We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The French Hound

The French Hound
101 Madison Street, Middleburg, VA 20117
540-687-3018
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The French Hound is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 20 Restaurants in Middleburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Federal Street
Virginia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Always ate elsewhere in Middleburg because the reviews here gave me pause for the prices. But after a fantastic lunch at prices no worse than say Juliens, but with a quaint atmosphere, I will go back. Not sure I'd feel the same at dinner prices, and not because the food wasnt good, but because at those prices the value proposition changes.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    47
    25
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely town, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a late lunch. The special was lobster pot pie and it was delicious!! The service was good and the place was so clean. The only thing missing in opinion was a fireplace.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, TN
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cozy French Atmoshere, Somewhat Sketchy Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stopped in while visiting family near D.C.during Thanksgiving week. We had been to the Red Fox Inn in previous years, so after spying the quaint looking French Hound a block off the main drag we headed there for lunch. My Sister-in-law had been there a few times in the past and had good experiences. There was a pretty large crowd, but the staff handled incoming guests efficiently, and we were seated at a great round table with a nice circular booth style wall bench. The atmoshpere had a French Cottage feel - nice and cozy. The menu was well put together, and my wife and I couldn't pass up the Boeuf Bourguignon which was tastey with flavors well balanced. The only slight distraction in the whole experience was our server who seemed a little distracted and a little out of place. He was unsure about the menu and when our bottle of wine arrived he used his soiled apron to assist in pulling the cork out of the bottle. He checked back during the lunch once or twice, but made us wait for some time for the check. Luckily it was a casual period for us, but we did want to get going as we had over and hour's drive to catch our plane at Dulles. The service wouldn't keep us from returning because this is a classy, plesant spot in a cool historic town, and I think maybe the holiday crowds were a factor here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
174 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A good Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had two of their lunch specials, gumbo and the lobster pot pie, both $16 each. The gumbo was very good but the lobster pot pie was excellent. Both were gone when we left the restaurant. Expensive but we would return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lunch at The French Hound: First Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I went with my wife and mom for a weekend lunch. It was a very nice experience overall. Staff were all very friendly, with the wait staff in particular being on the youthful side (not super expeirenced, but they were polite and did their job).

The food was all of a very high quality. Some parts of the restaurant were dripping with charm (we sat in a newer part of the restaurant that was nice, but sterile in atmosphere).

Prices are a bit high for lunch, but the quality was there to back it up (compared to other eateries in Middleburg).

I would give it another whirl ...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Hound also viewed

 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The French Hound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The French Hound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.