We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent, very large 2 bedroom apartment, with free breakfast, WIFI,parking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8125 Gatehouse Road, Merrifield, VA 22042   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Merrifield
london
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“excellent, very large 2 bedroom apartment, with free breakfast, WIFI,parking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

stayed here September 21st for 3 nights in a very spacious 2 bedroom suite which is basically a two bedroom, two bathroom apartment with a full kitchen. very quiet rooms, friendly and really helpful front office and waitering staff. very good breakfast, although very busy at peak times. coin operated laundry and plenty of free parking. 15 minute walk to the Metro, and 1 minute from the I-495, route 50 intersection. 5 minutes drive from Tysons Corner, and 20 minutes to Potomac Mills Mall. 25 minutes to Dulles airport. Kitchen cabinets and furniture a little dated, but in very good condition. We paid US$ 125.00 per night on the wkd AAA rate. Excellent value for size of rooms, and facilities. pool and basketball court, gas BBQ for cook-outs and tiny exercise room. Highly recommend this Residence Inn to families (lots staying when we were there) and people wanting spacious rooms and free parking. Housekeeping staff efficient and kept the room clean and freshly stocked with coffee etcetera

Room Tip: High floors get a view over the tree tops, laundry if very busy during the breakfast rush, undergrou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    51
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
59
20
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here over the Labor day weekend, in a 2 bed suite with our teenage daughters. I would highly recommend it. It is not a particularly plush hotel, and not done to the newest Residence Inn style, but it was very comfortable. It is a large hotel and we were in a room way down at the bottom of a long corridor, but even so we felt at home. We did not hear any other guests.
The breakfast was fine, fairly typical fare. The pool was quite small, but was set in a pleasant courtyard. Our daughters enjoyed it. The location of the hotel was great, right behind a small strip mall with a few restaurants, a Starbucks and a CVS. It was an easy drive to everywhere we wanted to go.
We took our lives in our hands and walked (we're British) to the Sweetwater Tavern just across the street, but I wouldn't recommend walking again! It was a scary and hairy experience crossing the road with no pedestrian crossing. Sweetwater Tavern itself was simply great, the best meal we had all holiday.
We got a fantastic deal for the hotel, which was the deciding factor for us on this stay, but I would not hesitate to recommend it, or to stay here again. It was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My extended family and I stayed at this property and had 5 rooms. The best features of this hotel were a generous buffet breakfast with ample seating, free parking, and proximity to a shopping center with numerous restaurants, CVS, etc. If you are in good shape, you can leave your car at the hotel and walk about a mile to the Metro station.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Large, sprawling (just under 160 suites), 4-story Residence Inn (RI), surrounding lovely courtyard & outdoor pool. Courtyard tables & chairs are pleasant spot for eating breakfast or dinner outside in nice weather.  Overall pleasant environment.

Largest TV (42 inches – 1 meter) I’ve ever seen in RI living room – not complaining, just noting. (After becoming accustomed to it, other TVs seem puny.)

Typical older, yet comfortable, RI accommodations:

• Free internet/WiFi.

• Two computers & printer to print documents & boarding passes.

• Small exercise room with working treadmills, ellipticals, weights.

• Rows of working washers ($2) & dryers ($2) in 1st floor guest laundry that seemed continually in use by guests. (Had to keep checking for available washer.)

• Free on-site self-parking in: above ground lot & secured underground garage.

• Surprisingly *quiet* room considering proximity (& convenience) to highways:
 -- Beltway (I-495)
 -- Route 50
 -- Gallows Rd.(650)
 -- I-66


Approximate Drive Times (Depending on Traffic):

• 5 min. -- 1.5 miles (2.4 km) -- to Dunn Loring-Merrifield metro station (orange line) on 2700 Gallows Rd. (Vienna, VA); $4.75 all day parking space at metro station.

• 15-min. -- 4.1 mi. (6.6 km) -- to Tysons Corner.

• 25-min. -- 12.5 mi. (20 km) -- to DC Washington Mall, Smithsonian Museums, Memorials, Sightseeing.

• 30-min. -- 21 mi. (34 km) -- Washington Dulles International Airport (IAD); no RI shuttle.

• 30-min. -- 15 mi. (24 km) -- Washington National Airport (DCA); no RI shuttle.


Budget Eating & Shopping:

• Standard RI breakfasts (hot & cold items) with some healthy options & evening fare (Mon., Tue., Wed.) served in gatehouse. (Hoped for better quality meals, which are served at other RIs & Homewoods; always hope for Greek yogurt, whole grain breads, & greater assortment of fresh fruit.) *Convenient* if you haven't time to prepare your own meals.

