We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lots of room for the family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8125 Gatehouse Road, Merrifield, VA 22042   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Merrifield
West Chester, PA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location, lots of room for the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

There are very places you can find with two bedrooms. We have a couple of kids, and trying to make do with a regular hotel room just isn't a lot of fun. The 2 bedroom units are large and clean. Each bedroom has it's own bathroom. Living room and kitchen separate the rooms. There are lots of choices in the area for dining. We stayed over a Saturday night so the rate was pretty good for the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    52
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
61
20
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Residence Inn is located close to mass transit (Dunn Loring Metor stop) in the Virginia suburbs of Washington DC. The staff are friendly and helpful, the breakfast buffet is substantial and tasty (though there's no reason to use plasticware and styrofoam cups). The rooms are clean and quite spacious- we had a suite with kitchenette, sleeper sofa (we didn't use it), and very comfortable bed. We also paid less than $100/night in early November. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We require a 2-bedroom, 2-bath suite when we stay in Residence Inns. This was a clean, well-maintained property. The staff were all helpful, friendly ans accommodated several changes to our reservation during our stay. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for just one night. We were attending a concert in Washington, DC and wanted to avoid the high prices of a hotel in DC, yet be close enough to both the venue and his place of work. Depending on traffic, it took us 25-40 minutes to/from Washington.
We were booked in room #204-a two bedroom suite with two full baths. Our room was located in the same building as the lobby. The kitchen area was spacious with a dining table for four and all appliances that would be needed for a longer stay. There was a small sitting area with sofa and chair end/coffee tables and a flat screen television. Each bedroom had a flat screen television as well. The beds were comfortable with plenty of pillows on each, but they did not maintain the plumpness for long. I did wish there were a heavier duvet/bedspread or an extra blanket. The top sheet and thin bed covering did not provide enough warmth. The bathrooms were clean with large vanities outside of the tub/toilet area. That was an added bonus to me, as it prevented the issue of having to deal with fogged up bathroom mirrors. The towels were thick and smelled fresh. Overall, the suite appeared very clean. There were some worn spots on some of the furnishings, but only minor. The wi-fi connection was very slow.
The hotel is located right next to a small strip shopping area with several dining options, CVS and other a few other stores.
All hotel staff we encountered were pleasant. If ever needing a place to stay in this area again, we would certainly consider this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here with my husband while he was on a business trip. We were upgraded to a two bedroom /two bathroom suite which had the down side of not having the king size bed we requested. But the bedding was very comfortable and so it wasn't quite the issue it could have been.

The two bedroom suite had lots of room for moving around with televisions in the living room and both of the bedrooms. There was a full kitchen complete with dishwasher.

Housekeeping kept the rooms spotless including running the dishwasher daily.

The hotel offered a full breakfast and a light supper. A meal could be made from the supper, but addition of bread would make the supper more substantial.

There were washers and dryers and limited food on site. But there was a cost for this convenience - $4 to wash and dry a load of clothes and $6 for a pint of ice cream. There is a drug store with many food items within a five minute walk.

The downsides to this hotel were that the internet connection was not strong in the far corner of the building. The outdoor tables were too close to the hotel's commercial laundry machines and smokers congregated right outside of one of the exit doors.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Nice clean modern hotel. Rooms are suites with kitchen areas which I didn't really need but there was plenty of space. There are two buildings which required a walk through an outdoor courtyard to get to the lobby and the breakfast area which can be a small problem if the weather is bad. Breakfast was average. Very conveniently located next to a shopping center with restaurants, drug store, etc. All together no real issues.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Took my teenage daughter to D.C. again this summer - did the same two years ago also. We stayed here both visits. Close to the Metro, clean, spacious suite, outdoor pool & spa, decent breakfasts, relatively inexpensive. Perfect for a family or other visitors to the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield

Address: 8125 Gatehouse Road, Merrifield, VA 22042
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Merrifield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Merrifield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn hotel in Falls Church, Virginia is situated just one mile from the Dunn Loring DC metro rail station, adjacent to shopping, dining and entertainment options and is easily accessible from both I-495 & Route 50. This hotel in Merrifield, VA is convenient to Tysons Corner businesses, Washington DC, the Inova Fairfax Hospital and more. Guests feel at home in our spacious extended stay suites offering separate living, sleeping and dining areas. Each suite at our Falls Church extended stay hotel features fully-equipped kitchens, living rooms with pullout sofa beds, a 42" flat screen TV. Work easily while traveling for business in a large desk with convenient outlets, ergonomic desk chair and complimentary internet-access. In addition, this hotel serves complimentary breakfast daily, offers social hours on select evenings and provides 24-hour access to the hotel’s fitness center. This Falls Church, Virginia hotel also has a meeting room perfect for training sessions or small gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield Hotel Falls Church
Residence Inn Falls Church
Falls Church Residence Inn
Fairfax Merrifield Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.