We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy French Atmoshere, Somewhat Sketchy Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The French Hound

The French Hound
101 Madison Street, Middleburg, VA 20117
540-687-3018
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The French Hound is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Middleburg
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Federal Street
Lakeland, TN
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cozy French Atmoshere, Somewhat Sketchy Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stopped in while visiting family near D.C.during Thanksgiving week. We had been to the Red Fox Inn in previous years, so after spying the quaint looking French Hound a block off the main drag we headed there for lunch. My Sister-in-law had been there a few times in the past and had good experiences. There was a pretty large crowd, but the staff handled incoming guests efficiently, and we were seated at a great round table with a nice circular booth style wall bench. The atmoshpere had a French Cottage feel - nice and cozy. The menu was well put together, and my wife and I couldn't pass up the Boeuf Bourguignon which was tastey with flavors well balanced. The only slight distraction in the whole experience was our server who seemed a little distracted and a little out of place. He was unsure about the menu and when our bottle of wine arrived he used his soiled apron to assist in pulling the cork out of the bottle. He checked back during the lunch once or twice, but made us wait for some time for the check. Luckily it was a casual period for us, but we did want to get going as we had over and hour's drive to catch our plane at Dulles. The service wouldn't keep us from returning because this is a classy, plesant spot in a cool historic town, and I think maybe the holiday crowds were a factor here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    33
    18
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A good Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had two of their lunch specials, gumbo and the lobster pot pie, both $16 each. The gumbo was very good but the lobster pot pie was excellent. Both were gone when we left the restaurant. Expensive but we would return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lunch at The French Hound: First Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I went with my wife and mom for a weekend lunch. It was a very nice experience overall. Staff were all very friendly, with the wait staff in particular being on the youthful side (not super expeirenced, but they were polite and did their job).

The food was all of a very high quality. Some parts of the restaurant were dripping with charm (we sat in a newer part of the restaurant that was nice, but sterile in atmosphere).

Prices are a bit high for lunch, but the quality was there to back it up (compared to other eateries in Middleburg).

I would give it another whirl ...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, TX
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Charming restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We went with family to The French Hound after Thanksgiving. Thankfully, there wasn't any turkey on the menu! The menu is rather small, but has a nice variety. Being from Texas, the prices to us seemed rather high but, in reality, they probably are not high for this area. The restaurant is a small inn, decorated in the style of the Virginia fox hunt country. I actually chose two appetizers for my dinner - the rustic pate and the steamed mussels. Either one alone would have been enough, if you want a smaller dinner. Both were excellent choices. We had to try the frites, which are delicious and perfect for dipping in the mussel broth. Very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The one sentence review: Delicious food, good wine and great setting.

Food: a good variety of nicely prepared dishes prepared by the chef that came out to great the guest. I am not for certain that their food is local but it is not chain standard food. But it has the charm and creativeness that comes along with a non-chain restaurant. .

Location: Perfect for lunch during a day of walking around the town of Middleburg.

Service: The owner, manager and chef are great. They could improve here a great deal on one waiter in particular. But don't let this stop you from going. Fire fast, hire slow. Poor servers can kill a restaurant.

Parking- Drive past the main entrance and you will see a good deal of parking "below" the restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Hound also viewed

 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The French Hound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The French Hound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.