We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Tavern In Northern Virginia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Fox Inn & Tavern

Red Fox Inn & Tavern
2 East Washington Street, Middleburg, VA 20117
5406876301
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Fox Inn & Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Middleburg
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Madison
Description: Located in the quaint village of Middleburg and inspired by four centuries of Virginia Hunt Country tradition, the Red Fox embodies the Piedmont’s cultural heritage. Established in 1728, our four story fieldstone Inn and Tavern boasts hand-hewn ceiling beams, heart pine floors and paneling, working fireplaces, and walls adorned with sporting art. Join us in the heart of Virginia’s famed Hunt and Wine Country to enjoy a hearty meal in our tavern followed by a relaxing evening in one of our cozy guest rooms.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Historic Tavern In Northern Virginia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Very traditional Tavern. The lamb shank I had fell off the bone and was delicious. My spouse had pork and felt it was a bit dry. Could have used a sauce. The service was excellent and the wine list was good.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedFoxManager, Manager at Red Fox Inn & Tavern, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor! As a third generation family owned and operated business, your satisfaction is extremely important to us and your feedback is much appreciated. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the lamb shank! We will pass your suggestion of a sauce to accompany the pork to the chef. Thank you for joining us for dinner in Middleburg and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes,

The Red Fox Inn & Tavern Team
GuestServices@RedFox.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    71
    32
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Quaint building with good food. Don't know if it is the "best" restaurant in Middleburg but if I am ever in the area again I would stop again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedFoxManager, Manager at Red Fox Inn & Tavern, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor! As a third generation family owned and operated business, your satisfaction is extremely important to us and your feedback is much appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our historic building and your meal. Thank you for joining us for lunch in Middleburg and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes,

The Red Fox Inn & Tavern Team
GuestServices@RedFox.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“HIstoric building in a charming town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

In the middle of horse country and vineyards lies picturesque Middleburg, well worth the trip! Fun getaway from DC hustle! The drive is lovely, and the streets of town are fun to window shop. Lunch at the Red Fox is a possibility, too. We went for the advertised peanut soup, figuring other Colonial dishes were on the menu. Not so, to our disappointment. The menu is American burgers and salads, and the peanut soup is like wallpaper paste--thick and tasteless. The building and serving room are from 1732, so they are interesting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedFoxManager, Manager at Red Fox Inn & Tavern, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor! As a third generation family owned and operated business, your satisfaction is extremely important to us and your feedback is much appreciated. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your lunch! We will pass your suggestions about more Colonial dishes to our chef. Thank you for joining us for lunch in Middleburg and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes,

The Red Fox Inn & Tavern Team
GuestServices@RedFox.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Surprised”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Beautiful historic building. Full stop. Plastic or vinyl topped tables do not add much to the decor. Made reservations and made note of asking for the table by the fireplace but were met as if we were there on a walk in basis. Food was mediocre and prices not justifiable with value offered. I was surprised if not fully disapppointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedFoxManager, Manager at Red Fox Inn & Tavern, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. As a third generation family owned and operated business, your satisfaction is extremely important to us and your feedback is valued. We appreciate you sharing your comments and concerns from your recent visit. We are passionate about hospitality and service, and strive to exceed our guests' expectations. We have shared your comments with our staff and management team, so that we can learn from them and improve upon each. We are sorry you felt the food was mediocre and our request for a fireside table was not honored. Please feel free to contact us to address this matter further. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Wishes,

The Red Fox Inn & Tavern Team
GuestServices@redfox.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seven valleys, pa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best meal in Middleburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Had lunch with family here yesterday. Both the food and service are outstanding. Wine lovers will appreciate the selection of wines. Decor is charming. By far the best meal experience of the trip!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedFoxManager, Manager at Red Fox Inn & Tavern, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor! As a third generation family owned and operated business, your satisfaction is extremely important to us and your feedback is much appreciated. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed lunch with your family! We will pass your kind words along to our chef and staff about the meal and service. Thank you for joining us for lunch in Middleburg and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes,

The Red Fox Inn & Tavern Team
GuestServices@RedFox.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Fox Inn & Tavern also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Red Fox Inn & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Fox Inn & Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.