We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Martinsville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Martinsville to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Martinsville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1895 Virginia Ave, Martinsville, VA 24112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Martinsville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

This is a modest but very nice hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly. There were no problems with the reservation and the staff was friendly. The hot breakfast was about average for a free hotel breakfast with a nice selection and several hot items. I plan to return to this area in the future and will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    29
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
37
17
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

very comfortable, great bed quite. breakfast was great.... waffles, biscuits and gravy, eggs, bacon, sausage, cut potatoes, milks, juices..... breakfast was worth the stay. this place is located near everything you need, shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijeras, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 via mobile

We couldn't stay in first room due to poor air quality (musty) which got worse when we turned heater on (smelled like dead mice). Window was not openable, so no fresh air possible. We changed rooms but second room lwas also stale air with no way to get fresh air. We did get a refund and moved to another motel.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

This place turned out to be a real jewel considering the area, no offense to any from there. The front desk staff were a very pleasant surprise at the end of our very long day :) Considering that we stopped in first place we came to which was the Hampton Inn, next door and the front desk person made sure we knew they were booked and it was a $150.00, like we couldn't afford it. The area seemed kind of sketchy but this place is at the top of a hill kind of above the general nonsense and once we got settled in we were really comfortable. We were on our bikes and we parked on the front side and there's plenty of light that we were good with things, plus by then the staff had already sweet talked us and all we were thinking about was food and bed.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This hotel was a great deal at $79/room. The rooms were clean. The shower was good. The bed was really comfortable. Big TV.

I had a non-smoking room and it did not stink. But all the hallways reek of smoke because they allow smoking in some rooms. This alone is reason enough to NOT stay here.

Decent hot/cold breakfast. Very nice attendant.

Wifi in the room was spotty, but it worked.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Martinsville, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear Scott S.,
Thank you for your recent stay with us. I apologize for the unpleasant smell of smoke and we have addressed that issue to help with the odor. I hope you come back to visit us again and let us provide you with our exceptional service! Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The Comfort Inn in Martinsville was not what I expected from a Choice Hotel. The room was okay but a little shabby around the edges. I can't say exactly why, but I worried about where to park my car -- i.e., I worried that it might get vandalized. Finally, and I know this seems minor, but when I went to get ice there was no ice machine I could find. When I finally trekked up to the desk the attendant told me that they didn't have machines, I had to give her the bucket and she went and filled it up somewhere. I don't think I have great expectations, but getting ice without having to go to the front desk seems rather basic to me. The price was okay - but not great. Next time I'd upgrade and stay somewhere a bit nicer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Martinsville, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to bring these issues to our attention. I have addressed the staff of these concerns and can ensure they are being fixed. We recently moved our ice machine to the first floor so it would be of more convenience for our guests. Our parking lot is safe and secured for our guests and I apologize it didn't feel like that for you. If you are ever in the area again, please let us show you a pleasant and memorable stay. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Sadly, this is a low quality hotel. The rooms are sometimes clean and sometimes not (I checked in and there was a used soap in the sink and wet used towels next to it). Breakfast is always missing multiple items (milk, cornflakes, etc). Eggs seem to be made from egg powder. The only reasonable thing was a bagel and yogurt. TV was not working and took 2 nights to correct. Cleaning service just doesn't bother to clean up the bathroom. In short - Avoid.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Martinsville, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Comfort Inn for your trip! As always we strive to provide excellent service and amenities for each and every guest and I greatly apologize for us failing to do so. I discussed the cleaning issues with our staff and can ensure that will not happen again in the future. If ever you are in the area, please come try us again and let us make your stay a pleasant and memorable one! Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Martinsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Martinsville

Address: 1895 Virginia Ave, Martinsville, VA 24112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Henry County > Martinsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Martinsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Martinsville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Martinsville is nestled in the hills of the Blue Ridge Mountains! As a newly renovated hotel, we offer fresh made to order waffles, a private business center, 37 inch flat screens in all guestrooms and an onsite guest laundry. Enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool and be sure to see Guest Services for a listing of entertainment in the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Martinsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Martinsville
Martinsville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Martinsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.