We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped in for wine and apps” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The French Hound

The French Hound
101 Madison Street, Middleburg, VA 20117
540-687-3018
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The French Hound is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 20 Restaurants in Middleburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Federal Street
connecticut
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Stopped in for wine and apps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Cute little place and feels very french/ bistro in the bar ( although the wicker seats are tough on bare legs)
Heirloom tomatoes and house made mozzarella divine.
Hot french bread as well.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    48
    25
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great recommendation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Jo Ann at the Middleburg Counry Inn recommended The French Houdn and it did not disappoint. We could walk there. We shared an appetizer of mussels and they were awesome. Each of us had a pizza for our entree and loved them both. Service was great. Would definitely go back!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“French Hound is an oasis in Middleburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We love the whole Middleburg mystique, and The French Hound never disappoints. It is only a tiny bit off the main path and well worth finding. It has a Hunt Country slash Provencale
vibe, and if we lived in Middleburg or The Plains or Alfie or Upperville or Paris...it would always be a favorite pkace.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My gal pal and I were having a "girls day" and stopped for lunch at the French Hound in Middleburg prior to some serious shopping. It was a spectacular day and the temps were perfect, so we elected to sit outside on the small patio and enjoy the fresh air. The service was very good - attentive without being obtrusive. The food was outstanding... we started off with an appetizer of French Cornichon pickles and salami. We each had a glass of the rose, which was excellent. Then, my friend had the lobster risotto special (a light orange, citrus glaze and an abundance of sweet fresh lobster meat), and I had the ham and gruyere baguette with the frites (oh, those frites...). The sandwich was large enough that I took half home. The bread was sooo fresh and light. It was seriously an awesome sandwich. We opted out of dessert, as we planned to head to the wineries later. If I lived in this area, I'd love to come back to the French Hound for dinner. I'll bet it's precious! As it is, I would highly recommend this restaurant on every level.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upperville, VA USA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good food prepared and served by people who know what they are doing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Sunday brunch. Very good food and great wine selection. Several selections of Eggs Benedict and their variations. Attentive staff and chef/owner visited each table to check on meals.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Hound also viewed

 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The French Hound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The French Hound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.