We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pool in regal vista not open after labor day” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Massanutten Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in McGaheysville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Massanutten Resort
Save
You added Massanutten Resort to your Saves list
1822 Resort Drive, McGaheysville, VA 22840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McGaheysville
ankeny
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“pool in regal vista not open after labor day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

First it was difficult to find the check-in spot for our time share. We are in Regal Vista, the newest spot at the resort. The townhouses, with garage, are nice however there were a few thngs to deal with. There were no kleenex boxes in the holders in either bathroom and no paper towel left in the kitchen holder. There are activities listed however they had no 'welcome' to acquaint people with the resort. There was pressure to attend a two hour breakfast or lunch which I am sure was a sales presentation and we had to turn it down at least three times. We were very disappointed to find out the pool at Regal Vista was closed after Labor Day since the weather has been quite nice, and we are a ways from everything else. Bring your own pillows if you want comfort. Had to go to Harrisonburg for groceries. We did things on our own, but you better understand what is available when you come.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit far from the from gate for quiet and scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    332
    170
    92
    85
See reviews for
501
216
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denville, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We are in Mountainside section of this sprawling resort. Unit is at least 20 years old. Clean but definitely worn. Not a lot of contemporary touches you would find in newer construction...like HD TV or maybe a WASHER AND DRYER?! You have to be active to get the most out of this trip. Hiking & golf are excellent, waterpark is average, and some of the 'events' are less inspiring. Not much dining onsite, but college town of Harrisonburg less than 10 miles away. Be prepared to drive--you are on the side of a mountain, so even short walks (to the closest pool) are tough. It's not a thumbs down, but proceed with caution.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My family of four (including two boys, ages 8 and 9), spent a long weekend over Labor Day at the Woodstone timeshare units of the Massanutten resort. We had reserved a one-bedroom unit with our RCI points. Upon check-in, I asked about availability of two-bedroom units, but was told they did not have any available. Our unit was very nice, but I was disappointed that the one-bedroom units only have one king bed and a pull-out couch. This makes the living area much less usable for us, and we would rather have two queens or two full size beds in the bedroom. I called the front desk and was told all of the one-bedroom units have this configuration. It wasn't a huge deal and the kids were OK on the pull-out. The walls were definitely paper-thin. They really don't give you much in the way of silverware and plates (four knives, four plates, etc.) But the unit was clean and well decorated.

I would have loved to try the gym, but it didn't open until 8 AM...this is the latest I have ever seen at a resort or hotel. The outdoor pools had limited hours, too (11-7). We didn't try any of the full-service restaurants at the resort, but the service at the waterpark snackbar was consistently slow. However, you can't bring in outside food, so you're kind of stuck with it if you don't want to leave the waterpark (they don't search your bags, so you could probably bring in a bottle of water without a problem). With the exception of the outdoor pools that are not connected to the waterpark, you have to pay extra for every activity.

When you check in, they send you to one line to check in, then a second line to get your parking pass (where they also try to sign you up for a tour of the resort/timeshare presentation). We declined multiple times during the conversation, and she kindly backed off. You receive nice gifts, but we are done with those presentations, having sat through more than our share. We got a call a few days later asking if we would come for breakfast to compare our home resort to Massanutten (and of course receive free gifts). We again said no, and that we were leaving the next day.

On to the fun stuff....The waterpark was just awesome. Better than Great Wolf Lodge as far as the waterpark goes. We found that the waterpark got really crowded mid-afternoon, so we left around 3 PM to rest back at the room and went back at 7 PM until closing time. This worked out great for us. It was a minor annoyance to have to drive everywhere to do something, but it wasn't a big deal. My husband and younger son golfed twice, and the Activity Card was definitely worth purchasing for them because of the savings on golf. We did not buy it for my older son and myself. We also did the tubing, kids' adventure course, mega zipline (for two of us), and go-karts - all were really fun. The boys also loved the arcade. My older son did the flowrider lessons, and loved it.

