over the past 25 years (introduced to the home by my father). The hotel holds a special place in my heart - the beauty of that region of Virginia, the southern hospitality that overflows from the owner, his family and his staff. You could swear the house is still haunted by the families who have lived there and the History the house has seen (it is pre-Revolutionary, I believe). I cannot recommend this B&B Enough - best apple butter I've Ever had, friendly horses & dogs, nearby antiquing, and, most of all, peace, natural beauty, and ambiance to satisfy the most discerning tastes. Please note, this is Not a five star hotel, but it holds the charm of a B&B that is exactly Not a 5 star; a wonderful, old, established B&B.

  • Liked — The beauty of the region, the history of/at the property.
  • Disliked — Far from things to do if you start to get bored.
  • Tips/Secrets — Find out what events - Jazz, equestrian - and restaurants you can go to.
  • Stayed May 2002, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welbourne

Address: 22314 Welbourne Farm Ln, Middleburg, VA 20117
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Welbourne Hotel Middleburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.