We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for tourists to DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Courtyard.com
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2722 Gallows Rd, Merrifield, VA 22180   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Merrifield
DENVER
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for tourists to DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our second time at this hotel, this time a trip with three grandchildren to see the DC sites. Rooms are nice with two lovely queens with quality linens. One granddaughter particularly liked the bathroom toiletries and insisted that she smelled so good that the bees would be after her. This hotel could not be closer to the Metro. Don't settle for near the Metro, this is the real deal, you could not be closer. If driving, parking is free and no hassle in finding a spot.
We all enjoyed the "Market" for snacks, breakfast, and a late night beer. The food is fresh and enough of a selection to feed two healthy eating adults and kids with a range of appetites. The value of the food was outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    105
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
90
65
25
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My family (2 adults, 2 kids (6 - 2)) stayed here the last weekend in March 2013 and we had a great time. The hotel lobby has had renovation since we last stayed here in 2007 and it is very upscale in appearance now. As Marriott members, we requested a high floor and room with no feather pillows which we received. They placed us on the 10th floor and the other guests in the elevator with us joked that we received the penthouse! The rooms are clean and spacious enough that we didn't feel like we were on top of each other. Breakfast the next morning was a bit hectic as we stayed over spring break and many families were visiting as well. We were able to snag a booth with a tv and that kept the kids busy while the food came.

Our rooms came with free breakfast and in the past, it was a buffet but they have changed it. The adults order off a menu and the kids off the child's menu. If we had to pay out of pocket for the breakfast, I would say it wouldn't have been worth it - especially the kids choices. My husband and I each ordered the breakfast platter and the food was hot and tasty. If you have to pay out of pocket $10-$12 per entree, I would head out of the hotel and get breakfast elsewhere.

The only truly negative issue is with the bathtub. My husband nearly slipped because of the unevenness stepping in and out of the bathtub. He was able to grab onto the bar to stop. My son actually slipped but thankfully he did not break any bones. The hotel has a small sign posted to the wall of the bathroom for you to be cautious of slipping. It really is very steep and uneven! It is something to think about if you are traveling with the elderly or very young.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is my fourth time at the Courtyard Dunn Loring on Fairfax, VA. Every visit is excellent. The facility is well kept and the rooms are marvelous. The rooms have a good desk when you need to burn the midnight oil. There a secure garage underneath the hotel.
The onsite cafe serve a very nice breakfast and Starbucks coffee.
The staff is always very nice.
The hotel has great access to all major highways.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, PA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I spent a night here to enjoy the cherry blossoms before going to Dulles airport. It is an easy walk to the Dunn Loring metro and a quick drive to Dulles. We did not find a hairdryer in our room. There was a nice cafe in the lobby to get a sandwich or drink. There is also a Dunkin Donuts around the corner and a pub opening soon. We would stay here again when visiting DC or nearby Tysons Corner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My brother booked the Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax for the out of town family and friends attending his daughter's Northern Virginia wedding. The weekend rate was not only a fraction of the weekday business rate but included a quite decent breakfast. The rooms and styling felt fresh and new. Plus there was free internet everywhere. The cool free underground parking kept the cars from becoming ovens in the sweltering DC heat. Plus we took advantage of the Metro post wedding as the starting point to visit not only the DC museums but our mother, who lives in Bethesda, MD. In the short, from the Dunn Loring, Northern, Virginia Metro, you have easy access to DC, Maryland, and Northern Virginia environs. If my brother or mother planned another party (such as an anniversary, birthday, or wedding) we'd look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Rooms were a good size and very clean. Staff was great and answered every question we had. Even has a little cafe in the lobby with coffee and snacks. Great value and location. Would definitely stay there again when in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

About 5 minute walk to the subway. (I think) it is one of the few places in Faifax that is so.

Otherwise textbook Courtyard. Was priced very well - vs the others in the same league and area

Restaurat designed around grab-and-go. Breakfast was OK. Bar was open reasonably late (11?) and the lobby/bar area was hospitable enough for a couple of colleagues to unwind and debrief and unwind.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax Hotel Vienna
Courtyard By Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax Hotel
Courtyard Dunn Loring Fairfax
Courtyard Hotel Vienna
Courtyard Vienna
Vienna Courtyard
Vienna Marriott
Address: 2722 Gallows Rd, Merrifield, VA 22180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Merrifield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Merrifield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.