We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE ROOM AND LOCATION” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2722 Gallows Rd, Merrifield, VA 22180   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Merrifield
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“NICE ROOM AND LOCATION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

If you're on vacation, or even here on business, this is a nice hotel. The Dunn Loring Metro stop is right across the street from this hotel which means you can leave your car parked in the underground garage and take the Metro to nearby DC, Maryland, VA locations. When coming to the area you can take the Metro from Reagan National Airport or from Amtrak Stops at New Carrollton or Union Station and walk across the street to this hotel. The rooms are very comfortable. We had a king bed, a/c, and a HD Flat-screen tv. The rooms have a fridge, nice baths and come with irons and hairdryers. Since our last stay, the Dunn Loring area has been built up. There is now a good restaurant within a very short walking distance -- Black Finn's. There is also a Dunkin Donuts nearby as we found the coffee supplied for the rooms was somewhat weak. A few minor complaints : No channel lineup cards are in the rooms to tell you what the different channels are. Also, the pool hours are geared more towards business travelers rather than those of us who stay there on vacation --- the hours are 5 p.m.--10 p.m. on weekdays. On weekends the hours are 10 p.m.-- 10 p.m. and there are no dedicated "adult swim" hours allowing times for adults to have their own time in pool without having to be worried about getting splashed by children. And last, the hotel used to have a wonderful hot tub. This was great to relax in but they recently have done away with it. They had the former hot tub area blocked off with yellow tape and you could see where they had recently filled it in. The next time we're in town if we can get a hotel that has a hot tub for the same rate, or close to it, we would go to there for that amenity alone. As I said, only minor complaints. A very good hotel and yes, we would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    113
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
101
69
25
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesex
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Found this to be a comfortable and friendly hotel. All the staff I met were helpful and polite. I was working on business and we had some kit delivered which they stored until our arrival. We drove into Georgetown on a Sunday and it took 20 minutes. I believe that traffic can be bad on other days but the Orange Metro line is a short stroll from the hotel (we would have used this but there were engineering works on the line). The hotel is pretty new, there's free parking and free wifi. All in all a great stay, thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your review! It's great to hear that our staff took good care of you while in Northern VA. We hope to see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

we chose this hotel for the location, right on the doorstep of the metro. check in was fast. we went to our room which was on the 4th floor nice room large enough with a sofa and large tv. there was no breakfast included, but in the reception there was a small café or a small shop where you could buy food and pop it in the microwave provided. we walked down the road to a small shopping area, where there was a silver diner a bit on the dear side but breakfast set us up for the day. there are no other facilities at the hotel which was fine as we were to tired to use them on our return from a day in DC.

Room Tip: all rooms seemed to be ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for the great review. Next time you are with us, you should check out our Bistro just off the hotel lobby. We serve a great breakfast, offer Starbucks coffee and specialty drinks and serve a light dinner and cocktails every evening. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

As others have said, this is a great place to use as a home base for touring DC, particularly if you are on a budget. The rates were reasonable for Northern Va., and it was a nice bonus to have free parking (that's not easy to find). The hotel is just across the street from the Dunn Loring Metro stop. Unfortunately for us, that stop was closed the day we were there, but the hotel staff was very helpful is telling us how to use the shuttle bus system to get to the first Metro stop that was open at that time. Our room was fine and the beds were very comfortable. I'll never quite figure out why the Marriott chain decided to not include a free breakfast at the Courtyard units, but other than that, this place was great. I'm sure we just caught the Metro at a bad time, so as long as the Dunn Loring stop is open, you can get to almost anywhere you want to go from here and then come back to a comfortable and quiet room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluff City, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here due to the location to the metro. We did not want to have to drive into DC while we were there. With the hotel being across the street from the metro we were at the perfect staging location.

We had rooms on the 6th foor. Very comfy beds. There was only a slight amount of outside noise that carried into the room. Nice flatscreen tv in the room. The bathroom was clean and spacious.

The front desk was very helpful in finding local resturants we could try that were close to the hotel.

We will stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just finished a week long trip to the DC area. Though I now live in NYC (used to be a few minutes from this hotel), I'm down in the area regularly. Sometimes, when the rate is right, I'd rather stay at a hotel than my parents house or a friend's house.

This weekend was my third stay at this hotel - it's a great property, just steps to the Metro, minutes to Tyson's Corner,right near 495 & 66 - so a perfect location.

Great staff, never have an issue when I stay here. Housekeeping always keeps the rooms spotless and it's a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We wanted somewhere to stay where we didn't have to drive to get into dc. Less than a block to walk to the Metro, good area, didn't feel worried about safety even walking home at midnight. Very nice hotel, no complaints!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax

Address: 2722 Gallows Rd, Merrifield, VA 22180
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Merrifield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Merrifield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax Hotel Vienna
Courtyard Dunn Loring Fairfax
Courtyard Hotel Vienna
Courtyard Vienna
Vienna Courtyard
Vienna Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.