We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort in a Fabulous area.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Massanutten Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in McGaheysville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Massanutten Resort
1822 Resort Drive, McGaheysville, VA 22840   |  
Hotel amenities
lancaster, ny
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort in a Fabulous area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We have stayed at this resort a number of times during different seasons and have enjoyed every stay. The condos are up to date, well equipped and comfortable and the location is fabulous. Even though it was a bit off season, there is plenty to do both in the resort area and outside. We take a day trip most vacations and next time will try to make it to Washington DC (2 hours away)
For the most part, the service is good, though we did experience a couple of times, when we felt the person we spoke to was not as helpful as they could have been. The other issue is as this is a Timeshare Resort, the staff can be VERY aggressive. Whatever "gift" they are offering is not worth the time and trouble, unless like us , you have fallen in love with the area and are happy to hear the presentation.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    269
    137
    72
    75
See reviews for
395
179
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

We came to Massanutten on our honeymoon and didn't know quite what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised by the enormous number of year-round activities available to guests of the resort and have taken part in many of them. The resort is known mainly (I think) for golfing and skiing (season-dependent, of course), but neither of us enjoy those things so we sought out other options. In our week here, we (ages 38 and 39, mind you) have enjoyed go-carts, (Frisbee) disc golf, a ski-lift ride to the top of the (snowless now in October) mountain for the view, inner-tubing down a mountain (on specially-crafted tracks overlaying the grassy hill), horseback riding (the horses were well cared for and well-behaved!), the indoor waterpark with 8 slides, a hot tub and an arcade (where we played skee ball, bowling, hoops and air hockey), a couples massage at the Spa, and live music at one of the restaurants on property. All of this, mind you, in gorgeous surroundings: beautiful mountain scenary with changing leaves, pleasant days (75 degrees and sunny) and cool crisp nights (50ish).

Just outside of the resort by 20 - 30 miles, we enjoyed Luray Caverns, Luray Zoo (don't miss this!), Skyline Drive and the Shenandoah Park (including a marked hiking trail to a waterfall). We also had a great time enjoying several restaurants in downtown Harrisonburg, Virginia - about 20 minutes away. (See other reviews by me for more info.)

While we did have TONS of fun at Massanutten, our efficiency-type apartment accommodations were not quite what we had hoped for. We unknowingly reserved in the bottom third tier of three for the type of accommodations available to us through Hilton/RCI points. The walls were paper thin, so we not only heard our neighbors way too often (and their screeching children), but we smelled the food they were cooking, which I can only believe was pungent all-day roasted chitlans. The smell stunk up our shared hallway for (quite literally) the entire week. Further, the bed we got was truly horrible. We both woke up at least twice a night and very often could not go back to sleep. We are told these units are rehabbed every three years, but ours feels WAY overdue. The message here is, if you are selecting a "grade" of room/condo, do yourself a favor and kick it up a notch or two. Be sure to ask for one of their "pillowtop" beds or recently-upgraded suites (we saw a really terrific one at level 1 of 3).

Most of all, get out and enjoy the many activities on and off property. You will be glad you did!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north rose, new york
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

The amenities of the resort are NUMEROUS but...at a price. As an RCI exhange it was a value in one sense but we still had to work to save cents!
Deciding whether or not to buy passes for all the activities and items on-site was only tempered by the distance to other off-site comparable things.
We had a lovely trip but I wish we could've done more as cost-conscious travellers. I would also suggest that in addition to a nice fitness center they put ina RUNNING path somewhere on their wide acreage. It seems made for outdoors!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Massanutten with another friend - specifically to play golf at one of the courses on the mountain. We were far away from everything (I think we stayed at Eagle's Trace). Thankfully, the location wasn't a big deal for us since we were only using the room as a place to crash for the evening. The rooms we stayed in were bare bones and the beds were hard. Essentially, it's a typical ski resort with ski resort rooms. They don't expect you to spend much time there.

The resort itself has a lot to do. Winter is for skiing (obviously). The golf courses are well maintained and a lot of fun to play. Beautiful scenery. We got great service at the bars we went to. The delivery pizza from the resort was a model of wood-oven goodness.

If you are going to Massanutten, and your needs are few - this is a serviceable place to stay. If you are expecting a fantastically elegant hotel room to hang out in, you may be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

If you enjoy having to drive approximately 3 miles up & down a mountain several times a day in order to get to anything, perhaps this might be the place for you. Everything costs, the staff are only interested in pushing time shares & that's the main, almost only focus of any staff interaction with guests. The Eagle Trace units are very nice. Strong negative - the so-called wireless internet available in the units is v-e-r-y spotty, continually cutting in & out 24/7. Even to send a quick email usually required disconnecting & reconnecting to the wireless provider at least once during those 2-3 minutes. We've stayed at many other RCI resorts throughout the country, & we would never ever return here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

We were considering to buy a property in the resort, so we purchased a week through RCI to check it out. While the amenities are nice, customer service is very very poor. The unit we reserved was facing a golf course, but when we arrived our unit was changed to one facing another building and a garbage site. When we asked for the unit we reserved the supervisor of check in area Jacqueline Andrade told us that the resort has a write to change the unit to one of their choice at any point. Her tone of voice and demeanor were very offensive and degrading. Needless to say, we will not be buying a property here and would not recommend it to any of our friends. The resort need to be more selective in choosing the supervisors with interpersonal skills otherwise the resort will keep loosing the business.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

