We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Swedenburg Estate

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Swedenburg Estate
23595 Winery Lane, Middleburg, VA 20117
540-687-5219
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 14 Activities in Middleburg
Type: Wineries
Activities: Wine tasting, Group tours/walking tour
Attraction Details
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
369 reviews 369 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

A lot of people went with Groupons. I'm not a fan of the wine at all it just was not my style/taste :-( Very nice people though.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    3
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Small winery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Very family focused by the owners. The place is small the wines are good.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Rude service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Wines "not all that" either. I will likely give them a try again at some point but with so many wineries out here to choose from, not in a big hurry to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Eh.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Love the fact that everything is done on site from growing to winemaking and nothing is brought in from elsewhere. A true VA winery. That said, we found the wines to be good, but not excellent. Our pourer offered us a seasonal hot mulled wine called gluhwein, which was delicious (a combination of their cabernet and petit verdot I believe, as well as some spices) and we bought one bottle of that. Pretty setting in th country, small area for tasting.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pretty location but not worth a stop”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

This winery is in a beautiful location, but otherwise the wine is mediocre and the service leaves a lot to be desired. The women who were behind the counter conducting the tastings seemed more like clerks than experts on the wine. They didn't even seem to like wine. They gave very rote descriptions and didn't attempt to engage us at all. We had to ask for the history and story behind the winery, and they looked at us like we had 2 heads when we asked for water to rinse between glasses and told us we would have to buy bottled water out of the case. Then in front of the customers they complained to each other about how someone should have trained them better on how to use the cash register. This was the 3rd winery we visited in the area that day and by far the least enjoyable on all levels.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swedenburg Estate also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Swedenburg Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swedenburg Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;