We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with unmotivated staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2722 Gallows Rd, Merrifield, VA 22180   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking & Wi-Fi
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Merrifield
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with unmotivated staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel is a great option for people visiting DC, the metro station is only a five minute walk away. We stayed here for 3 nights and the rooms were lovely and clean. The lobby was nice and the free underground parking was great. The staff did their job well but I didn't feel very welcomed as they felt like just going through their routines.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments about the hotel and staff. I appreciate the good and the bad and we will certainly address the staff issues you experienced. We hope to see you again when you come back to Fairfax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    116
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
103
72
25
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was our second stay at the Courtyard Dunn Loring. We were happy that the service and accomodations were even better than our first visit about a year ago. The hotel is about 1 block from a Metro station and 2 blocks from stores and restaurants.
The hotel is clean, employees are helpful and friendly and the Bistro serves an excellent breakfast. The room is not huge, but certainly big enough for two people to comfortably dress and sleep in. The furnishings appear new and tasteful.
I think that this may be one of my favorite hotels for either business or pleasure. Really happy to recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the Metro side. There is lots of construction going on over there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My fiancee took a long weekend to the DC area since we had never been. If we are ever traveling to a big city, we prefer to stay a little bit outside of the town to avoid paying the high city prices for parking, food, lodging, etc. Of course since we are staying outside of town we look to find somewhere that is close to public transportation to make it easy for us to get in and out of the city. As others have said this hotel is right next door to the Dunn Loring metro station that takes you right into DC.

As for the hotel itself, we were in a King suite on the top floor and it was everything that we could have asked for. VERY well updated room and a comfortable bed as well. WiFi was very fast.

The only thing I could have asked for to make the trip better would have been a free breakfast included in the rate. They have a bistro on site that you can either pay extra per night to use, or you can use it as a buffet and pay for what you purchase.

All in all, if we make it back to DC we will absolutely stay here again. We booked about two months out and got the amazing rate of $71 a night. Make sure if you know you're going to be making a trip to book this place early!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here for a quick overnight after a Nats game. The hotel is one block from the Metro. We avoided some DC traffic by staying at this hotel, which is at the next-to last stop on the orange line of the Metro. Hotel is a couple of miles off I-495 coming up from VA. Getting to the ballpark is about a 35 minute ride with a change to the green line at L'Enfant. Parking is free. The weekend rate was $78.

This is a very nice Courtyard, well designed. I particularly liked the design of the bathroom, which had a seat built into the back of the shower, and a wide sink counter that had room to accommodate both a cosmetics bag and a shaving kit. Bed was comfy. Room would work well for a business stay.

Staff was uniformly very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast does NOT come with room, but the onsite bistro offered a good reasonably priced breakfast (~$10). Also, there is a small canteen in the lobby. We split a pint of Eddy's ice cream ($6).

Negatives: fan in room made a LOT of noise, No magnifying mirror in bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville,TN
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed for one night on a return trip from NJ/NYC to Knoxville, TN visiting my son in Falls Church. Nice place. Close to Metro station. New restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. We usually stay at Courtyard Fair Oaks but wanted to try this location. Much newer and up to date. NOTE: I used a "free" night certificate so the cost was not an issue. Has a gated parking garage with an elevator direct to floors.

Room Tip: Walk over to the Lost Dog Cafe for a cold one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
It's great to hear you were able to try out some of the great new restaurants surrounding the hotel. Next time you are visiting try out Blackfinn Ameripub right next to the hotel as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, North Carolina
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you are going to No. Va. to see the sights in Washington DC, this is your hotel. It is a one block walking distance to the metro.
Restaurants are an easy drive away. There is an Asian market nearby if you need to pick up snacks, beer, wine etc.
The rooms are nice. Housekeeping does a fine job..There is free parking for your car. They have a nice outside sitting area.
The only draw back was that there is no hot tub. There used to be one, but it has been removed. There is a lifeguard.

Room Tip: We usually ask for the top floor, just to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, PA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Came to town for the Paul McCartney concert at Nationals Park. Knew we were going to spend the night in the area because driving 3+ hours back home after the show is not something we wanted to do. So, looked for proximity to DC, cost, Metro access & a pool if possible.

This hotel had it all...
Pros:
We pre-paid and got a room rate under $80.
ZERO Parking Fee (Park in Garage under hotel)
About 10 miles from DC
Walk to Dunn Loring Metro stop (about a block away)
Computers in the lobby to use
Indoor Pool
Comfortable bed

Only Con: (and it's minor)
Pool only open 5-10pm M-F (10am-10pm Sat-Sun)

We didn't eat at the hotel, except for getting a snack once getting back from the concert - but, my experiences at Courtyard's for breakfast are generally pretty good. The reason we didn't, is we tried to save where we could and ate at the Dunkin Donuts less than a block away.

Having easy access to the Metro was huge, since it runs til 3am on Fri & Sat nights. And, saved us quite a bit in time and money. Parking for the concert at Nationals Park was anywhere from $40-$50. Round trip by Metro for 2 was around $20. I'm also sure we got back to the hotel before some got out of the garage.

The next day we took the Metro back into DC to walk around, left the car at the hotel, then when we were done seeing DC, hopped back on the Metro, got the car and headed home.

After just one night, there's no question, the next time we come to the area, we're going to look here first.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax

Address: 2722 Gallows Rd, Merrifield, VA 22180
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Merrifield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Merrifield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax Hotel Vienna
Courtyard Dunn Loring Fairfax
Courtyard Hotel Vienna
Courtyard Vienna
Vienna Courtyard
Vienna Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.