My husband and I stayed in a two bedroom unit (first floor) at Woodstone Meadows. Our accommodations consisted of two bedrooms, eat in kitchen, two full bathrooms, living room and deck. The master bedroom had a large closet, desk area (good for laptop), pillow top king size bed, dresser, two night stands and TV. Second bedroom consisted of two twin beds with a night stand between the beds, small closet, hutch with TV and DVD player. Master bathroom had two entrances (hallway and bedroom), Jacuzzi, large shower stall, toilet in a separate area and double sink. Living room had a queen size sofa bed, love seat, end table, small cocktail table, dresser with a large flat screen TV and DVD player, ceiling fan and gas fireplace. Kitchen was full size and well equipped. Deck was located off of the living room. There was a stackable washer and dryer outside our front door which had to be shared with the upstairs unit.

Pros of the unit: The bed in the master bedroom was extremely comfortable. Unit was nicely decorated, clean and very spacious. Kitchen had plenty of storage for food items. Location of the unit was good and had a nice view from our deck.

Cons of the unit: The wallpaper in the master bathroom was starting to peel in some areas. The shower door would stick at times and it was a little challenging to open it. There were black marks on the carpet in the second bedroom and living room. Tub in the second bathroom drained very slowly. The sofa and love seat were uncomfortable to sit in. Due to the table in the kitchen area, it was awkward for two people to maneuver around since it was a tight squeeze. I guess the unit was remodeled at some point and the bed in the master bedroom was changed from a queen to a king. The night stands were turned sideways to fit between the bed and wall. Due to that you could barely open the drawer to put anything in. Noise from the units surrounding us. Nothing done intentionally but you could hear the people walking around upstairs as well as flushing the toilet in the middle of the night. The family next to us had children and you could hear them running around and playing. Sharing the washer and dryer with the upstairs unit was complicated at times.

Resort: The resort is huge and has an abundance of activities for the entire family. The view of the mountains surrounding us was amazing. We didn't bother purchasing the activity card since it was quite expensive. You really have to calculate all the fees to see if it's worth it. Some of the activities are pricey. You will need a car to get around. Property was well maintained. The front desk and housekeeping staff were very friendly and accommodating. Walking to the Woodstone Recreation Center wasn’t that bad but there are no sidewalks. You either walk on the street or on the dirt path by the pond. People tended to speed on this road and had no consideration for those walking or for the ducks that crossed the street several times a day. I didn’t notice a speed limit sign or a duck crossing sign.

Timeshare Sales Team: As indicated on other reviews, the timeshare sales team is very pushy. After you check in you have to go to another counter to pick up your parking pass. This is where the staff tries to talk you into a timeshare presentation, etc. Luckily the lady I spoke with didn’t press me as I kindly informed her that we were not interested. However, they did call us several times throughout the week so we ended up disconnecting the phone.

My husband and I enjoyed the area. We spent a few days touring various caverns as well as driving along Skyline Drive (Shenandoah National Park). We saw many deer and the scenery was phenomenal. One afternoon we drove around the resort and was checking out the other timeshares, ski area, pool, skate park, mini golf, water park, walking trails, golf course, stables, etc. We were impressed with all the amenities available.

The weather was perfect and only had one day where we had showers in the afternoon.

Since the weather was beautiful we spent a few hours by the pool one day. The life guards enforce the pool rules and glad that they did since some children were acting inappropriately. Luckily, we arrived prior to lunch and had no problem locating a chair. By mid-afternoon the pool area became very crowded and there were no chairs left.

Harrisonburg is approximately twenty minutes from the resort with various restaurants, grocery stores, liquor store and many stores to shop in.

Overall, we had a great vacation and truly enjoyed ourselves. Looking forward to going back in the future and explore more of the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Massanutten Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massanutten Resort

Also Known As:
Massanutten Hotel Mcgaheysville
Massanutten Hotel
Massanutten Hotel Harrisonburg
Massanutten Harrisonburg
Address: 1822 Resort Drive, McGaheysville, VA 22840
Location: United States > Virginia > McGaheysville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in McGaheysville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Virginia’s lush Shenandoah Valley, Massanutten Resort offers personalized vacation experiences in gorgeous, mountain surroundings. This 6,000 acre four-season resort is packed with possibilities for the day-tripper and vacationer alike with over 150 activities and events from which to choose. Guests can enjoy a fully-outfitted snow sports area, a 130,000 square foot indoor/outdoor WaterPark, two 18-hole golf courses, a million dollar luxury spa, and a new zip line and canopy tour. Outdoor recreation includes two fishing ponds, an 18-hole disc golf course and more than 30 miles of hiking and mountain biking trails.The Resort also boasts seven dining facilities, three shops and two convenience stores. With specialty dinners, live entertainment, motorcoach tours and lots more, there’s truly something for everyone at Massanutten Resort! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Massanutten Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Massanutten Resort to your Saves list