We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOISY PLACE” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Fort Chiswell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Fort Chiswell to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Fort Chiswell
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   199 Fort Chiswell Road, Max Meadows, VA 24360   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Max Meadows
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“NOISY PLACE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This place is clean and the staff is good but the room noise is unacceptable. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everyone around you. And when someone flushes their toilet it sounds like a strike in a bowling alley. Very loud. Stop here only if you sleep with ear plugs.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    48
    15
    8
    9
See reviews for
60
38
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
springfield vt
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I came in late, no reservation, but was very pleased. Being remodeled, but still very nice. Clean. Room was in excellent condition. Great access to Interstates. Friendly staff. Clean and sufficient breakfast. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Nice stopover Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a regular stop of mine when I travel interstate 81. It is quite,and comfortable. I will stay here any time I need a good nights rest in this area.Give them a try you will enjoy the good nights sleep and breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stopped here on our way home from TN to VA. It was around 10:45 p.m. The staff was very friendly and very accomodating. We had a room on the 3rd floor, right beside the elevator and across from the ice/vending room. Everything was super clean...and the beds -- soooooo comfortable...I felt like I just melted into them. The comforter is super squishy, and very warm (my husband kept the air on 60*) The a/c is controlled by a thermostat which is great. The only bad thing I could say is that the bathroom tiles looked like they had just been regrouted, and it was kind of sloppy and there were a few tiles where the floor met the wall that were a little loose. Everything was spotless clean, though, and it was a great hotel. The noise factor is an issue. I could hear the toilet above me flush several times throughout the night (I think they have power flushers), and I could hear people walking up and down the hallway. We were on a non-smoking floor, so there were no odors or smoky smells for us. Great hotel...would definitely stay here again!!! Very clean!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I must start first by saying this hotel has the most friendly and helpful staff of any hotel I've stayed at in a long time. We asked for suggestions for a dinner since nothing but fast food was close. She suggested a short drive to Wyathville about 8 miles south and she suggested Log House restaurant. An excellent suggestion as dinner was superb with a lot of ambiance and no too pricey. Everyone from front desk to cleaning staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was easy to find, extremely clean, and the beds were very comfortable and plush. The only draw back of the entire stay is that the walls are paper thin. I am a light sleeper so they had to move us to two different rooms before we could sleep due to the noise levels. We could actually hear someone snoring, heard an entire conversation, and heard the toilets flushing and draining. The breakfast in the morning was good; as usual on a buffet style serve yourself some things weren't as hot as they could have been but a microwave took care of that. A great selection to pick from, waffles, boiled eggs, egg bagels, fruit, cereal, etc. Had it not been for the noise level (especially from the toilets) I would have given this hotel 5 stars. If you are a heavy sleeper and have no trouble falling asleep or staying asleep this would be a wonderful hotel for a stop over.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper and don't mind a smokers floor there are a few non-smoking rooms on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Location is right off of 81 @ Rt 77, super convenient. The parking lot was empty which made us a little nervous BUT the place is immaculate. Our king room is roomy, has a desk & chair, frig, microwave, coffee maker. It's clean, new, and we I've the bed. Best of all is the Post-Em stuck to our bedpost to reassure us our coverlet is clean. See my photo. This was a first for us!! Give them yr AAA card & get the discount. Rate was great. The only thing better would have been a great restaurant but there r none nearby. There's a Denny's across the street. The Log Cabin Restaurant is about 11 miles further South & comes highly recommended but we were too tired to do anymore driving.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boalsburg, PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Great location at I77 & I81 junction. Exceptionally clean, good breakfast buffet open at 6 am, round the clock coffee, comfortable bed and nice bedding, pleasant staff, fresh bathroom. Is there anything else a traveler could want? Oh, USA Today on the door handle early; bill under the door. Even the stairways -- which are usually the most neglected areas - are extraordinarily clean! We paid $119 total including tax for a king size bed. For those interested, my husband smokes a pipe and it is becoming more and more difficult to find nice hotels with smoking rooms. This Hampton Inn even has a few of those too.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Fort Chiswell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Fort Chiswell

Address: 199 Fort Chiswell Road, Max Meadows, VA 24360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Max Meadows
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Max Meadows
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Fort Chiswell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off of I-81, the Hampton Inn Ft. Chiswell – Max Meadows is the perfect place to stay while traveling for business or for pleasure. Just a few miles from local businesses, shopping and dining, this conveniently located hotel makes traveling a pleasure. While you stay, take advantage of all the amenities of this Hampton hotel. Enjoy a free, hot breakfast complete with waffles, oatmeal, eggs and more, rest in a clean and fresh Hampton bed and peruse the internet with free WiFi service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Fort Chiswell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Fort Chiswell Hotel Max Meadows
Hampton Inn Max Meadows
Max Meadows Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Fort Chiswell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.