We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing trip, more amazing innkeepers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welbourne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Welbourne
Save
You added Welbourne to your Saves list
22314 Welbourne Farm Ln, Middleburg, VA 20117   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Middleburg B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
“Amazing trip, more amazing innkeepers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Welbourne recently and were extremely impressed. Nat and Sherry are one of a kind, and we fell in love with them instantly. Staying here, like other reviewers have mentioned, is a trip back in time. The "faded elegance" is endearing, and the breakfast is delicious and generous. Cocktail hour by the fire, with a visit from Bush (Nat's neighbor from Kentucky, and a character himself) and the dogs lounging in the living room was so much fun we barely wanted to leave for our dinner reservation in town. Our trip around the farm the next morning was beautiful, and I can't wait to convince Nat to take me around in his old pick-up truck when he feeds the horses the next time we come. He cares for them individually, with notes about each one on a piece of scrap paper he caries in his pocket. He is a gem, and so is Welbourne.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
22
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new york
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Spent last night here. What a great place! I'm adding a lot of pictures which should do the place more justice than my description. A wonderful old house, first built in 1770-something, and added onto for the next 60 years. Has been in the same family since that time. Hosts are very welcoming and friendly and really know the area. Highly recommended. They caution that the charm is "faded elegance". If that appeals, go enjoy! If not, I'm sure there is a Hilton somewhere nearby. You'll only be 15 minutes from some of the best vineyards and apple picking in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011 via mobile

If you or a friend are looking for a relaxed weekend I suggest that you should stay at Welbourne. There Is so much history on that plantation that you would day evening. You can go out walking on the 580 acres and see deer and retired horses. There are many nice hounds
that are the nicest that you will ever meet. I really recommend this place if you are looking for time to relax.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Quiet, peaceful, relaxing. Nat and Sherry welcomed us into their family's home that is full of history, family relics and gently used antiques. The evening cocktails took us back to a time where people lived without electricity and the Civil War was in full swing. It may have been Nat's Manhattans, but I swear there were actually Confederate soldiers camped on the lawn and a witty New Yorker talking about the absorbency of bath towels?!? Our days were spent hiking the farm, playing fetch with our lab and Nat & Sherry's hounds, reading on the porch and walking around Middleburg. It is definitely worth taking the time to explore the stunning views on the farm while visiting with the 80 retired racehorses living on the property. Outside of heavenly breakfasts at Welbourne, Hunters Head in Upperville was our favorite spot for food. Nat and Sherry were also more than happy to recommend shops and additional places to visit suited to our tastes. We highly recommend Welborne for a quiet getaway in the country.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Just stayed for three nights at Welbourne over Easter weekend and loved every minute of it. Peaceful, antique filled and very private with lots of friendly dogs. Our room was on the second floor and it was huge, light-filled and charming. Spent lots of time on the back porch filled with rocking chairs relaxing. It was like being in another century and I mean that in a good way. We loved it and hope to be back very soon. Highly recommended to the traveler who wants an escape from it all in beautiful Virginia countryside.

The only problem was trouble with the shower. It was a hand held but no shower curtain so I was afraid to spray water all over the bathroom but this is a very tiny and minor point that had no impact on our experience.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

I recently suprised my boyfriend with a trip to Welbourne for his birthday and we had the best time! First, Nat and Sherry left a welcoming note that told us to make ourselves at home and that they would see us for drinks in the parlor at 6:30. We were immediately charmed by all the paintings and books and intricate historical details that make Welbourne so charming. Our room was fabulous with a huge king bed and a real wood burning fireplace. There is plenty of wood and, as you are made to feel like family, you simply help yourself. I cannot say enough about the beautiful grounds. We were free to explore the huge farm and we were treated to a rare sight...an albino deer (we will be sending Nat the picture soon)! We also saw about 50 beautiful retired horses that abound the farm. At 6:30 the parlor came alive with a roaring fire and complimentary cocktails where all the guests chatted and got to know each other. There are no formalities and the conversation among all the guests flowed freely...thanks to Nat's charm and the dogs that joined us as well.
After dinner at the Red Fox Inn (which I highly recommend, along with their peanut soup), we returned to the Inn, and had the pleasure of meeting Nat's son and his wife. My boyfriend and I plopped down in the chairs in the parlor around the blazing fire and chatted for two hours. They offered additional complimentary cocktails and made us feel right at home. They were so gracious about sharing the history of the inn and telling fun stories of growing up around the area. To end the night, we returned to our rooms and lit the fire and fell asleep to it's crackling sound.
Breakfast was amazing! I have never wanted to nor actually have, eaten grits...until I had breakfast at Welbourne. They were terrific. The table was beautifully set with silver and the mother and daughter who cook for the inn are charming and talented! Sherry joined us for breakfast and told further stories about the inn and its history. After breakfast, we were not hurried out the door (like most places), but instead were told to enjoy the grounds-which we did by taking another walk around the beautiful grounds.
We will certainly be back to visit with Nat, Sherry, and their family.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamsburg, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

If you want to enjoy the charm and grace that once defined The South, in general, and Virginia, in particular, come to Welbourne. "Faded elegance" is the description offered by your host, the genteel and engaging Nat Morison, who owns the plantation, and is the great-grandson of Col. Richard Dulany, commander of the 7th Virginia Cavalry, C.S.A. Col. Dulany founded the Piedmont Hunt in 1840, seving as its Master before and after The Late Unpleasantness. He oversaw the 1830s expansion of the Manor House, which greatly enhanced the original 1770s stone structure. Although Nat's description is certainly accurate, I prefer to tell folks that Welbourne has acquired a certain " patina of gentility". It is unique, much like its owner. Both are historic gems, complete with all the charming quirks you can imagine. Nat runs the plantation as a sort of retirement home for horses, where they are free to roam hundreds of magnificent acres in the heart of Virginia Hunt Country. Nat's love for his horses is both genuine and obvious. He also loves his dogs, ALL dogs, actually, and does not countenance their being told "NO!" for any reason, whatsoever. With names such as "Galatoire", " Atticus", and "Scout", they not only greet you upon arrival, they also join you on the expansive front porch, of an evening, where Nat holds court with wide-ranging discussions over bourbon, the Nectar of The South, or lesser drinks, if you are so inclined, or don't know any better. Anyone might appear to participate in these intriguing chats, just as Tom Wolfe and Scott Fitzgerald have in years past. My wife and I can't wait to meet Nat's wife, Sherry. She avoids the heat of summer, apparently fearing an attack of...The Vapors. We hope to get to know her during the winter, when Cocktail Hour(s) adjourns to the parlor, around the fireplace. After stimulating discussion and relaxing libation merge into resful sleep, you will awaken to the aroma of the best breakfast you will likely ever eat. It is worth the modest price of your room. Fine--a slight exaggeration, but only very slight. Anne, who creates these delicious dishes, is in her early 80s, the third generation to add to the legend of Welbourne. Her grits are the best I've had, and I've had more than a few. Her biscuits also rank among the finest available anywhere. After breakfast, you really should move a bit. Walk the hills and fields. Take a dip in Goose Creek. Share an apple or sugar lump with the horses. Marinade in the environment of something very special, and all too rare. You owe it to yourself.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welbourne

Address: 22314 Welbourne Farm Ln, Middleburg, VA 20117
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Welbourne Hotel Middleburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.