We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8125 Gatehouse Road, Merrifield, VA 22042   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Merrifield
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

When I checked in, I didn't realize there was underground parking and the guy who checked me in didn't tell me. Once I got into my room and left for some food, I noticed people were parking underground. I checked with the desk clerk, who was a different person, and they let me know about the underground parking. That was important to know because there was a snow storm that evening. The snow storm meant the city was shutdown the next day, so I worked from my hotel room. It was a decent size and I had stocked some items in the fridge, which was key to have. The only thing I wasn't a fan of was how far the hotel is from the metro. Luckily, I had a rental car and I had no choice on what hotel I could pick, but keep that in mind if you're looking for something near the subway.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, General Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are glad you found your stay to be overall accommodating. We will be sure to mention to our guests at check in that we do have underground parking and that the metro station is a short mile away which can be reached via cab for a low cost should they choose not to rent a car. Please continue to keep us in mind, as your home away from home, when visiting the Falls Church area. We look forward to your return the next time you visit!


Sincerely yours,
Matt James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    51
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
60
20
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My wife and I spent this past weekend at this hotel, our eighth or so stay there. Each time it was to visit the Smithsonian museums and the National Gallery of Art. Why stay 20 or so miles from the National Mall? First, the rates generally are half what we'd pay downtown. With the Residence Inn a few blocks from the second to last stop on Metro's Orange Line, it's an easy ride to the Smithsonian. As boomer retirees, we take the comforts of home on our travels. This hotel is ideal for spreading out. The furnishings are beginning to show their age, but the place is always spotlessly clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. The ladies handling breakfast are super efficient. The parking, particularly the garage, is convenient. And with the hotel being just outside the Beltway, we can make an easy exit West on Monday morning feeling a bit smug at not having to be stuck in the eastbound backups on the Interstate.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, General Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield. We greatly appreciate repeat guests like yourself. Our Residence Inn is located one mile from the Dunn Loring DC metro station, adjacent to shopping, dining and entertainment and is easily accessible from both I-495 & Route 50. Glad that you find our location to be convenient and perfectly fit your needs while visiting DC's many sites. We look forward to seeing again in the future when you visit the area.


Sincerely yours,
Matt James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights while on a business trip. The staff is very nice and accommodating. Hotel is very clean for a place that is so busy. Plenty on free parking. Enjoyed my stay and would definitely plan a stay here again. I always find the Marriott chain to be a great value.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, General Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are glad you found your stay to be overall comfortable, convenient and accommodating! Please continue to keep us in mind, as your home away from home, when visiting the Falls Church area. We look forward to your return the next time you visit!


Sincerely yours,
Matt James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed here last night on business, as I have stayed before and had a good experience. Due to the inclement weather I had to change my booking at the last minute, and when I called with the change, Tony was very helpful. Check in was fast and I love the new "Plinko" game for Elite members! Thanks for the free soda! Room was clean, and I like having the separate bedroom. Breakfast and the evening social are always good, and the dining staff take really good care of you - helping with dishes and ensuring food is replenished quickly. The location is excellent, and I really like the underground parking, especially when it's raining or snowing! Overall great business stay. I've read several reviews that mention problems with Internet - I've stayed twice and had no issues, so hopefully this is resolved. I've just booked again for next week!

Room Tip: I've had rooms facing the highway and never had an issue with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, General Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you Nicole for your valuable feedback. We are glad you found your stay to be overall comfortable, convenient and accommodating. I also appreciate you choosing to stay with us another week! Please continue to keep us in mind, as your home away from home, when visiting the Falls Church area. We look forward to your return the next time you visit!


Sincerely yours,
Matt James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I was sent to this hotel on business by my company. I was very surprised by the quality and amenities that come with a normal stay! I stayed for two weeks in Jan/Feb 2014.

First off, let me say that it is easy to see that this is not a brand new hotel, there are things that are dated, however they are super clean and kept up well. One awesome thing that happened that I just noticed is that there was a piece of carpet that was ripped when I first checked in. I didnt say anything about it because it wasn't a big deal, but looking over at it now, they fixed it! That is great to see that they are on top of everything!

