We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Fort Chiswell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Fort Chiswell to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Fort Chiswell
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   199 Fort Chiswell Road, Max Meadows, VA 24360   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Max Meadows
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Staff was friendly and accommodating. The lobby smelled a bit musty and the 2nd floor smelled smoky although it was non smoking. The breakfast was good, rooms clean and fresh. We would stay here again. We didn't use the pool as it was pouring rain, but it looked very nice.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    68
    31
    15
    10
See reviews for
97
57
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freedom, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

On family vacations to Myrtle Beach, we always make reservations at the Hampton Inn, here, as it is almost exactly half way between Myrtle Beach and Pittsburgh on the return home. The hotel was very updated and clean. I reserved 2 rooms, and both were extremely comfortable and clean. The only minor issue was that the breakfast area is configured with just a few table and chair set ups, with small couches and tables making up the balance. Unless you arrived there earlier in the morning (before 8:30 AM), chances were that you would not have a place to sit. Overall, all of my experiences with Hampton Inns have been outstanding!

Room Tip: The "pay in advance" option on the hotel's website saved us 15% and made check in and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa H, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Fort Chiswell, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. We appreciate your candid review of our property. New perspectives about our hotel and our breakfast appearance help us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. Please share any additional comments or suggestions with us any time.

Thanks,
Melissa Hall
Hampton Inn Max Meadows,VA
276-637-4027
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I had an awesome stay very nice hotel clean and comfortable staff were friendly and courteous. breakfast was great a lot of different items to choose from. hotel is located just off I-77 so it was easy to find and easy to get back on the interstate. local restaurants nearby to choose from. I would recommend this hotel and really enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarhurst, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stopped here on our way down to TN. and we didn't have a reservation so we just hoped that there would be something available at 1am. There was and we were pleased with the room. The beds were large enough to accommodate two adults with room to spare. The hotel is in the middle of a lobby renovation so I can't give a review of that. Breakfast was excellent, there were many different choices and low calorie options were available. The grab and go breakfasts were a nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I didn't have a reservation; however, I stopped in to see if anything was available. It was very late at night yet the ladies at the desk were nice and helpful. They found a room for me right away and gave me all of the information about breakfast, etc. The room and bathroom were very clean and the bed was awesome! I would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishtown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Mid way on our trip south. Nice clean hotel. Outdoor pool a little small but sufficent. For those who complain about noise, This Hotel is smack in the middle between ohio, Indiana and beach resorts in S.C. And is always located near the intersection on rt 81 and 77. So of course it's going to be crowded and noisey in the summer. If you don't like the noise go a little further or stop earlier at another hotel. Breakfast was fine but crowded. We are and ran. Overall nice hotel and comfortable beds and rooms

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainwell, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Do NOT stop here without ear plugs and thick skin. My family had stopped here on the way back from our trip, thinking we have never had an issue with a Hampton. Sadly this Hampton sealed the fate of 2 others the rest of our route home. Walls are like paper, The place was clearly empty, parking lot had maybe 10 cars total. And of course the room next to ours had to have the family with the screaming baby and kept playing flush the toilet. From 2300-0200 one of the babies were screaming, all the while the toilet was flushed at least 30x. At 0430 they started to draw a bath, then lone behold at 0730 we get a phone call from one of the staff asking if their was a piece of paper (bill) under the door, we replied "no" they asked me to check AGAIN and said they might have "flung" it. Your kidding me right? No paper (bill) nothing, just a call at 0730 to say "oh we messed up". Upon check out We complained to the woman at the desk who seemed to not care, and simply "smirked". Sent an email straight to Hampton, Its been 2 days and yet no reply.

Room Tip: Pool is outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew E, Manager at Hampton Inn Fort Chiswell, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. I sincerely apologize for the noise issues encountered during your stay. Our guests’ comfort and safety is my number one concern and your review will assist in correcting issues in the future. I do hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our property again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Max Meadows
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Wytheville
Hampton Inn Wytheville
#6 of 20 in Wytheville
4.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Wytheville
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Chiswell/Max Meadows
Super 8 Chiswell/Max Meadows
#2 of 3 in Max Meadows
3.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#18 of 20 in Wytheville
3.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn
BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn
#8 of 20 in Wytheville
3.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
7.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Fort Chiswell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Fort Chiswell

Address: 199 Fort Chiswell Road, Max Meadows, VA 24360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Max Meadows
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Max Meadows
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Fort Chiswell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off of I-81, the Hampton Inn Ft. Chiswell – Max Meadows is the perfect place to stay while traveling for business or for pleasure. Just a few miles from local businesses, shopping and dining, this conveniently located hotel makes traveling a pleasure. While you stay, take advantage of all the amenities of this Hampton hotel. Enjoy a free, hot breakfast complete with waffles, oatmeal, eggs and more, rest in a clean and fresh Hampton bed and peruse the internet with free WiFi service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Fort Chiswell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Fort Chiswell Hotel Max Meadows
Hampton Inn Max Meadows
Max Meadows Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Fort Chiswell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.