We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Country Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welbourne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Welbourne
Save
You added Welbourne to your Saves list
22314 Welbourne Farm Ln, Middleburg, VA 20117   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Country Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have visited Middleburg and Welbourne before, but had never spent a night in the beautiful house. My boyfriend and I decided to attend the Middleburg Christmas Parade and Hunt Review the first weekend in December and spent two lovely nights at Welbourne. Driving down the gravel road and turning into the main entrance, you feel as if you are stepping back in time. Drive up slow, as you are usually gleefully greeted by the many resident dogs!

Only about an hour from DC, you feel completely transported to a different era at Welbourne. A scrumptious sit down Southern breakfast is served at 8:30. Loved the fried tomatoes! And cocktails are held in the parlor at 7:00. Sipping bourbon next to the fire while the dogs slept at our feet…I didn’t want to leave for the dinner reservations we had made in town!

Our room was spacious and comfortable with our own fireplace that we eagerly lit each night. It made the retreat all the more romantic. Along with attending the parade in town, we also strolled the grounds and visited the retired horses who reside at Welbourne.

Nat and Sherry are lovely hosts and you always feel welcomed into their home. Be sure to engage Nat in conversation at cocktail hour to hear the fascinating history of the house!
Welbourne is a unique place to stay. If you need all the modern conveniences and television this may not be the place for you. But for history buffs, animal lovers, and for a true taste of Southern hospitality…Welbourne is the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
22
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lusby, MD
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We’ve been traveling to the Middleburg area for 20+ years and finally found this B&B gem with gracious Southern hospitality and genuine historical charm. All the rooms are large and feel more like luxury suites. Nothing is “updated” – it is the original eight generation family home. The early morning silence is only broken by one of the hounds “singing.” Excellent, high quality Southern breakfast (eggs, grits, bacon, fried tomatoes, biscuits) with beautiful china and silver. The dogs usually come bouncing in with Sherry, who takes great interest in every guest. She also lights the candles. You don’t even miss television when you can engage Nat in a conversation at cocktail hour. (Be sure to tell him New York City and New Orleans are your favorite places). And if you need to arrive late (after 8pm), Joshua and Amanda will be there to greet you. Always an interesting mix of relatives, guests, and even celebrities (met a BBC World News presenter). One of the few places you can bring your dog and/or smoke indoors. (Your dog may not want to leave)
No radio, television, hot tub, jacuzzi or wi-fi available. Cellphone/GPS signal may fade before you get there. Potential ghostly encounters with previous ancestors or Civil War invaders.
Welbourne is featured in a number of books and is on the cover of “Old Plantations and Historic Homes Around Middleburg, Virginia: And the Families Who Lived and Loved Within Their Walls” (2003) by Audrey Windsor Bergner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Vermont
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

A visit to Welbourne will provide a very memorable experience. Welbourne's history and welcoming hosts(Nat & Sherry) cannot be matched by other inns. You will have the opportunity to step back to an earlier time and catch a glimpse of Welbourne's rich history. JEB Stuart and John Mosby knew Welbourne. Enjoying cocktails with Nat, along with his family and friends is a lot of fun. I greatly appreciated Nat's stories about some of the home's history. If you ever wondered what it would be like to stay at an historic plantation owned by a family member, reserve a stay at Welbourne. As a bonus, you can play with the hound dogs and visit the horses. If you are seeking luxury accomodations, choose another option. Stay at Welbourne if you are searching for history and southern hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I've been to Welbourne perhaps 8 or 9 times now with my dogs. The inn has been in the same family for 240 years! You can't find that kind of commitment and dedication to a bed and breakfast anywhere else. The stewardship of this property has been a family concern since before the USA existed. And the inn reflects that family connection with its relaxed and rustic elegance. Many who visit here become regulars, not only because it's a great value, but also because Nat and Sherry radiate the comfort of the family sensibility. Also, over time you get to hear the stories, invoking the spirit, importance and heart of this historic home.