As we were driving home, my kids remarked how they were going to miss it at Massanutten. If we were able to spend the whole week, I would have loved to be able to do a couple of day trips. Maybe next time....

Room Tip: Try to get a room higher up and in the corner to avoid neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We thought this was one of the nicest places to stay -- 2 bedroom 2 bath unit was at the top of our list after almost 30 years of timesharing exchanges -- even has a garage, luxury kitchen. This is the newest of the Massanutten resort and definitely one of the nicest. We found some great places to eat in the local area near the resort and enjoyed the attractions and activities in the area. Don't miss Grand Caverns in Grottoes, Va and Staunton, Va. We took lots of hikes and walks on trails in resort and the beautiful Shenandoah National Park. We liked it so much that we are going back in 2013 with our friends and will be trying out the Woodstone at Massanutten.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here with our timeshare thru RCI. 1 bedroom/1 bath with kitchen. Everything was clean and spacious. Only issue with the room was the jacuzzi tub didn't work great. The area was fantastic and we spent little time in the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanan, NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Second time we used timeshare swap. Definitely much better experience, probably because we were familiar with resort options. Enough activities for 3 adults and 2 kids under 12 to choose from. Went to waterpark, tubing, water aerobics, mini golf, go karts, zumba and finished off with canopy ziplining. VIP Remember to bring enough money, as most things cost $$. Suggest you review all possible choices online before deciding to purchase activity card. It's costly and most likely you won't save enuf to justify cost; ie most discounts are about $5/activity (except waterpark). All my activities cost about $100 (except for free go kart tics). Activity card would have still been $100 plus fees for most choices.

Stayed at mountainside 2-story lodge unit. Upstairs 2 bdrms and alcove with 2 beds. downstairs couches avail for 2 extra beds if necessary; plenty of room for all. Full kitchen and 2 baths - one had jacuzzi and sauna (great after a full day's activity). Each level had balcony areas. Views fantastic and quiet, but close enough to all activity locations. Saved $$ by shopping at Martins (full service supermarket) for breakfast, lunch and snack food.

Hit the jackpot with 3 great restaurant choices: Ciro's (Italian), Hank's Grille (southern) and El Paso (Mexican). See my reviews for each.

Two things on bad side (1) WIFI connection. Took as little as 15 & as long as 45 min to get connection EACH TIME!!!!!. Very frustrating. (2) mountainside pool did not provide towels. So if you wanted towels (which were rough and small by the way) you had to go to Le Club or main pool and get towels, which we had to keep in order to use on daily basis. Both these prevented a 5 star rating.

Would not hesitate to come again or recommend resort.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lots of stuff for the kids to do mine love the water park we also go up and drive the sky line drive and look at the wild life they have lots of pools on the resort a play ground at one of the pools nice to walk we ride the ski lift that goes to the top of the mountain and walk the trails

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Massanutten Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massanutten Resort

Address: 1822 Resort Drive, McGaheysville, VA 22840
Location: United States > Virginia > McGaheysville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McGaheysville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Virginia’s lush Shenandoah Valley, Massanutten Resort offers personalized vacation experiences in gorgeous, mountain surroundings. This 6,000 acre four-season resort is packed with possibilities for the day-tripper and vacationer alike with over 150 activities and events from which to choose. Guests can enjoy a fully-outfitted snow sports area, a 130,000 square foot indoor/outdoor WaterPark, two 18-hole golf courses, a million dollar luxury spa, and a new zip line and canopy tour. Outdoor recreation includes two fishing ponds, an 18-hole disc golf course and more than 30 miles of hiking and mountain biking trails.The Resort also boasts seven dining facilities, three shops and two convenience stores. With specialty dinners, live entertainment, motorcoach tours and lots more, there’s truly something for everyone at Massanutten Resort! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Massanutten Hotel Mcgaheysville
Massanutten Hotel Harrisonburg
Massanutten Harrisonburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Massanutten Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.