We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2722 Gallows Rd, Merrifield, VA 22180   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Merrifield
pittsburgh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Normally I stay in Arlington when visiting the capital, but we tried something different this time. The check in was flawless and parking was plentiful in the garage. The rooms were nicely appointed and were a good size. The hotel is off the highway and convenient to Washington and many places to eat and shop. There is construction going on around the hotel and looks like there will be even more to do in that area when its done.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa F, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your great feedback on tripadvisor about our Courtyard by Marriott. We appreciate the comments and our ratings on the site speak for themselves from travelers like yourself. We do have construction on both sides of the hotel currently but it is, thank goodness, not disruptive. We hope you will come back and stay with us again, maybe then you will see even more new shops and restaurants open.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    113
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
101
70
25
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Racine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Wonderful hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean and bed was very comfortable. Bistro area served a great breakfast. Offered a great place to park a small moving truck. Would definitely stay with them again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew m, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Deborah S, thank you for your positive review of our hotel. Here at the Courtyard Dunn Loring we take staff service and standards to heart, and I am happy to hear that you had wonderful experience with both. I am glad that you were able to enjoy our Bistro for breakfast as well. Next time you are visiting with us, you will have to try our Bistro for dinner. We have several delicious menu items we can recommend to you, as well as a few popular seasonal items and beverages for you to enjoy during these warm summer evenings. Feel free to try some of those out next time between 5pm-10pm. Thank you again for your positive review and I look forward to your return visit with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Clean, friendly and helpful staff, nice bistro for a quick meal or beer, good wifi - you can be sure that you're going to be alright here. I stayed two nights in a King room (yes the tv is at an odd angle but the WiFi was good and I was able to catch up with my binge watching of The Killing on Netflix so who cares!). The room was clean, the bed was comfy (Goldilocks firm!), the shower good. Breakfast (not included) in the bistro was excellent. I was hoping to get to use the pool but there was no time. Bottom line. It would have been nice if the bistro was open till a bit later (it closes at 10) but there is a bar next door to fill the gap (I was too tired to walk out, unfortunately(. Well run and convenient hotel and you can't go wrong staying there.

Room Tip: My room was quiet but perhaps away from Gallows Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The rooms and common areas were all very clean. The rooms are larger than the average hotel room. Two queen beds and a small fridge are great for a family. There was even a real balcony in our room. Typically in a hotel room, you can't even open a window; we could go out on the balcony! There are computers in the lobby for guest use, a mini market, a cafe serving Starbucks, and quiet patio areas outdoors. There is some parking outside, but most of it seems to be underground, beneath the hotel. There are many restaurants and pubs one block over which are busy and good (Lost Dog Cafe). The hotel is a little over a mile off 495 and just a block and a half from the Metro. It is located on the orange line.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here with my son on his graduation trip. He and I were in town for a tour of DC and the Barcelona vs Manchester United soccer game in 2011. The hotel is a great location, right near the Metro line. Easy to travel in and out of the city. Hotel was clean, great service, and great rooms. I would recommend it to anyone wishing to tour DC without the hassle of a car.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa F, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thanks HatterasDad!

We appreciate the positive comments and we strive to ensure our guests are happy and satisfied with their stays. We think our location is key, a block from the metro station, a large complimentary parking garage and easy access to restaurants and shops. Please make sure to stop in the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I've stayed at the Courtyard Dunn Loring on numerous occasions. It's super convenient to offices nearby, and it's also a short walk from the Dunn Loring/Merrifield Metro that can take you into downtown Washington, DC. Other pluses for this hotel include an indoor pool, and mini market inside the hotel, and a cafe that serves Starbucks coffee.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, definitely get a room away from the elevators and ice machine. Also ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew m, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. It is always nice to receive comments from a guest who has stayed multiple times and continues to be pleased with our amenties and our service. You indicated in your review that you really enjoy the indoor pool, the market area, and our Bistro which proudly brews and serves Starbucks coffee. We take pride in knowing that amenties like these are the reasons you continue to stay with us here at Courtyard Dunn Loring. Maybe on your next visit you can add something tasty and refreshing to eat from our Bistro to go along with the coffee! See you soon and thank you again for your stay and your wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Traveled here for a business trip. It's a nice Courtyard and the staff was friendly and helpful. The best part of my stay was actually after I left. I realized I left my sonic toothbrush of all things in my room. I called and spoke with Melissa at the front desk. She went to check and promised to call me back within 10 minutes. Five minutes later, she had found my item and was having it sent to my home. Thank you, Melissa, for being such a conscientious employee and helping guests even after they're gone!

One thing to note is that there is a lot of construction in the area (next door). It didn't affect me, but may be a consideration for others.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax

Address: 2722 Gallows Rd, Merrifield, VA 22180
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Merrifield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Merrifield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax Hotel Vienna
Courtyard Dunn Loring Fairfax
Courtyard Hotel Vienna
Courtyard Vienna
Vienna Courtyard
Vienna Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.