We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Norteno....highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Norteno

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Norteno
730 East Church Street, Patrick Henry Mall, Martinsville, VA 24112
276 666 1118
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 51 Restaurants in Martinsville
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Martinsville, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“El Norteno....highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

El Norteno is an excellent Mexican restaurant that features all your favorites dishes. The service is always quick and courteous and the atmosphere only adds to your dining experience. A great value for your dining experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deadwood, SD
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Typical Mexican but good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The food is nothing special but well cooked and quick. The service is good and the people there friendly.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food in Martinsville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Took the family here last night and I really enjoyed it. The Chile Rellano on my combination plat was excellent! Texas Margaritas have Cuervo Gold and Grand Marnier for very smooth libation. Dos Equis Amber is on tap. Be sure to try the homemade hot sauce - red or green. I preferred the green

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chicken Soup is the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

El Norteno became the high school hang out after high school events . Both parents and kids could go and either sit together or be in seperate rooms. They can handle a crowd!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Reliable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The food and service at El Norteno are reliable - in a very good way. The food quality and value are very good and the service is excellent. How the one server carries all those hot dishes on his arm still amazes me - that is quite a sight to see. We always try to have at least one meal at this restaurant on our trips to Martinsville so I have tried a variety of dishes - this last time we had the fajitas for two, and they were delicious. Wish I had read the review about the fresh avocado dip before going - next time I will definitely ask for it. This restaurant is "off the main road" and their clientele seems to be mostly local residents - always a good sign. Even though El Norteno is not nearly as convenient to our hotel as other Mexican restaurants in the area, it is definitely worth the effort to stray from the main road for a very good meal and a pleasant dining experience. We will certainly go back on our next trip to the area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Norteno also viewed

Martinsville, Henry County
Martinsville, Henry County
 
Martinsville, Henry County
Martinsville, Henry County
 

Been to El Norteno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Norteno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.