• For evenings when food isn’t served, brief walk or drive to numerous nearby eateries; call-in order & pick up on your way home from day’s activities.

• If you’ve time/ inclination, food shop & prepare your own meals in furnished kitchenette. Approx. 10-minute drive (depending on traffic) to 2 groceries in Falls Church, VA (each about 2.2 miles (3.5 km)):
  --  Safeway  on 7397 Lee Highway
  --  Giant  on 7235 Arlington Boulevard

Standard, good quality RI -- clean & comfortable -- for short- or long-stay whether traveling with family, as a couple, or alone on business.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Due to the recent power outages in the D.C. area, we were diverted from a different Residence Inn to this one. It turned out to be a great location -- close to Metro, a parking garage, an above-average outdoor pool. Rooms were spacious, which was especially nice since we were having a family gathering there. The only issue we had was something used by the housecleaning staff smelled just awful, and there seemed to be no way to stop it other than opening the windows when we returned to the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I really tried to like this place, but .... !
It is clean, but old. When I checked in nobody was behind the front desk (there was never a person standing there... they were always behind a second desk or in a room). I am a Marriott Reward Member for years and my profile says "high floor, away from elevator". I specifically requested "quiet room". I got a suit in the first floor, exactly next to the elevator and very close to the lobby ! The window was exactly attached to the basketball court ! The hotel was full of families with loud kids which ran around from 6 AM. The evening reception is nothing to do with the usual RI receptions. No alcoholic beverage, no sweet tea, lemonade (something beside Pepsi product !). I just had one breakfast. Although I went there at 6:30 the shouting kids were around !
I always hate to write bad reviews for housekeeping, cause I believe their job is hard. But at this hotel they are so LOUD ! 2 or 3 of them always move together and talk very loudly from different rooms when they are cleaning. Two afternoons I had to ask them to keep it down (they woke me up the both days). Also when they are cleaning the don't put anything to keep the door open, so the door closes 10 times when they clean the room and you know how loud is the hotels' doors !
Upon checkout I had a problem with my bill that took them 4 hours to fix and they acted like I was lying !!
I stayed at Towneplace Falls Church few times and it is much better property.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

On my last few business trips, I stayed at other hotels in the Falls Church area. This one is so much better than the others. There is free WIFI in the lobby /free high-speed access in rooms. The facility is clean, good size room(s) with sofa bed, and confortable bed, huge TV, solid location. The suite has a large refrigerator (with ice maker), 2 burner stove, microwave, dishwasher, and coffee machine. I appreciate the gated and underground parking garage which kept my car out of the sun and secure. Coin operated washer and dryer available. Swimming pool was clean and inviting. A gas grill is available to guests in the courtyard.
Included during my stay: (a) breakfast (M-F,6:30 AM to 9 AM); and (b) dinner (Monday through Wednesday) with an assortment of soft drinks (and choc chip cookies!). For families, cribs are free of charge. There is an ATM machine in the lobby. Front desk will cash checks with a valid driver's license. Check out is noon... There are specials, too. For example, the week I was there, Thursday was "movie night", which included hot dogs and hamburgers for guests. And, the employees ... as helpful as they come. While slightly worn from use in certain places, the price is very reasonable as this hotel is much better than other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: This location is away from busy highway noise ... quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield

Address: 8125 Gatehouse Road, Merrifield, VA 22042
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Merrifield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Merrifield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn hotel in Falls Church, Virginia is situated just one mile from the Dunn Loring DC metro rail station, adjacent to shopping, dining and entertainment options and is easily accessible from both I-495 & Route 50. This hotel in Merrifield, VA is convenient to Tysons Corner businesses, Washington DC, the Inova Fairfax Hospital and more. Guests feel at home in our spacious extended stay suites offering separate living, sleeping and dining areas. Each suite at our Falls Church extended stay hotel features fully-equipped kitchens, living rooms with pullout sofa beds, a 42" flat screen TV. Work easily while traveling for business in a large desk with convenient outlets, ergonomic desk chair and complimentary internet-access. In addition, this hotel serves complimentary breakfast daily, offers social hours on select evenings and provides 24-hour access to the hotel’s fitness center. This Falls Church, Virginia hotel also has a meeting room perfect for training sessions or small gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield Hotel Falls Church
Residence Inn Falls Church
Falls Church Residence Inn
Fairfax Merrifield Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.