We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambience and history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Fox Inn & Tavern

Red Fox Inn & Tavern
2 East Washington Street, Middleburg, VA 20117
5406876301
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Fox Inn & Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 20 restaurants in Middleburg
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Madison
Description: Located in the quaint village of Middleburg and inspired by four centuries of Virginia Hunt Country tradition, the Red Fox embodies the Piedmont’s cultural heritage. Established in 1728, our four story fieldstone Inn and Tavern boasts hand-hewn ceiling beams, heart pine floors and paneling, working fireplaces, and walls adorned with sporting art. Join us in the heart of Virginia’s famed Hunt and Wine Country to enjoy a hearty meal in our tavern followed by a relaxing evening in one of our cozy guest rooms.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great ambience and history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Red Fox Inn is a wonderful restaurant where you feel like you are stepping back in time. I have eaten there at least three times and the food I'd always good. I have had brunch, lunch and dinner at the Inn. You usually need a reservation, but they can sometimes accommodate a walk in diner. The staff is very friendly and know the menu well. If you plan to spend the day at a hunt, wine tasting or antiquing, take the time to dine at the Red Fox.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    87
    58
    28
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Average I Would Say”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Went for dinner with reservations and I would say that the entire experience was not bad just average. The restaurant was nice, the food was ordinary, prices about right, the wine list was okay, the waitress was very good, as I said average would describe the experience. Nothing about the visit was memorable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very average food, and very expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The venue is ok, kind of dark and cramped. This is however not the restaurant' s main problem. The food is very very average, from appetizer to desert , for 4 we paid 170 $! I will not come back for sure and would not recommend this place to anyone. Middleburg is a very charming town though

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
323 helpful votes 323 helpful votes
“Worth the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our party of five sampled a variety of dinner dishes: duck breast, snapper, crab cakes, schnitzel with spaetzel, and beet salad--all very tasty at appropriate temperature with solicitous and attentive service. Not a place for those on a strict diet or strict budget. Impressive wine list and some interesting local beers. Picturesque Colonial decor seems authentic, as is typical for this area, with battlefields, Civil War hospitals, and horse farms.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Charming in a town without a lot of competition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a fantastic restaurant topped by an historic inn. Because of its age, the rooms are quite eccentric. The floors are creaky and very un level. The beds are good and the room is generally clean. The staff is mostly attentive. O had to remind myself that I was in a small town staying in an old inn and shouldn't expect the snap of the Ritz Carlton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Fox Inn & Tavern also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Red Fox Inn & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Fox Inn & Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.