We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and Quirky one of a kind experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welbourne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Welbourne
Save Saved
You added Welbourne to your Saves list
22314 Welbourne Farm Ln, Middleburg, VA 20117   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Monterey, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Lovely and Quirky one of a kind experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This place is truly a gem! Friendly owners with a house full of history and interesting people. I am not sure if they do it every night but on the weekend nights we stayed, they host a cocktail hour in the sitting room with a nice warm fire, attended by guests at the inn, the owners, tenets of the various out buildings on the property and a few random locals who stop by to chat.
The Inn is family friendly which is a rare find in the B&B world. The rooms a very spacious and clean with wonderful historic furniture. If you ring little ones be sure to pop in to your room first and move all the lovely breakable antique nicknacks. Sherry and Nat (owners) have toys for kids and are very welcoming. Breakfast is very good!
I will say if you are looking for a five star full service resort style accommodation this is not it. There are plenty of those around the area. This is an amazing house where you will meet very interesting warm people and go home planning your next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    6
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
22
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We just returned from a lovely stay at the Welbourne! Nat and Sherry could not be more hospitable and delightful to be with! They offer true Southern hospitality! The house has lots of character and is steeped in history and the grounds are beautiful and wonderful to explore! What a treat to stay with these wonderful people in this special place! Jen and Bill

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Staying at Welbourne is a unique experience, and my husband and I have enjoyed many visits there. Hounds greet you in the driveway and horses graze in the pastures behind the inn. The house has lots of history and charm, and antiques abound. Its a step back in time. Breakfast is delicious and elegantly served, and the hosts are delightful and make you feel like old friends. Cocktails are served each evening, where conversation is always interesting and the company enjoyable. However, if you like modern amenities, this is not the place for you.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We spent Halloween night in Welbourne B&B. The house is a very old family home with character and charm. The place was full that night and the Morisons hosted a cocktail party on the evening of arrival for all guests. It was held in the library, a cozy and attractive room. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was a delicious full breakfast served in a lovely dining room served by a maid on very attractive china with sterling silver flatware. It was most generous of the Morisons (the owners) to provide all that. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and we recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Central Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at Welbourne twice this year: once in June and once in September: my husband and I, my son in law, daughter and a 7month then 10 month old granddaughter. Both times we were comfortable, entertained and enriched :-) Nat & Sherry are wonderful personalities. The charm of the house is the cherished past history in furnishings and ancestors. Our rooms were spacious, the breakfast was MORE than we could hope for, the ladies in the kitchen are wonderful and wonderfully talented, and Happy Hour on the front porch is an experience all in itself. LOVE this place. This could easily be a yearly tradition for our family.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

A wonderful place to go and unwind. It is full of history and stories and modern day innkeepers and staff who make you feel that Welbourne belongs to all who visit.
The breakfast is delicious and keeps on coming, the women who staff the kitchen are lovely.
You won't want to miss the cocktail hour on the veranda, as this is when you hear the interesting stories of the guests and innkeepers and get to know the dogs by name.
I wouldn't say you're going to a bed and breakfast, I'd say you're going for the Welbourne experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I feel nourished and renewed after a wonderful weekend at Welbourne. The completely authentic and sincere innkeepers and staff made a wonderful home into a wonderful experience. The homes faded elegance is endearing and comfortable, its easy to feel as if you "belong"here. I'd read many reviews before I decided on Welbourne for a planned girls weekend/reunion and you always worry about others' experiences and opionions being on par with your own...well, let me tell you they were spot on, you WILL feel as if you are family, there are no pretentions here, only genuine hospitality, (I've traveled and lived many places and genuine hospitality is rare these days). The breakfast was completely worthy of all the raving reviews as was the cocktail hour complete with great conversation and a warming fire. I went with a group of friends from HS that hasnt been able to get together for a few years, we had the best time staying up late catching up well past midnight ,having our own extended cocktail hour in our pjs! Probably the most fun for my group was discovering all the nooks and crannies in the home, at every turn there is something else wonderfully fascinating to explore!! My advice, you must go!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welbourne

Address: 22314 Welbourne Farm Ln, Middleburg, VA 20117
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Welbourne Hotel Middleburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.