We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Step Back in Time.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Fox Inn & Tavern

Red Fox Inn & Tavern
2 East Washington Street, Middleburg, VA 20117
5406876301
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Fox Inn & Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 20 restaurants in Middleburg
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Madison
Description: Located in the quaint village of Middleburg and inspired by four centuries of Virginia Hunt Country tradition, the Red Fox embodies the Piedmont’s cultural heritage. Established in 1728, our four story fieldstone Inn and Tavern boasts hand-hewn ceiling beams, heart pine floors and paneling, working fireplaces, and walls adorned with sporting art. Join us in the heart of Virginia’s famed Hunt and Wine Country to enjoy a hearty meal in our tavern followed by a relaxing evening in one of our cozy guest rooms.
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“A Step Back in Time.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

After returning to the D.C. area after three years overseas, a friend and I opted to out and explore Hunt Country (Loudoun County, VA). We decided to stop at the Red Fox Inn for lunch because of its history and their famous peanut soup. The soup was amazing, like eating liquified peanut butter. I completely understand the draw to this place. The lighting is minimal and you can just imagine some member of the founder fathers eating here with his compatriots. I also like the fact the JFK used the Tavern as a location for some of his press conferences.... Go and enjoy this little spot that time forgot....

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    89
    64
    29
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, VA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Only thing missing is Thomas Jefferson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Red Fox Inn has been one of our favorites for 40+ years. Located in beautiful Middleburg, VA on main, plenty of shopping/browsing in the neighborhood. Food is great - favorite is peanut soup or smoked duck spring rolls. Dress up or show up casual - but show up. Great stop for lunch during a sortie through the Virginia vineyards nearby. Don't leave before you try their Bourbon Pecan Pie with a double espresso.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Neck, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old World Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The experience was charming and like being swept up in an inviting warm hug. Staff were friendly and entertaining.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester, va
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely historic building - great ambiance.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have been there many times. I prefer the lunch menu - it has more casual options. The food is good and I love the ambiance. The restaurant is an old tavern with dark wood and fireplaces. The upstairs space can hold parties. In the summer, there is nice dining on the outdoor patio. Bring a sweater since it can be a little cool downstairs since it is in an old stone house, however nothing beats sitting by the fire drinking a hot cider in the fall or winter. It is a great choice for a day in the country.,

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“A Classic in Middleburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Attentive but not intrusive staff. Well prepared food. Good menu with great specials. The dining room takes you back to our colonial era.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Fox Inn & Tavern also viewed

Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Red Fox Inn & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Fox Inn & Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.