We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature Awaits” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Massanutten Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in McGaheysville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Massanutten Resort
1822 Resort Drive, McGaheysville, VA 22840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in McGaheysville
New Haven, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nature Awaits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a very nature and family oriented resort that has loads of activities. There is an entire magazine of things to do from arts and crafts, tubing, hiking, tennis, basketball, golf to fishing. There is even tours to Va hot spots. Dining is a go also. Will I go back, yes but there are many places to still visit. A-

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    281
    147
    74
    77
See reviews for
416
194
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This might be THE worst place I've ever stayed. We were "given" a free VIP stay through an owner so you might think that is Massanutten wants you to buy a timeshare that they might put you up in some nice accommodations---WRONG! The "hotel"-- actually--motel is disgusting. Old, outdated rooms. Seriously old furniture, thin walls, fire alarm going off simply because someone was ironing, and little to NO SECURITY. On top of all that, the sales pitch you have to go through to get your "free" gift is unnessarily grueling. Our sales guy basically told us if we didn't want to buy, then he could care less. Um, that was a lie. At the end of the tour (3 hours, not the promised 90 mins so beware) he was visibly upset and talking about us to his coworkers. He told us that since we had done these types of tours before and knew we didn't want to buy, we should just stop doing them. What??? Then he basically bashed our idea of vacations saying that going to see family was not a vacation and that we were missing out on great vacations by doing so. Again...what???? Overall, if you want a free stay at this hotel dump, just be ready for a shady sales pitch, get your game face on, and know that the payout in the end ($200 gift card) might just get you through it. At least the activities here are nice--- great waterpark, fun mini golf and go carts, and lovely scenery.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had reserved at Eagle Trace but we were put here, instead. It was a much nicer space than I had hoped for. Much cleaner than I could have wished for. Here are some things I wish I had known in advance (or rather, things I had taken the time to learn about in advance)....a. This is a "four seasons" resort, which means it is billed as all weather. It is not affiliated with the Four Seasons. b. It can take a full 15 - 20 minutes to get from Route 33, where you see the sign for the Massanutten Resort, to your lodging. c. There is no public transportation, and you have to use your car. If you want to avoid spending lots of time in your car, then don't stay anywhere on this resort. d. Luray Caverns is fun, but SUPER FAR away. Maps are deceiving. e. the Explore More Discovery Museum in downtown Harrisonburg is new, inexpensive, and fabulous for a toddler if you visit during the summer but it's not great pool weather f. none of the outdoor pools open before 10am. with no sidewalks for walking/strolling, I found it difficult to entertain a toddler who wakes up at 6:30am every day because most of the 2y.o. age-appropriate activities/options on the resort aren't open until 9:30 (but the playground at the check-in area is great). g. the on-resort petting farm was a big disappointment. instead, make the trip to White Oak Lavender Farm. Better animals, nicer setting, and less expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Biggest attribute for me was how well they kept everything. Our hotel room was clean and most facilities were pretty well kept, yet we only once physically saw someone cleaning during our weekend stay- this is actually VERY appreciated, as I do NOT like having to navigate around cleaning carts or materials, especially on vacation!

The resort is HUGE and growing, so be prepared- it is not small. But the hotel rooms were large, too- this was GREAT!

There is plenty to do but you can't do much without having to drive everywhere and paying out of pocket. Everything is pay per activity. Even if you have a rec pass to use the rec center, you still pay for things I feel should be included (i.e. racquetball racquets and balls for the racquetball court). I always thought one of the benefits to going to a resort was more things being inclusive- even if it's not an "all-inclusive" resort, I still thought there would be more benefit to going to a resort versus a regular hotel and paying for everything separate. This didn't feel much different than a regular hotel vacation. Massanutten would be a great place for people that own a bunch of their own gear, but if you're having to use theirs you'll rack up quite a bill!

Other random observation: I wish the rooms had at least one bar soap- we wanted to use the restrooms and wash up after being on the road to get there, but had no soap to use right away. We hadn't even unloaded the car to get our own soap yet- we just assume most places have at least a bar of soap at the sink for hand washing.