Other inns treat you like a guest. At Welbourne, you're welcomed into Nat and Sherry's home and extended family. There's a subtle difference between the two, but it's germinal to why your soul gets called back to Welbourne time after time. While most B&Bs serve breakfast, Welbourne also serves cocktails each night where other property residents and neighborhood friends gather to meet guests. And, adding to the history and stewardship of the home, breakfast is prepared by two generations of ladies whose connection to the property goes back into their family as well. This isn't a situation where someone has excitedly purchased a property to become an innkeeper. The connection goes WAY deeper at Welbourne and it's felt and seen in every detail. This is no sterile, perfect environment decorated to look authentic. It's an authentic, lived in family home.

Rounding out the Welbourne experience is the extensive property. Over 500 acres of horse-filled pasture leads to a wide creek about a mile away, still on the property. On any given weekend, there will be 8 or 9 resident dogs roaming the property, all of whom are friendly. My dogs ADORE this place, not just for the pack camaraderie, but also because they get to roam free and just be a dog here. In fact, that's highly encouraged by the innkeepers. As a dog lover, that's an important part of the experience for me.

Welbourne is perfect for a romantic getaway, a family gathering, a wedding, a spiritual retreat or just a getaway from city life. The silence and starry skies here feed the soul. If you don't love dogs, don't come. But if dogs make you smile, so will Welbourne.

Room Tip: I travel with two dogs, so I prefer "my room", aka the Fitzgerald Room. It is a wing of it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Our visit to Welbourne was one of the most special trips that we have ever made, and the lasting beauty and hospitality we experienced here will forever stay with us. From the second you turn down the long driveway and the beautiful grand facade of Welbourne presents itself to you for the first time, you realize that not only are you taking a step back in time, but that this visit will be unlike any other you have ever had. Welbourne isn't perfectly manicured, prim and proper. But she is 100% genuine, charming, historically amazing and simply, beautiful. My wife, and two children enjoyed having free reign of the house and the horse farm which is home to 100 horses and sits on more than 500 acres of rolling pastoral hills along the banks of the Goose Creek. And as if the home and setting weren't enough, we were graciously and warmly welcomed in by the family who has called this place home for eight generations. Places like this just don't exist anymore. And if you are looking for an affordable, beautiful and relaxing retreat in an authentic Old World plantation home just an hour from Washington, look no further than this piece of history. We will be back again and again, for the rest of our lives!

Room Tip: The end room off of the library was awesome! Be aware that not all rooms have a full bath and are p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This old mansion is something out of a different era. Everything is original and historic. We enjoyed cocktail hour and breakfast very much. The bedrooms are enormous and the furnishings are original.

We would suggest that you be a dog lover, as there are quite a few pooches roaming the grounds. While such an old home has undeniable charm, the bathrooms could stand to be modernized. It can be a fantastic experience if you know what to expect.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Make sure to ask the dogs be taken in at night - barked/howled incessantly until 2:00! With minimal apology from our hostess, her subsequent response was quite rude - turning on her heel in my mid-sentence and walking away, muttering unkindly. It was our wedding anniversary - she knew this because our children had attempted (unsuccessfully) to enlist her help in delivering a bottle of champagne to our room - and we had stayed there on our honeymoon. Graciousness was not what we experienced.

Room Tip: take the term "faded elegance" seriously
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelbourneInn, Owner at Welbourne, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Deb F,

First and foremost, thank you for your review and for returning to Welbourne. We appreciate your business and your candid feedback. Please accept our humblest apologies for the dogs keeping you awake, as it is not our practice to let them out at night. It is most unfortunate that they did get out, and we can assure you that this will not happen again. Because of this inconvenience, it is important to note that as both an apology and a gesture of our appreciation for your business, we let you discount your room rate as you saw fit. We apologize if you felt that any of this attempt to make amends was at all rude--that was not our intention. We sincerely apologize for the misunderstanding. We have certainly learned a valuable lesson from this experience, and we will use your feedback as a tool to strengthen our business going forward. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welbourne

Address: 22314 Welbourne Farm Ln, Middleburg, VA 20117
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Welbourne Hotel Middleburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.