We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Courtyard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2722 Gallows Rd, Merrifield, VA 22180   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Merrifield
Summerfield, North Carolina
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Nice Courtyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you are going to No. Va. to see the sights in Washington DC, this is your hotel. It is a one block walking distance to the metro.
Restaurants are an easy drive away. There is an Asian market nearby if you need to pick up snacks, beer, wine etc.
The rooms are nice. Housekeeping does a fine job..There is free parking for your car. They have a nice outside sitting area.
The only draw back was that there is no hot tub. There used to be one, but it has been removed. There is a lifeguard.

Room Tip: We usually ask for the top floor, just to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    113
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
100
69
25
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, PA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Came to town for the Paul McCartney concert at Nationals Park. Knew we were going to spend the night in the area because driving 3+ hours back home after the show is not something we wanted to do. So, looked for proximity to DC, cost, Metro access & a pool if possible.

This hotel had it all...
Pros:
We pre-paid and got a room rate under $80.
ZERO Parking Fee (Park in Garage under hotel)
About 10 miles from DC
Walk to Dunn Loring Metro stop (about a block away)
Computers in the lobby to use
Indoor Pool
Comfortable bed

Only Con: (and it's minor)
Pool only open 5-10pm M-F (10am-10pm Sat-Sun)

We didn't eat at the hotel, except for getting a snack once getting back from the concert - but, my experiences at Courtyard's for breakfast are generally pretty good. The reason we didn't, is we tried to save where we could and ate at the Dunkin Donuts less than a block away.

Having easy access to the Metro was huge, since it runs til 3am on Fri & Sat nights. And, saved us quite a bit in time and money. Parking for the concert at Nationals Park was anywhere from $40-$50. Round trip by Metro for 2 was around $20. I'm also sure we got back to the hotel before some got out of the garage.

The next day we took the Metro back into DC to walk around, left the car at the hotel, then when we were done seeing DC, hopped back on the Metro, got the car and headed home.

After just one night, there's no question, the next time we come to the area, we're going to look here first.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Drove to the Courtyard Marriot Dunn Loring Fairfax, Vienna, DC from CT. Parking in enclosed gated Garage and felt very safe. Parking Garage opens with room key. Has a nice small indoor pool that I always passed and saw people swimming - did not have time to take a dip. Best of all it's walking distance from the Metro if your with Family planning to make the downtown DC visit - Parking would have been expensive (anywhere from $25 to $50) and crazy in downtown. Room was always kept absolutely clean by service staff and we got a good 3 night's rest (2 nights reserved on way to Myrtle Beach - 1 night on way back to CT from Myrtle Beach). We were on the 7th and 9th floors which were great - nice view from the room - could even see fireworks on July 4th from our room. Got the reservations from Hotels.com for $79 a night (non-refundable reservations). They did seem to have good food available for room service or eating down - but I did not have the opportunity to do that... always ate out. Also had a market place to buy stuff from vending machines - if you get desperate. One night I noticed that the Garage door kept opening when trying to close. So don't leave your car open just because it's in the garage.

Room Tip: Just look for the deals - non-refundable reservation prices are hard to beat. $79 a night and we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights recently and I think it was an excellent and sensible choice especially if you have a vehicle and are touring DC.  The parking is free which is a rarity as you move closer in to the City.  This hotel offers a great compromise in value and proximity to DC.  It is located in a nice, safe area that is only about 300 yards from the Dunn Loring Metro stop.  It takes 20-25 minutes on the Metro to get into the City.  There is a nice new Dunkin Donuts about 200 yards to the south and plenty of stores and restaurants within a short drive.  The rooms are typical nice Courtyard and seem to be well insulated.  The front desk crew was friendly enough.  Here's my only caution ... the parking is indeed free.  There are about a dozen spots outside and the rest of the spots are in a parking garage. I was driving an SUV with a roof top carrier.  It did not fit in the parking garage.  Fortunately we used the Metro most of the time and I was able to secure an outside parking spot, otherwise I would have been out of luck.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have stayed in DC many times on business but never for pleasure with my family. I chose this hotel because of its easy access to the Metro and free parking. It was a great choice. It was by far the best value I have ever had in, or around, DC. We chose a king with a sofabed since we had our grandson with us. The room was great-even the sofabed was comfortable. It was very hot and humid during our visit and the air in room was dry and comfortable. We stayed for five days and never heard a sound from other rooms. The free breakfast was a Bistro where you could make your own breakfast choices. The quality of the food was very good. The free parking was easily accessible. All of the staff we encountered were very friendly, well trained, and accommodating. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I love this place. It was an unexpected gem. Interesting, lively furnishings and decor. Comfortable, lots of conveniences and helpful staff. Had a really nice breakfast. Metro is right next door. Tons of nearby restaurants and Wolftrap is about five miles away. My only negative comment is that they use too much "carpet fresh" in the room and the smell was overwhelming, especially with my allergies.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times before and every trip there leaves me with a good impression. The staff is friendly, courteous, and helpful. The rooms are clean, modern, and well-kept. The internet is free and fast. The bed always sleeps well. The hotel has a secure parking facility underneath with no charge for parking. Metro is across the street with an easy 15 minute ride into DC. I recommend this place for anyone visiting DC considering the cost for a room here and a Metro ticket is much cheaper than a hotel in DC any day.

Room Tip: If you a sensitive to noise, ask for a room facing away from the metro station as there is ongoing c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax

Address: 2722 Gallows Rd, Merrifield, VA 22180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Merrifield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Merrifield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax Hotel Vienna
Courtyard Dunn Loring Fairfax
Courtyard Hotel Vienna
Courtyard Vienna
Vienna Courtyard
Vienna Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.