This hotel offers, free basic internet (faster speed is offered at $5.95 a day, but I just used the basic free service and it worked pretty well... I even watched a movie on it last night). Free breakfast every morning with a great selection is also included. A great selection is important, especially staying 2 weeks, They had plenty of options and switched up the selections. They also provide manager dinners 3 times a week for free... they have different things on different days like picnic day (hamburgers and hotdogs) on Monday, Italian night and fajita night. This is a great option.. especially because its free! The hotel offers free newspapers every day, just pick them up at the front desk. They have a nice market center with everything from toiletries to snacks to beer and wine if you should need anything on the fly.

The hotel location is great, tucked away off the main road, but a block away from tons of restaurants and a half a mile from the Dunn Lorning metro station. This station has plenty of parking and is free on the weekends.

Housekeeping was on point. Let me say, I am a healthcare housekeeping operations manager, so believe me when I say I thoroughly checked my room. It was clean, high dusting was done, and carpets were cleaned daily. I had no worries about the cleanliness of my room or any area of the hotel.

Pool and whirlpool are outside, so I didn't get to experience them during my winter stay, but I did see that they have a basketball court as well. Parking is awesome and convenient. Underground garage that is secured, just use your room key to gain access, easy access to the elevators. This is also nice when it snows so you don't have to worry about your car being covered.

Hotel staff are super nice and everything you expect when you are at a hotel away from home. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and recommend my family and friends. For the price, it is a great deal with easy access to DC!

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the elevator and near the front lobby are great, especially because it's close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, General Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are glad you found your stay to be overall comfortable and a clean environment. We appreciate feedback like yours to learn that we are meeting our guests expectations and so we can constantly find new ways to improve. We look forward to your return the next time you visit the Merrifield area.

Sincerely yours,
Matt James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Love the hotel location.. shopping center next to it with starbucks.. the rooms were clean and well maintained.. friendly and well trained staff.. definetly will return to this location..they had wonderful fresh bake cookies for dinner dessert.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, General Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you Mike for your feedback on your recent stay at the Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield. I am glad you found our location to be convenient which is adjacent to shopping, dining, entertainment and is easily accessible from both I-495 & Route 50. Please come back and see us when you visit the area and we will be sure to have some fresh baked cookies waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisberry, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We spent the night before my son's return flight to Japan. We arrived a bit late, but check in was quick and efficient. The rooms were very clean. The only real complain was the tepid food at breakfast. It could have been much warmer. Still, I would stay again, and probably will as DC is a common weekend trip for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, General Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are glad you found your stay to be overall comfortable and a clean environment. I apologize that the food we offered during our complimentary daily breakfast was not warm. If there are any issues you incur during your stay we try to remedy as soon as possible and we appreciate feedback like yours so we can constantly improve. We look forward to your return the next time you visit the Merrifield area.

Sincerely yours,
Matt James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield

Address: 8125 Gatehouse Road, Merrifield, VA 22042
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Merrifield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Merrifield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn hotel in Falls Church, Virginia is situated just one mile from the Dunn Loring DC metro rail station, adjacent to shopping, dining and entertainment options and is easily accessible from both I-495 & Route 50. This hotel in Merrifield, VA is convenient to Tysons Corner businesses, Washington DC, the Inova Fairfax Hospital and more. Guests feel at home in our spacious extended stay suites offering separate living, sleeping and dining areas. Each suite at our Falls Church extended stay hotel features fully-equipped kitchens, living rooms with pullout sofa beds, a 42" flat screen TV. Work easily while traveling for business in a large desk with convenient outlets, ergonomic desk chair and complimentary internet-access. In addition, this hotel serves complimentary breakfast daily, offers social hours on select evenings and provides 24-hour access to the hotel’s fitness center. This Falls Church, Virginia hotel also has a meeting room perfect for training sessions or small gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield Hotel Falls Church
Residence Inn Falls Church
Falls Church Residence Inn
Fairfax Merrifield Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.