Room Tip: Pack your own bar of soap for the sink!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Eagle Trace condos for a week after school let out for summer vacation. Check in and check out was quick and easy(ask if early check in is possible). We had a one bedroom ground floor unit that sleeps six. The unit was clean and of good size. Could not hear the people beside us but heard the people above walking. Washer and dryer was located out side of the unit in the stairwell. There is a booklet full of activities at the resort but most require addional fees, it was not worth it to us to get activity cards for all. Needed a car to get to all the activities, nearest pool was over a mile away.Many activities off the mountain within an hours drive like the Skyline Drive, Luray and Grand Caverns, Monticello home to Thomas Jefferson and Montpellier home to James Madison, and several wineries just to name afew. Several different resorts on Massenuttten Mountain with varing levels of ammenities so be aware.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor, you can hear people walking above you on lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikeville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were able to reserve an efficiency unit through the AFVC. We did not realize how very small the efficiency units are so it was very crowded with two adults and two teens (aged 18 and 15). We were a bit disappointed that it's a nice hike to any of the amenities. We also found the unit to be dirtier then we expected (the floors were filthy). The upside is that we did find the resort to be centrally located to everything we wanted to do. We tubed down the river, rode horses, visited the on-site waterpark, and visited many local sites. Yes, we also did the timeshare presentation which was worth the 3 hours to get $100 in "mad money" which we spent on meals. We would not purchase here though.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor unit - our room was very quiet except some noise from adjoining neighbors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We exchanged our Marriott Timeshare to stay at Massanutten to be close to the Shenandoah National Park where we wanted to do some hiking. Our confirmation said that check-in was 4:00 p.m. We weren't able to get into our condo until 6:30 pm which I found entirely unacceptable and then upon getting into our condo the smell of burnt popcorn was overwhelming. As someone else said, almost everything at the resort has a cost attached to it. The resort is huge and is not walkable at all. There is a hot tub the size of a small pool in the condo which I think is a big waste of water. A nice size jetted tub would be a nice touch but this is ridiculous. We stayed in the upper condo which had a screened porch and no grill. The lower condos have no screens but they have a grill on the deck/porch area. There is a stacking washer/dryer for the two condos on the lower level. Our friends had put their towels in the dryer one day when no one was in the lower level condo and when they came back people had moved into the lower condo and removed their towels from the dryer and didn't even leave them for them. I guess they thought they were theirs to use. The Fareways restaurant at the resort was very nice and our waitress, Meg was terrific. The proximity to the Park was as close as you could get by staying at a timeshare which was good for us since this is why we came. There are at least 5 pools at the resort but none are adult only. There were lots of kids and I would have appreciated a little quiet time at the pool when we returned from hiking. I would suggest making one of the pools adults only. We also booked a tubing trip ($25 per person). Since when we called on Tuesday to see if we could go out on the afternoon trip that day and it was booked, we scheduled a tubing trip for Thursday afternoon at 12:30. This had to be paid for in advance and there is a no cancellation policy. Canceling the trip is up to the company. Thursday came and at noon it was pouring down rain. No lightening or thunder but nevertheless, it was not just a light rain. We thought that the trip would be canceled, but no it was not and no refund was forthcoming. We are not wimps in the least but didn't think that being rained on would be much fun. The bottom line is that we have seen and done the Shenandoah National Park and I have no intention of returning to this resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Massanutten Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massanutten Resort

Address: 1822 Resort Drive, McGaheysville, VA 22840
Location: United States > Virginia > McGaheysville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in McGaheysville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Virginia’s lush Shenandoah Valley, Massanutten Resort offers personalized vacation experiences in gorgeous, mountain surroundings. This 6,000 acre four-season resort is packed with possibilities for the day-tripper and vacationer alike with over 150 activities and events from which to choose. Guests can enjoy a fully-outfitted snow sports area, a 130,000 square foot indoor/outdoor WaterPark, two 18-hole golf courses, a million dollar luxury spa, and a new zip line and canopy tour. Outdoor recreation includes two fishing ponds, an 18-hole disc golf course and more than 30 miles of hiking and mountain biking trails.The Resort also boasts seven dining facilities, three shops and two convenience stores. With specialty dinners, live entertainment, motorcoach tours and lots more, there’s truly something for everyone at Massanutten Resort! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Massanutten Hotel Mcgaheysville
Massanutten Hotel Harrisonburg
Massanutten Harrisonburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Massanutten Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Massanutten Resort to your Saves list