We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Near Metro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2722 Gallows Rd, Merrifield, VA 22180   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Merrifield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mechanicsburg, PA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Near Metro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I spent a night here to enjoy the cherry blossoms before going to Dulles airport. It is an easy walk to the Dunn Loring metro and a quick drive to Dulles. We did not find a hairdryer in our room. There was a nice cafe in the lobby to get a sandwich or drink. There is also a Dunkin Donuts around the corner and a pub opening soon. We would stay here again when visiting DC or nearby Tysons Corner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    118
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
105
74
25
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My brother booked the Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax for the out of town family and friends attending his daughter's Northern Virginia wedding. The weekend rate was not only a fraction of the weekday business rate but included a quite decent breakfast. The rooms and styling felt fresh and new. Plus there was free internet everywhere. The cool free underground parking kept the cars from becoming ovens in the sweltering DC heat. Plus we took advantage of the Metro post wedding as the starting point to visit not only the DC museums but our mother, who lives in Bethesda, MD. In the short, from the Dunn Loring, Northern, Virginia Metro, you have easy access to DC, Maryland, and Northern Virginia environs. If my brother or mother planned another party (such as an anniversary, birthday, or wedding) we'd look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Rooms were a good size and very clean. Staff was great and answered every question we had. Even has a little cafe in the lobby with coffee and snacks. Great value and location. Would definitely stay there again when in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

About 5 minute walk to the subway. (I think) it is one of the few places in Faifax that is so.

Otherwise textbook Courtyard. Was priced very well - vs the others in the same league and area

Restaurat designed around grab-and-go. Breakfast was OK. Bar was open reasonably late (11?) and the lobby/bar area was hospitable enough for a couple of colleagues to unwind and debrief and unwind.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHI SC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our room was very nice and we appreciated the small refrigerator. A previous reviewer had said there was no hair dryer but we found one in a drawstring bag in the wardrobe.
We did not have a car and got around very easily on the Metro.
The Mosaic shopping district is a short walk away and has lots of local shops and restaurants.
Taylors had great subs and we enjoyed Four Sisters - a Vietnamese restaurant.
The front desk staff were all friendly and helpful. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shore, Quebec
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

After driving for 10 hrs, we were welcome by cheerful staff and were checked in less than 5 minutes to a nice airy room with a small fridge, a large comfortable bed and a large balcony w/ opening sliding door, thus allowing us to get fresh air. Car safely in hotel's indoor prkg. Nearby, (walking distance in rather safe area) at corner of Gallows and Lee Hwy, there's a new Target for fresh fruits, and several eateries (Four Sisters, Illy, Chipotle, Panera). Following morning, got free coffee from lobby along with copy of WSJ & Wshngtn Post (they also sell Starbucks at the Cafe). Taking an early brisk walk, found out that at 200 yrds there's a new Dunkin Donuts outlet. As others have mentioned, Dunn Loring Metro is nearby to take us to various D.C. destinations. Nice gymn and pool if you care for these: we'd rather go for long walks and that, we did!

Room Tip: High floors is desirable but not a must; side giving on Metro doesn't offer morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordonsville
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Clean. Comfortable. Competent staff. 21st century decoration scheme. Free coffee in lobby. Free parking. Easy to get to from Rt.66 or 495. 200 yards from Dunn Loring metro. No hair dryers. Cheap on weekends. This is my new spending-the-weekend-in-DC hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax

Address: 2722 Gallows Rd, Merrifield, VA 22180
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Merrifield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Merrifield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax Hotel Vienna
Courtyard Dunn Loring Fairfax
Courtyard Hotel Vienna
Courtyard Vienna
Vienna Courtyard
Vienna Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.