We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Wine! Rude Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Linden Vineyards

Linden Vineyards
3708 Harrels Corner Rd, Middleburg, VA 22642
540-364-1997
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 activities in Middleburg
Type: Wineries
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This vineyard produces Sauvignon, Chardonnay: you can tour the facilities and taste the product.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Fantastic Wine! Rude Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

First off, TA should update the details of Linden - this winery is not in Middleburg, VA rather Linden, VA. Linden is 40 minutes away from Middleburg.

Okay here is the deal on this winery. If you are looking for the best white wine in VA - this is the place to come. I'm a case club member and their sav blacn and chard (particularly Hardscrabble) are exquisite!

Now for the negative.... the women that work here are very rude and extremely pretentious. At first I thought I was being too sensitive when I first visited Linden, however each subsequent visit I experienced the same cold treatment..... if that wasn't enough I just hoped on TA to see similar reviews regarding their service.

In sum, go for the great wine and nice back porch (open to case club members only which I think is very caste system esque and something that I loathe) but don't go expecting warm and friendly customer service.

I wish one could take the wines from Linden and hire the staff from Philip Carter or Fox Meadow to create a spectacular experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    8
    0
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best in Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

One of my favorites. Come here for calm wine enjoyment. Join the Case Club, and enjoy local Virginia cheeses. They don't allow parties larger than 6, but don't get your knickers in a twist about it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ridiculous Policy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We took a ride out Fauquier County to stop by a couple of wineries today since the weather was so nice. We had been to Linden once before and enjoyed their wines and tasting room so we decided to stop in again. It was fairly empty when we arrived and we were able to do a tasting right away. As we remembered, we liked their wine and wanted to buy a bottle to have there. When we expressed interest in purchasing a bottle, we were asked if we were case members. Since we were not members of Linden, we were told we could not stay and have any wine there. The previous time we were at winery was on a weekday during the off season so we were able to sit on their deck with a bottle and did not realize the exclusivity of Linden. Apparently on any weekend and Fridays during the summer, only case members can sit and stay. Linden offers no other options for non-members. Other wineries we have visited have member-only areas and other exclusive benefits for their wine clubs, but there has always been an option to purchase and sit for a glass or two for non-members.

In my opinion, it is bad for business to have such restrictions. I can appreciate member-only perks, but to force non-members to either buy into the club or leave seems like it would alienate more people than it would attract. There are others wineries out in Fauquier County that are more hospitable than Linden so I would recommend staying away...unless you are a member.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great wine in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We've been coming to Linden for several years, they always have great wines to taste and purchase. Selection of just a couple is typically impossible, so we end up getting a case. Highly recommend the optional cellar tasting experience where a member of the staff will explain the details of the terroir that the various wines are grown in and the process. Jim is very focused on the vineyard and it shows, not just in his produce, but in the produce of former staff whom he has influenced. We've encounter a couple former staff that now have their their own wineries and are following Jim's methods to great effect.

The tasting room itself is very pleasant and we haven't ever had to wait too long to have a tasting. They try to keep the waits down by limiting the size of groups. We always enjoy some of the bread and cheese available for purchase here while enjoying the view from the seating area.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgniia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always a Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Consistently great wines. Jim really cares about his land, his grapes, and his wine (and it shows in every bottle).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linden Vineyards also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Linden Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linden Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.