We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza, pasta or subs - they do it all well” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giovanni's Pizza

Giovanni's Pizza
9502 Chamberlayne Rd., Mechanicsville, VA 23116
(804) 746-2666
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pizza, pasta or subs - they do it all well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We are so fortunate to live near Gionanni's. They serve up awesome pizza, great (and plentiful) pasta meals and a wide variety of hot or cold subs. Salads are also very good. Highly recommend for a reasonably price meal served up quickly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Surprised at new area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Had not been to Giovanni's in a long time. They have expanded their dining area a lot. Food is a good as it was the last time. HUGE portions.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Hearty, delicious pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I really enjoy the baked pasta at Giovanni. You need to be careful if you go there to lunch, because even the "small" is very large, and I am a big eater. The garlic knots that they give you are tasty, but pungent. It is nice that they have a whole wheat pasta option for those trying to eat a little healthier. I have not tried the pizza yet, but look forward to doing so.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“So good everytime, never disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This is by far the best pizza ever! They have other items on the menu, but we always get pizza. All of the employees are amazing! We throughly enjoy visiting every week! Thanks for having such delicious food and super nice servers!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bring your appetite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Giovanni's is the best Italian/pizza that Hanover has to offer. Their pizzas are delicious and the toppings are generous. Their pastas are huge and the sauces full of flavor. If you're not in the mood for those, I recommend their subs. Hot or cold, you can't go wrong. I recently tried the Calzone and it's more than enough to feed 2! The staff is always friendly and attentive. You don't have a single server, but the staff all have their own roles (Seater, Drinks, Menu, Order, Cleanup). They put in an addition a year or so ago and now they can accomodate many more. We've never had a bad meal. Look for coupons in the Valpack or the local band discount cards.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Giovanni's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giovanni's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.