We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value - well located.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8125 Gatehouse Road, Merrifield, VA 22042   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Merrifield
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good value - well located.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We used this hotel as a base for a three day trip to DC and Baltimore and were pleased with its location. It is handy for Dunn Loring Metro Station and is only just off the interstate, which suited us. There are a number of shops and restaurants in the area too, including a huge Target , which appears fairly new.

We use a fair few Residence Inns and would rank this one up there with the quality of its breakfast buffet.

The ladies work hard clearing tables and restocking the buffet which, to me, is always a good sign of a well run place.

We had a one bedroom unit up on the fourth floor of four and, whilst it was a good trek to the breakfast room and reception it was very handy for the lift to the underground car park. The car park is another plus to go with the clean, well maintained suites and the breakfast staff.
The two minus points for me are the abysmally slow internet connection - both on wired and wi-fi, and on every available network. It was so slow, it was almost unusable.

The other minus point was the poor quality of the TV signals of the analogue channels - they had a few HD channels, which were okay (except when the 'no signal' message appeared) but the analogue ones with grainy and unwatchable. We didn't spend to much time in the room, so neither of these issues were major, but they would have been on a longer stay.

All in all, the plus points outweigh the minor niggles and I would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, General Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you Nick for your feedback on your recent stay at the Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield. Our Residence Inn is located one mile from the Dunn Loring DC metro station, adjacent to shopping, dining and entertainment and is easily accessible from both I-495 & Route 50. We will also be updating our internet services this month to a new service provider along with offering much faster options and connections for our guests. Please come back and see us when you visit the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    53
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
62
20
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed two nights while on business in Falls Church. Very happy with location close to many restaurants and shopping areas. Room was large with separate bedrooms, full kitchen, large bathroom/closet area. Fitness center contained 2 treadmills, elliptical and free weights. Outdoor pool with hottub and large grill area. Breakfast daily and evening meals Monday through Thursday included. My room faced the very busy Gallows Road, but noise was not an issue at all. Front desk staff very nice, no issues with stay. Loved the underground parking, especially since it was raining hard one night! Will definitely stay again when back in Falls Church!

Room Tip: Not aware of any "bad" rooms. Hallways can be quite long, so if that's a problem you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, General Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you Nicole for your feedback on your recent stay at the Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield. I am glad you enjoyed our spacious suites along with our hotel's convenient location to restaurants and local shopping. We look forward to seeing again in the future when you visit Falls Church.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our family stayed for 10 days in early July after or relocation to the Northern Virginia area. We had a two bedroom suite with a full kitchen. Included in the price was hot breakfast and Monday thru Thursday they offer up an early evening manager’s meal/snack. We tried this twice and though it was not the highest quality it was enough food to make a meal out of. The front desk staff was very helpful on many occasions. There is free wifi throughout and a business center with two computers and a printer. The rooms were nice with plenty of towels closet space. Each room and main living area had a large flat screen television. The location is right next to a strip mall with multiple options for meals, staples, CVS, and cleaners just to name a few. The hotel has a single level parking garage underneath which is free for guests. Dunn Loring metro is just over a mile away. All in all our stay here was nice and we would recommend the hotel to anyone moving to the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments about the hotel and staff. We hope to see you again when you come back to the Fairfax/Merrifield area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This Residence Inn is locate right off the beltway and is a good family location (on weekends) for exploration of the DC area. The breakfast is good. They have a pool, hot tub and exercise area. It is good for kids. they have an underground garage. I was there over a 4th of July weekend. I can't comment as to business use.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, General Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your family's visit to the hotel over the July 4th weekend. I am glad to hear your stay at the Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield was convenient and pleasant for you and your family. The Washington DC area offers many family-friendly ways to celebrate our nation's independence and I am glad to hear your family had the opportunity to enjoy some of these events. We hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield is located in a great location that makes it easy for one to do anything in the Washington, D.C. Metropolitan area. It is close enough to the Dunn Loring Merrifield Metro Station to allow one to easily slip into our Nation's Capitol and enjoy all that there is; it is also within a short drive to the largest mall in Northern Virginia (if you are a shopping fanatic), and it is a short drive to the many battlefields and other historic sites, if you are a history buff like me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, General Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for the great review about our great location. Our Residence Inn is located one mile from the Dunn Loring DC metro station, adjacent to shopping, dining and entertainment and is easily accessible from both I-495 & Route 50. This hotel is also convenient to the Mosaic District, Tyson`s Corner, Washington DC, Inova Fairfax Hospital, and offers 1 meeting room ideal for small group events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I had a two bedroom suite with 2 bathrooms. The room size was nice and the beds were comfortable. Room service was prompt and accommodating. Breakfast was good. The pool is small but clean. Overall I would return here if in the area and I'm looking for an economy room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, General Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! Please come back and see us when you visit the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here with our family of five and ill start. By saying wow! When I checked in the first evening the man at the front desk was spot on courteous and very welcoming. We stayed here as an alternative to DC because of cost. But I will say I'd cost didn't play a roll I would still stay here again for my DC trip. This place was very family friendly and intimate. It was almost like being in an apartment community. Great spread for breakfast! We have been here now for five days and are loving it! I will definitely be back. You simply can't beat the value or service . Perfect place for families. We will surely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, General Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are very fortunate to have so many great reviews here on TripAdvisor and I greatly appreciate you adding your experience. I am happy to hear we made your trip to the area enjoyable and relaxing. The staff will be so happy to hear your comments; I cannot wait to share your kind words. Thank you again for the wonderful feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield

Address: 8125 Gatehouse Road, Merrifield, VA 22042
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Merrifield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Merrifield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn hotel in Falls Church, Virginia is situated just one mile from the Dunn Loring DC metro rail station, adjacent to shopping, dining and entertainment options and is easily accessible from both I-495 & Route 50. This hotel in Merrifield, VA is convenient to Tysons Corner businesses, Washington DC, the Inova Fairfax Hospital and more. Guests feel at home in our spacious extended stay suites offering separate living, sleeping and dining areas. Each suite at our Falls Church extended stay hotel features fully-equipped kitchens, living rooms with pullout sofa beds, a 42" flat screen TV. Work easily while traveling for business in a large desk with convenient outlets, ergonomic desk chair and complimentary internet-access. In addition, this hotel serves complimentary breakfast daily, offers social hours on select evenings and provides 24-hour access to the hotel’s fitness center. This Falls Church, Virginia hotel also has a meeting room perfect for training sessions or small gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield Hotel Falls Church
Residence Inn Falls Church
Falls Church Residence Inn
Fairfax Merrifield Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.