We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat visitor for a reason” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   7441 Bell Creek Road, Mechanicsville, VA 23111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mechanicsville
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Repeat visitor for a reason”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

It is becoming an annual event to stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Mechanicsville. While the rooms/breakfast are the typical HIE type, the staff at this hotel make your stay the best. A big shout out to Marlene as she goes out of her way to help with everything. The rest of the staff is just as helpful. A great new addition is the pancake maker for the breakfast room. While I'm not a fan, my daughter was very happy with the results. The rooms do need a bit of updating now that the hotel has been around a few years, but it is clean, comfortable and quiet and much less expensive than the hotel next door too.

Room Tip: I was in room 300. Near the vending machines and far enough away from the elevator that I wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
18
10
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Our room had a strong moldy smell. We had to keep the AC on high or else it changed to fan and the smell got worse. The smell was terrible. The room looked OK but the closer you looked the dirtier it got! There was the 2 inch wide white strip of dust around the room edges that is so common in most hotel rooms anymore. Evidently no one has attachments to take care of that. The floor looked clean but I am attaching a photo of how my white socks looked after 20 minutes walking on that floor. We didn't walk on the floor without socks and tried not to put anything of ours on the floor. I have never posted a picture before, but this was so unbelievable! The shower was very roomy, but the non skid stuff they put on the bottom of the tub was gray, the bathroom floor was literally sticky and the hair dryer had caked crud on the plug and cord and the dryer itself looked so dirty. I was glad I had brought mine from home! I am also glad we don't travel with out disinfecting wipes! Breakfast was OK. It was the first time in a long time that the reconstituted Holiday Inn eggs were not floating in water. The eating area was clean. The staff was great and helped us with a special situation we had, but it was so dirty and smelly we would not stay there again if we were in that area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixmech, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am so sorry that your experience with housekeeping was unpleasant. We have looked further into the issue and hopefully resolved it. I would like to aplogize for not having taken care of this sooner so you would have had a more pleasant stay. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and that our staff met your expectations. Please contact me directly upon your next visit to our hotel so i can personally make sure your stay is satisfactory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mechanicsville hotels

Point Mugu, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We usually stay at Hilton properties but deceided to try HIE due to availability and a recommendation by a family member. This was an overnight stay on our way to SC so we arrived late and tired from a day of driving. The lady at the front desk was very friendly and accomodating. The nearby iHOP, Ruby Tuesdays and other restaurants was very convenient and welcomed. That's where the pros end. Dirty room...telephone, spills on tables, damp rugs and sheets made for an uncomfortable stay and not much sleep. The smoke detector was hanging by a wire, the light outside the room was flickering and needed to be replaced and the wifi was very slow. The hotel was at capacity so the breakfast was very crowded and not worth the wait. Not the worst hotel we have stayed in but look elsewhere if you have a choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixmech, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Thank you for sharing your response with others. We rely on our guest feedback to help us better serve you and our future guest. We use the comments and issues that made your stay uncomfortable to make other guest experience more enjoyable. I apologize for the issues that you encountered during your stay but was happy to hear that our staff was friendly and accomodating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

good value, clean, nice reception at check-in, good breakfast.

Room Tip: get the interstate coupons
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixmech, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Great Stay!! Glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and staff. We strive to make everyone's stay as enjoyable as yours. We look forward to your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLUMBIA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

I have preferred staying at Holiday Inn Express hotels during road travels as they generally are well maintained, comfortable beds, affordable and clean. I also belong to Priority Club and found it to be a very valuable travel club. In general, I have had good experiences with Holiday Inn Express in the past years as we travel to visit family and friends.

We recently booked a night's stay in this hotel with the above assumptions but this time it was not a good experience. Generally, the hotels send you a survey about your stay but this hotel did not (for obvious reasons).
1. The bed was very hard and was not up to Holiday Inn standards. The bedspread and sheets were fine but the bed was just plain uncomfortable
2. The morning breakfast area was scheduled to close at 9:30am and we were running late and made it by 9:15am. The person taking care of this area had already started to remove the food. We had to hurry up and grab something before she removed it.
3. Look at pictures of swimming pool--absolutely amazing!. It was right outside the breakfast area and looked like a polluted pond with a moldy lawn chair floating in one corner. I realize that they had not prepared the pool for the summer months as yet but I could not believe the appearance of the pool, which was visible to all guests. If the management of this hotel did not care for the appearance of this pool, I can imaging how little they cared about the general maintainance and cleanliness of the hotel rooms.

There are a number of hotels available on the Richmond Bypass so avoid this one.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shacklefords, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

The rooms were comfortable and the staff was ready to help in any way they could. They gave me some tips on things we could do and good directions to get to them.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixmech, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
Glad you had a wonderful stay with us. It is very important for the staff to know that people do recognize the services they provide. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

We were traveling from Washington DC to Florida and developed mechanical problems that caused us to stay at this hotel. The check in was friendly and efficient and the hotel is located near two restaurants. When we first went to the room we were assigned, the door was open and the TV on. The front desk explained that they had problems with their maid service leaving the rooms open but it was safe and okay to enter.

The room was spotless, well stocked, good size and comfortable. The only issue I saw is that the tile they chose for the bathroom will make you slip if your wearing your sneakers or other rubber based sole. The hotel was quite and afforded a good nights sleep.

The hot breakfast was great, but the timing 6a to 9:30a is a bit too short, should be till 10a. The food was good but was running out when I got down stairs at 9:05.

I would stay here again and recommend it for travelers.

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixmech, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
I am happy to hear that our staff made your unexpected stay with us a positive experience. It is nice to know that we can make you feel at home during your travels. Thank you for commenting on the housekeeping and breakfast issues. We cannot fix the problems when we do not know about them. We will look into extending our breakfast hours during peak times for our guest. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville

Address: 7441 Bell Creek Road, Mechanicsville, VA 23111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Mechanicsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mechanicsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express-Richmond, Mechanicsville, Virginia. We are centrally located off I-295 at exit 37A & Rt. 360E, just minutes away from the following businesses: Qubica AMF, Super Value, Carter Machinery, FedEx, Owens & Minor, Wal-Mart, Target, BJ'S, Hanover County Schools, Tysons Foods, Bon Secours Memorial Regional Hospital, Media General, Cox Transportation, County of Hanover the Show Place and many more. With the best corporate rates in the area, we have all you need to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Complimentary hot breakfast, wireless and wired high-speed Internet and micro/fridge are just a few amenities offered. Attractions: King's Dominion, Three Lakes Nature Center & Aquarium, Maymont Park, Richmond National Battlefield Park, Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden, Science Museum of VA, Childrens Museum of Richmond, Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, Virginia Holocaust Museum, Richmond International Raceway - RIR - NASCAR, and Busch Gardens/Water Country If shopping is your niche then you might enjoy visiting Virginia Center Commons Mall located only 10 miles north offering excellent choices to suit everyone's needs. Whether driving the beautiful Virginia highways or arriving by air at the Richmond International Airport, the best place to be is Holiday Inn Express Richmond-Mechanicsville Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville Hotel Mechanicsville
Holiday Inn Mechanicsville
Mechanicsville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Mechanicsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Richmond Mechanicsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.