We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great DC Option!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2722 Gallows Rd, Merrifield, VA 22180   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Merrifield
Norman, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great DC Option!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights recently and I think it was an excellent and sensible choice especially if you have a vehicle and are touring DC.  The parking is free which is a rarity as you move closer in to the City.  This hotel offers a great compromise in value and proximity to DC.  It is located in a nice, safe area that is only about 300 yards from the Dunn Loring Metro stop.  It takes 20-25 minutes on the Metro to get into the City.  There is a nice new Dunkin Donuts about 200 yards to the south and plenty of stores and restaurants within a short drive.  The rooms are typical nice Courtyard and seem to be well insulated.  The front desk crew was friendly enough.  Here's my only caution ... the parking is indeed free.  There are about a dozen spots outside and the rest of the spots are in a parking garage. I was driving an SUV with a roof top carrier.  It did not fit in the parking garage.  Fortunately we used the Metro most of the time and I was able to secure an outside parking spot, otherwise I would have been out of luck.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    113
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
100
69
25
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have stayed in DC many times on business but never for pleasure with my family. I chose this hotel because of its easy access to the Metro and free parking. It was a great choice. It was by far the best value I have ever had in, or around, DC. We chose a king with a sofabed since we had our grandson with us. The room was great-even the sofabed was comfortable. It was very hot and humid during our visit and the air in room was dry and comfortable. We stayed for five days and never heard a sound from other rooms. The free breakfast was a Bistro where you could make your own breakfast choices. The quality of the food was very good. The free parking was easily accessible. All of the staff we encountered were very friendly, well trained, and accommodating. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I love this place. It was an unexpected gem. Interesting, lively furnishings and decor. Comfortable, lots of conveniences and helpful staff. Had a really nice breakfast. Metro is right next door. Tons of nearby restaurants and Wolftrap is about five miles away. My only negative comment is that they use too much "carpet fresh" in the room and the smell was overwhelming, especially with my allergies.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times before and every trip there leaves me with a good impression. The staff is friendly, courteous, and helpful. The rooms are clean, modern, and well-kept. The internet is free and fast. The bed always sleeps well. The hotel has a secure parking facility underneath with no charge for parking. Metro is across the street with an easy 15 minute ride into DC. I recommend this place for anyone visiting DC considering the cost for a room here and a Metro ticket is much cheaper than a hotel in DC any day.

Room Tip: If you a sensitive to noise, ask for a room facing away from the metro station as there is ongoing c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while visiting Washington, DC. We loved everything .... location, service, quality, and value! Upon checking in (which they gladly accomodated although we were early), we parked our car and did not move it again until we checked out. Every staff member was friendly and helpful. The facility is updated and clean. Their small restaurant (bistro) serves breakfast and dinner. We added the breakfast option ($10/night) to our room charge and it was a great deal! The food and service were good, reasonably priced (we ate dinner there one night), and convenient. There are also a few new eating options within walking distance (subs, doughnuts, sit-down restaurant). The Metro station is a short one-block walk, which made travel to D.C. very convenient. We took the orange-line straight to Federal Triangle (White House) and Smithsonian (National Mall) without having to switch lines. We will surely stay here again and highly recommend it to others traveling to the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is really a nice hotel. The property is immaculate and everyone is very friendly and helpful. We stayed here for 4 nights, while visiting family in the area, and we found our room very comfortable.

I felt that we got a lot of value for our money and that we made a good choice. We will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel over Father's Day weekend. The hotel is located next to a metro stop. For anyone wanting to visit the Washington D.C. area and not pay the rates in the city, this offers an affordable alternative. You can stay at the hotel and walk across the street to access the DC metro. The rooms are clean and very well kept. Free wireless internet is also included in your rate. The front desk was efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax

Address: 2722 Gallows Rd, Merrifield, VA 22180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Merrifield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Merrifield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax Hotel Vienna
Courtyard Dunn Loring Fairfax
Courtyard Hotel Vienna
Courtyard Vienna
Vienna Courtyard
Vienna Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.