We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming in a town without a lot of competition” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Fox Inn & Tavern

Red Fox Inn & Tavern
2 East Washington Street, Middleburg, VA 20117
5406876301
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Fox Inn & Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Middleburg
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Madison
Description: Located in the quaint village of Middleburg and inspired by four centuries of Virginia Hunt Country tradition, the Red Fox embodies the Piedmont’s cultural heritage. Established in 1728, our four story fieldstone Inn and Tavern boasts hand-hewn ceiling beams, heart pine floors and paneling, working fireplaces, and walls adorned with sporting art. Join us in the heart of Virginia’s famed Hunt and Wine Country to enjoy a hearty meal in our tavern followed by a relaxing evening in one of our cozy guest rooms.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Charming in a town without a lot of competition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a fantastic restaurant topped by an historic inn. Because of its age, the rooms are quite eccentric. The floors are creaky and very un level. The beds are good and the room is generally clean. The staff is mostly attentive. O had to remind myself that I was in a small town staying in an old inn and shouldn't expect the snap of the Ritz Carlton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    90
    64
    29
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant, Delicious Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have eaten here several times when in Virginia visiting relatives. If you are in the area and want a great, relaxed meal in a beautiful setting, this is the place. Our servers are always very nice and, as some of us have dietary issues, they go out of their way to be sure our food is just as needed. Everything we have tried (which is quite a bit of their menu items!) have been delicious and perfectly prepared. If you are a bacon lover, you must try theirs. It's awesome!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Historic and romantic, one of my Virginia favorites!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I love this restaurant in this beautiful little town. Even the drive from DC is beautiful through gorgeous horse country. My husband and I always looked forward to visiting this place. It's very cosy though not claustrophobic, and the peanut soup is excellent. It's so nice to be able to have a "favorite" place to stop while wandering the antique shops and pretty streets of Middleburg.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice trip back in time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Loved the atmosphere. The thought of eating in a place so steeped in history drew me in. We were here for Sunday brunch. I had smoked salmon Caesar salad and a crab & artichoke omelet. The salad was fresh and delicious, and the omelet was overstuffed with crab meat and artichokes! My husband had the duck spring roll and the egg & bacon burger. Again everything was cooked very well, and was very delicious. A little bit on the expensive side, but totally worth it!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
“A Very Good Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Of course, most of the other reviews mention the atmosphere or ambiance, and the Red Fox Inn certainly delivers on that. A beautiful, rustic country inn ambiance, with beamed ceilings and working fireplace, etc, create a cozy but elegant feel.

On our visit, the food was largely very good, but a couple of items were better than others. They were only serving their Valentine's (served the entire week, apparently) prix fixe menu, so options were limited, but we were, nonetheless happy with the food. Meats were of high quality and prepared to order, but lacked the "sizzle" that would have resulted in an excellent rating in the food category. Sides and appetizers were delicious and desserts were very good - the cherry crepes were top-notch. Servings were very generous, and being accustomed to DC prices, this meal seemed very reasonably-priced.

Service was very friendly, but a bit slow. Not enough to really complain a lot about it, but just enough to notice. There were a couple of noticeable delays between courses, so I think the delay was likely in the kitchen, rather than with our server. Our server was so friendly and nice, I hate to say anything at all about it, and I've already said more about it than the subject deserves, so I'll stop now.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Fox Inn & Tavern also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Red Fox Inn & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Fox Inn & Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.